We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Gaia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaia Hostel
Ranked #62 of 673 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I would agree with the other reviews. The rooms were clean and spacous.The two bathrooms and toilets were fine. The kitchen was well equiped. The staff were lovely and helpfull. I would like to mention the fantastic location.The astoria underground station was a 1 minuite walk, as too were two tram lines.The main shoping street was a five minuite walk. Possibaly the best nightlife area with the most wreck pubs was a five minuite walk. The street itself had three fantastic cafes. The one opposite stayed open till six in the morning. We ended the night with a coffe, cake and very decent cognac for little more than a fiver.I would recomend this accomodation to everyone

Room Tip: All good double glazing and shutters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tez362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone. When our bus was delayed, the lady on reception waited up for us to arrive and check in until 1am without any complaint. Our room was absolutely lovely - we booked a private double and the room itself was huge, very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are shared but I never had to queue and they were kept very clean. The location is amazing - it's right in the very centre, within easy walking distance of all the main sites, yet it is still very quiet at night time. On top of that, it is so cheap - If I ever return to Budapest, I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LJH2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A very intimate hostel, the reception lady was really nice and welcoming.
The location is central and the price is as low as it gets.
felt like at home or in an Hungarian apartment and not in an hostel, really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. I don't normally like shared bathrooms but this hostel had 2 toilets and 2 showers and only 4 rooms so it didn't feel like sharing. The room and bathrooms were very clean and the lady who worked at reception was very friendly and helpful. The room is very bright and spacious and had a couch in it to relax. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The only downside is there's no common room as such but the rooms are big enough so you don't feel like you're 'stuck in your room'. The hostel is 3 min walk to the metro station and Tescos which is super convenient for keeping to a budget. There are also cheap kebab and pizza places within 5 min.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here in April - it's like staying in an apartment more than a hostel - staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - wifi is available and free ( and there are laptops to use if you don't have one )- 2 bathrooms - kitchen you can cook in and make drinks - bedrooms are clean and comfortable - its very central and easy to get around the city from here, close to some good bars and restaurants/ cafes - highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

When I say feels like hotel I mean it is not a crowded hostel and no such hostel type noise. In other terms its a small hostel.

Good:
1. The owner or the care taker. She is very good but I forgot her name now. Very helpful and polite. Budapest is cheap but can be expensive if you hit the wrong places. Take her help to hit the right places.
2. The rooms and bathrooms are kept very very clean.
3. Location is also awesome. Very close to the main tourist places.
4. Very nice and fully equipped kitchen.

Bad: There is nothing bad that I can really speak off but it would be nice if they can take care of the below point.
1. Although it didn't bother me much, the blinds and curtains could not make the room dark enough during the day.

Room Tip: There is a little noise from the road. Its not loud. Still if you have a problem then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinga1000miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

definitely the best hostel i've ever been!
great for small groups (i was with my bf in private double bedroom with shared bathroom).
its situated in a center of pest so you can visit everything on foot.
staff is very friendly, they helped us with a lot of info.
there's a free wifi, kitchen, two bathrooms, atmosphere is friendly and most important, everything is very clean.
10/10

Room Tip: there are two double bed bedrooms, and two triple bed bedrooms, all of them very clean and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IvanaSimundic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 673 in Budapest
280 reviews
Belle Fleur Pension
#75 of 190 in Budapest
11 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 673 in Budapest
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rubin Apartman
#321 of 673 in Budapest
1 reviews
Shantee House
#66 of 673 in Budapest
154 reviews
Terézváros
YOLO Hostel
YOLO Hostel
#156 of 673 in Budapest
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hostel

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 17 | 5th District, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 673 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £24 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaia Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, eco-friendly hostel in the heart of Budapest, in the most vibrant part of downtown. We provide affordable, clean and spacious rooms during your visit, where you can relax and enjoy your vacation. Our staff is willing to help you plan your visit and to have an excellent time in Budapest. We are in the historical and cultural center of the city, about 100 meters from both major metro lines and surrounded by restaurants, cafes, shopping areas and historical sights. The international train station and the airport is easy to reach within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Gaia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing