We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected gem.”

Book Cafe - Lotz Terem
Ranked #2 of 183 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Whilst doing a walking tour of Budapest the guide included a visit to this "Book Shop" for a cup of tea and a slice of cake. Up on the first floor you are treated to the most spectacular decor of any Cafe we have visited and selection of cakes was out of this World, they even had a pianist playing in the background. A real unexpected gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    304
    74
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming place with tremendous cakes”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We decided to visit the book cafe because of reviews I've found at the TripAdvisor and it was a good decision. Situated at Andrassy street very near to The Opera House cafe is a nice place to take a short brake. From the outside it looks like just another book shop but after you go upstairs... you need to see it with your own eyes. It's not maybe as good as some say because comparing it to the sistine chapel is a big exaggerate. Maybe from some distance you could see a similiarity but when you look closely at the paintings it doesn't look like a very good piece of art. The cakes are just delicious and suprisingly prices are quite low. I've ordered a chocolate cake made of belgium chocolate (54% of cocoa) and my girlfriend took a walnut and almond cake. Both were sweet and worth of taking pictures (and I'm not kind of tourist that photographs food). It's nice and different than any other cafe and I would highly recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zdzisław I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Book Cafe - Budapest”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Take the escalator to the top floor and enter the coffee shop. Check out the ceilings and walls. A beautiful room. Have a coffee or espresso and read the international papers or just relax. A nice stop during a busy day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

go up to the coffee shop and just look at the décor/ceiling, have a cold glass of prosseco and a snack.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sandione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Maryland
Level Contributor
338 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Food Find in a Bookstore”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wow!
We were told to go here by friends and are we glad we did.
The decor of the BookCafe is just beautiful. You want to just look up and stare at the ceilings.
And did I mention the food?
Excellent!
Eggplant / fig salad is outstanding.
This is craft food served in a very large room with a decor to wonder.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank studebhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Book Cafe - Lotz Terem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe - Lotz Terem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing