We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, stylish and very central in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #38 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great time in Budapest, the hotel is lovely and very central to the whole city. The service is great and they really look after you, we were treated very well. The bar is cool, friendly and inviting. The staff pretty much all speak English. We had a not quite perfect breakfast from room service one day - a little bit bad luck and a little bit our communication ie no milk with the breakfast tea but we assumed it would come with it but they bent over backwards to get what we needed and exceed our expectations

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barhopper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is all about the experience and the atmosphere. If you are used to other standard 4 star hotels you may not like this. Standard rooms are good size. Beds were very comfortable. Generally clean, but due to the dark furniture, decoration and lighting dust was showing. Only espresso machine in the room so no normal coffee or tea. Bathroom was spacious with very gadgety toilet (that was the highlight of our stay). Breakfast was average, compared to other 4 star hotels. Steam room and sauna were very good. The staff was very helpful, from reception to breakfast bar. Its location is excellent, close to underground station and hop on-off buses. Overall a good experience. If you get a good price, it is worth experiencing it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKEF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for my wife's birthday.
Upon arriving we checked in and the staff couldn't have been better.
The Hotel was fairly quiet and so we were upgraded to a suite which was huge. It had every possible convenience you could want including a remotely operated toilet with heated loo seat.
The décor is dark and not to everyone's tastes but for us on a romantic weekend away it was fine. If you are planning on doing work in your room the lighting may be a problem.
After a short while I realised I had left my hand luggage in the taxi we come in from the airport. It had my Samsung tablet in it. Thinking I would probably never see it again I had a word with the reception in the hotel who immediately phoned the taxi company for us. As it was evening and we were hungry we went out for the evening and left the taxi fare with reception on the off chance it was found and returned.
During our meal the reception told us the taxi driver had found my bag and had returned it to them. Thank you very much all the staff that were involved as there were several and the only charge was a tip to the taxi driver and the Hotel staff upon departure. They really went above and beyond what was expected.
The hotel itself was superbly located within easy access of all the sites within the city. The breakfast was great as was the small spa which we used.
The Budha bar experience is something quite different from the norm, very atmospheric. Probably not to everyone's tastes but we loved it.
My only gripe would be central Budapest is quite expensive, certainly on a par with London unless you stay further out.
The hotel itself was excellent, cleaned to a high standard and our suite was great although the fantastic shower did leak everywhere.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you can get the corner suite on the second floor (214), although next to the busy road the triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d-atkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from a four day break from Budapest and stayed at this amazing hotel. Cannot rate this hotel enough! The service, staff, food, atmosphere was top notch. Staff were always on hand to help and very hospitable. The location was ideal everything was within walking distance plenty of restaurants , bars and shops right by your doorstep. Budapest itself an amazing city lots to do and see will definitely be returning next summer. Also would like to say a big thank you to all the bar staff in Buddha bar lounge for making our experience extra special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neelam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hotel is really nice in terms of inspiring the classic lounge / Buddah bar athmosphere.
The deco is relaxing and gives you good vibes from the first moment. The rooms are amazing in the deco and concept, however there is this feeling that the relaxing semi obscured atmosphere which is further enhanced by the dark red and black colors tends to hide a bit the
quite worn out status of the place.
If you turn the lights on to full power you can see that the walls are full of stains and dirty fingerprints, the furniture is scratched, the wall corners have been bumped all over and the
fake wooden floor is washed out from either use or agressive detergent.
The fluffy red carpets also are suspicious of all kind of bacteria accumulated therein.
I don t want to sound too picky but the detail seems at times neglegted as everyone is focused on the overall impressive looks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear,

Thank you very much for your time to tell us about your recent experience. I am glad that the special Buddha-Bar atmosphere captured your heart.
Buddha-Bar is renowned for its individual colour schemes based on the black and red surfaces, combined with a touch of gold and the special lighting setup, that puts the final touch to the interior.
There was a great emphasis on the quality materials and furniture during the design phase however some areas require continuous extra care that we are able to deliver in the less active period of the hotel.
Thank you for sharing your expression with us, it is important to understand our customer’s needs so all feedback is truly valuable for us.

I do hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Budapest and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!
Kind Regards,
Tamás Fazekas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel claims not only to be five star but go even beyond the quality expected from such venues. Well, in my personal experience it fails to do so. Here is why.

The shared facilities of the house are clearly inadequate for the size of the hotel. We waited about half an hour for checkout, because they:-) have only 2 desks, the reception seemed unorganised, losing time with having to fetch documents from elsewhere, walk to get the card machine of which there probably not enough. The restaurant was of course busy at breakfast and there wasn't enough staff, which name that the coffee came very slow and our order of egg Benedict came with ham and not salmon as ordered. The spa is clearly too small, plus it is uncomfortable to sit in the jakuzzi due to it's sharp edges. Maintenance should be more vigilant as the handle to turn the shower on kept falling off potentially on guests' feet. There are some luxurious details in the room but what you see as you walk in is that the right side of the otherwise eye-catching tv set has some dust that looks like as if there was a construction going on in the room. how does the cleaner not notice that when they check if the room is ready to receive guests? The daily service included folding the toilet paper nearly but the water glasses were not changed.

These things are all forgivable, except if the place has the self confidence of saying they're better than five star. It's OK but fails to impress on any level except the quality of breakfast perhaps.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelBoy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear,

I do appreciate your time, sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us. I would like to express my regret for any inconvenience you had during your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!
We, at the Buddha-Bar believe in a guest-focused philosophy and in the genuine smile that is a door to successful hospitality. At the same time we put high emphasis on the best services delivered.
It is always helpful to receive constructive feedback from your guests and to understand the way for improvements from a different angle.
During the weekends, when we are mostly fully booked, it is a challenge to deliver a fast and efficient way to ease the check-out process, however we are already working on a solution for express check-out.
Breakfast might also get busier, therefore we open both breakfast rooms but still, I do apologize if you had to face any delays and inaccuracy in the service.
I also appreciate your points regarding your room details, they have been forwarded to the adequate departments for further investigation and to avoid such future cases.

I do hope that you will soon return to Budapest again and it would be my pleasure to arrange your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest, so please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance directly at tamas.fazekas@buddhabarhotel.hu.

Kind Regards,
Tamás Fazekas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The location, decor, rooms, everything was fantastic.

The Japanese inspired cuisine was amazing, and the espresso martini's from the bar were some of the best we have ever had.

The staff were friendly, the rooms were fantastic size.
The ultra modern Japanese toilets aren't for everyone though!

A highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stvnhayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your recommendations and for your time to spread the news about the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! Delighted that you found your stay amazing and glad that our efforts to deliver a guest-friendly atmosphere and a good value, met your expectations.

Truly hope to welcome you back soon at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
7,392 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,483 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,453 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £96 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing