We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #37 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were warm, beautifully decorated and extremely relaxing. The location was super and meant everything was only a short walk away, plus there were brilliant views from the room. Bathroom was amazing, huge bath! The cleaner came every day. We ordered room service once and the food was lovely. We didn't have a single bad thing to say...

Room Tip: View from 5th floor was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I pass this hotel almost every day and been intrigued by the exotic interior..
On Saturday, December 4th , I visited it at the final of an International event 'The World Top Model'.
I was the creator of the crown that would grace the winner...
However I was intrigued that I would be a guest in this very mysterious and unique location..
I began in the bar for a cocktail and was impressed by the skill and courtesy of the bar staff..
They had no idea that I was a special guest..
Up the staircase were large intimate and open areas rather dark and romantic.Into the night there is disco hosted by a wonderful DJ...
Dinner was delicate ,well cooked and served and nothing was too much trouble.
The waitresses and waiters were a delight and that is a rare quality .They have obviously been well trained.
I had my function as the creator of the crown to make a speech and always a member of staff was on hand .
After the event it was DJ time...Lots of areas to sit and to dance ...
I would not hesitate to re-visit this unique hotel...which is in fact only 10 minutes from my home...and a great venue to entertain for drinks, for lunch or dinner or relaxing in the many quiet and moe active areas...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Perhaps no coincidence that Transylvania is a few miles away as the bat flies, this hotel would satisfy any well-to-do vampire with a taste for the orient.

Consistently dark and dimly lit, almost entirely furnished in red and black, and that includes the staff - other than a few serving girls in white looking like sacrificial virgins in waiting.

Don't get me wrong, we really enjoyed it, the location is excellent, it's a five star quality hotel, well equipped, big, very clean room, loved the underfloor heating in the big bathroom, unbelievably comfortable bed, and we couldn't fault the service. The dimly lit bar had some great music, with a live sitar/violin player adding a nice lilt over the top. The welcome cocktail was fantastic.

But the staff were almost too helpful, we felt a little 'controlled' at times, and we felt we were frequently in the wrong place at the wrong time. Staff would frequently pop up from nowhere with a 'can I help you?' and then send you down a different corridor. Like maybe we were being prevented from discovering some dark activity, that as token guests we were there to provide a necessary smokescreen.

We would definitely stay there again but we might put some garlic around the door next time. Oh, and the stake is exceptional.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is up high, away from the music in the bar if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverFoxWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

everything was pretty fine, good room, everything in style, TV, buddha sound collection on TV and sound speakers in the bathroom, big very comfortable bed, but in total I did not feel pleased as the very dark style with all black or dark red colours did not fit my taste. even the whole breakfast room is kept very dark coloured. all sevices were no doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasMoll1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great time in Budapest, the hotel is lovely and very central to the whole city. The service is great and they really look after you, we were treated very well. The bar is cool, friendly and inviting. The staff pretty much all speak English. We had a not quite perfect breakfast from room service one day - a little bit bad luck and a little bit our communication ie no milk with the breakfast tea but we assumed it would come with it but they bent over backwards to get what we needed and exceed our expectations

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barhopper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is all about the experience and the atmosphere. If you are used to other standard 4 star hotels you may not like this. Standard rooms are good size. Beds were very comfortable. Generally clean, but due to the dark furniture, decoration and lighting dust was showing. Only espresso machine in the room so no normal coffee or tea. Bathroom was spacious with very gadgety toilet (that was the highlight of our stay). Breakfast was average, compared to other 4 star hotels. Steam room and sauna were very good. The staff was very helpful, from reception to breakfast bar. Its location is excellent, close to underground station and hop on-off buses. Overall a good experience. If you get a good price, it is worth experiencing it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKEF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for my wife's birthday.
Upon arriving we checked in and the staff couldn't have been better.
The Hotel was fairly quiet and so we were upgraded to a suite which was huge. It had every possible convenience you could want including a remotely operated toilet with heated loo seat.
The décor is dark and not to everyone's tastes but for us on a romantic weekend away it was fine. If you are planning on doing work in your room the lighting may be a problem.
After a short while I realised I had left my hand luggage in the taxi we come in from the airport. It had my Samsung tablet in it. Thinking I would probably never see it again I had a word with the reception in the hotel who immediately phoned the taxi company for us. As it was evening and we were hungry we went out for the evening and left the taxi fare with reception on the off chance it was found and returned.
During our meal the reception told us the taxi driver had found my bag and had returned it to them. Thank you very much all the staff that were involved as there were several and the only charge was a tip to the taxi driver and the Hotel staff upon departure. They really went above and beyond what was expected.
The hotel itself was superbly located within easy access of all the sites within the city. The breakfast was great as was the small spa which we used.
The Budha bar experience is something quite different from the norm, very atmospheric. Probably not to everyone's tastes but we loved it.
My only gripe would be central Budapest is quite expensive, certainly on a par with London unless you stay further out.
The hotel itself was excellent, cleaned to a high standard and our suite was great although the fantastic shower did leak everywhere.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you can get the corner suite on the second floor (214), although next to the busy road the triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d-atkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,393 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,483 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,453 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £95 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing