We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stylish hotel in budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #36 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Austria, near Vienna
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“stylish hotel in budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

a very stylish hotel in the centre of budapest. Located at the vaci utca. The rooms are great, really stylish in red colour and really cosy. I liked the room alot. It was a modern hotel with all facilities you want to have. The breakfast was really delicours, with warm dishes made a la minute! A good recomandation for budapest!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    437
    128
    34
    23
See reviews for
157
946
60
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Sometimes super trendy and cool comes at the expense of comfort and ease. Not here. This place is super designer, super comfortable and they really haven't spared anything for the amount of trendy you get here. The rooms are simply awesome with build in sound system that really rocks. Talk about the perfect shag-pad!!! The rest of the hotel is fabulous too. The bar and club are great. And then to top it all the location is excellent. The rooms are worth the money but the mini bar and main bar are a little pricey. And the rain shower while huge and awesome leaked like crazy and had to clean the bathroom floor after showering. But those are the only negiatives and i'll definitely be making this my go to pad in Budapest from now on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

when booking this Hotel it is not easy to find the matching offer. those offers with special rate can not be booked via the software. so you better call or send an Email. it will get much cheaper in that Way. we took the plenty twenty offer and got a free upgrade. so now we have the Grand corner suit, which is huge! the bath tube is so big it is an indoorpool for our Baby ;) seriousely, it is really big, having a rainforrest shower in the middle of it.

Location: very good, ditectly at the Vaci ut (Shops, Restaurants, Bars, markethall...). but a bit noisy since it is also directly at the ersebeth bridge, which is one of the main roads from Buda to Pest.

Restaurant: a bit dark, so you should know the asian style food that you order, or be brave and eat what ever it may be ;) everything was very good. we had been 6 person all having 3 courses or the menue, a bottle of wine and paid 300 Euro what i assume as reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionZednicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We chose Budapest as a destination to celebrate my wife's birthday and we booked a package with the Buddha-Bar , mainly due to the fact that the hotel is on the main street-Vaci Utca.
To our pleasure , we were experiencing something totally different .The room decoration,the wonderful breakfast,the warm and very helpful staff(each and everyone of them) and of course the proximity to Vaci Utca and the main Vorosmarty Square(where the christmas market is held) ,were all beyond our expectation.This hotel certainly has all that it takes to be a 5 star hotel with the bonus of the different and unique aspects of it. We were there 3 nights and since it was our first time in beautiful Budapest, we spent most of the time in the city and all the attractions around so unfortunately we did not have the time to try the nice looking Buddha-Bar restaurant and the spa.In a way ,it is a good thing as it will probably encourage us to come back and complete what we have missed this time.
One aspect that needs addressing is the minimal light in the room.for a couple aged more than 50 ,like us ,it was a bit of a challenge. Nevertheless,the overall experience more than made up for this.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms facing the small street are quieter than those who are on the main road leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your kind visit and positive feed-back to the TripAdvisor travelers community ! We hope to see you again in Budapest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Me and my friend had stayed in Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest for three days in August during my birthday celebration.
First: The hotel is very beautiful, nice decor, discrete lighting, boutique feel, good location... After my first impressions I could easily give 5 star rating on tripadvisor. Lack of amenities, but it did not bother us.
But, there was significant lack of service: when we arrived with my car in front of the hotel, nobody helped us with the luggage. One man was just standing in front of the hotel, no greeting, no smile (as usual for the 5 star hotel) just directed us where to leave the car for the vale.
After check in it only got worse... My friend specially informed the hotel that I have a birthday during our stay excatly on the day of the check-in and that this is a birthday gift for me. They assured by e-mail, I quote: ''I kindly assure you, that we will arange a birthday amenity for your friend with our compliments.''
Ok... After introduced to our room we noticed it it won't be that special. We noticed the room was the smallest in the hotel comparing to other rooms as we saw floor fire evacuation plan attached on the door in our room. There was almost no space to open and store two suitcases... And the hotel was half empty! After I had phoned them if we can get another room they had said It will cost extra 80 euros per night for an upgrade - what is much more expensive than stated on the hotel official website. I guess you can sell room this way, but do not expect the guests will return.
There were also no slippers in the room, it was very noisy as well, and absolutely no ''birthday amenity for your friend with our compliments'' as they stated...
The last time I had visited Budapest during my birthday I stayed in another 5 star hotel and I received free upgrade and small cake, but in this hotel nothing. Oh yes... the receptionist during our check in noticed I have a birthday and she said: ''You have a birthday?... Nice.''
By the way: we booked our room on The Buddha bar Klotild Palace hotel official website although there were cheaper options on other travel websites...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_B12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feed-back.
I am really sorry to read that we missed your birthday amenity, as we find trace of this requirement in our system. The Room service department was immediately informed about your feed-back and I would like to present you our apologize for this miss.

You have been allocated a superior room as per your reservation, they are our smallest room category between 25 and 28 sqm. I understand you have been unhappy not to be upgraded for free, but even though we may have been half empty this particular day in August, we are not upgrading for free usually, otherwise we would only sell Superior rooms which is only 33 keys in our inventory on a total of 102 keys, including 27 Suites.

We had during the first 3 months of pre-opening (June to August) not all amenities delivered, ie the slippers branded with Buddha Bar Budapest logo, but neutral white available at reception on request. This has been corrected since then, but I understand the inconvenience.

I would like to confirm our rooms are very quiet, equipped with double double windows and absolutely answering the most drastic soundproof standards as per our requirements in this building refurbished to new 5 months ago.

Please also be assured that you can't find a difference between the price you will find on our hotel website and any other travel website, we strictly apply parity and are daily checked for it.

I will be happy to handle personally your next visit at the Buddha Bar Klotild Palace Budapest, as we have identified your stay and details and be happy to make sure it will please you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel was fantastic, no problem, breakfast was amazing, staff were nice and helpful and the room was very clean and it was very central.

We arrived mid afternoon and they got us checked in Straight away and up to our room. They upgraded us to a suite, which was very nice of them. The room was spacious with a big bathroom and a big comfortable bed. The toilet was in a separate area to the bathroom and it was a japanese style design. Amazing as you have the warm seater and the different buttons to adjust the toilet temp, seat etc.

The only one problem was that they used to singe duvets on a double bed (which i hate), so i rang down to reception to ask to change to a double duvet. The house maid came straight away and changed it for us.

Breakfast was great.

All in all a great hotel, trendy, quiet, and in the centre (your able to walk everywhere).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Zyna21,

Thanks for your very nice feed-back about our boutique Hotel.
It is true that we have mostly individual duvet even for our large beds, but they can be changed on demand as you did.
We are honored that you made such a nice contribution,

Kindest regards from Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The hotel is centrally located in the beautiful city of Budapest. The first thing that struck me was the warm welcome and professional competence of the staff. The next thing I noticed was the darkness of the unrelenting red and black, over-designed feel of the surroundings. The Buddha statues give a beautiful and calming effect in what is otherwise a stressful colour scheme. Maybe the oriental-themed palace's owners should have consulted a Feng Shui Master. Had they done so, they would have been aware that black, representing deep water, clashes with fire's red. There are easy ways to remedy this, which I would be happy to impart to the owners should they wish to contact me.

Once in the elegant room ( also red and black ) the bed was physically very comfortable. However, the fact that there was so many electronic features made it feel ( to those sensitive to subtle energy ) a tad draining and therefore tiring. Again. there are simple ways to remedy this to ensure that guests feel more rested on waking in the morning.

The bathroom was wonderful, with acres of light marble and generously lit mirrors. The Japonese-style toilet with its automatic features was a great toy, and with its inbuilt night-light was a real star turn. The showers controls needed a little working out but eventually we decoded them. The fixed glass panel used as a shower curtain for the bath stopped about a foot too short to be truly effective as a means of stopping water spilling onto the floor so not fulfilling its function completely.

On the whole, these minor issues apart, the hotel was somewhere I would certainly recommend to friends. The warmth of the welcome. the general helpfulness of the staff and the Buddha Bar restaurant added to our enjoyment of what was a brilliant weekend in Budapest

Room Tip: If you smoke, ask for a room with a balcony. My husband had to go down and smoke his cigars in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulTherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your ''zen'' review ! From your Pseudo and your review, I guess that well being in your mind and in your body is important to you.
The design, with dominant black, red and gold colours, has been created by a special studio in Paris, REV headed by Cristiano Benzoni. He has been selected by our Licensor Buddha Bar, and I am not sure they tried consulting a Feng Shui Master as their main goal was an original design without spiritual deep meaning. Should you have suggestions, please address them to me at daniel.penet@buddhabarhotel.hu

The japanese toilet was obviously making some fun with heating, blowing and watering, electrical opening or closing all with a remote control. Some other technical original solutions may be also of interest being different than usual.

For smokers, Hungary became since this year a country fully smoke free public areas, including restaurants and hotels, even bedrooms. This is the law here, and yes, asking for room with balcony is a good advice.

Thanks for your warm recommendations that will I am sure convince the Grand Travelers Community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing