We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend in Budapest”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had a wonderful wonderful stay at Buddha Bar Hotel, We were upgraded for junior suite to an awesome corner suite overlooking the pedestrian street. Everything about the hotel is great, service, breakfast, decor and especially the location. Would go back later on.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    466
    132
    39
    25
See reviews for
169
994
67
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shirebrook
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just had our first ever stay in Budapest, the Buddha-Bar ticked all the boxes. On arrival given an upgrade to a junior suite, which in its self was a very nice gesture. Having previously read the reviews and pictures I more or less knew what to expect, but the wife's face was a picture when she saw the room and in particular the huge bath and giant shower heads. The location is very good and not much more than a couple of hundred metres from the river Danube. When I return to Budapest, I will definitely stay at the Buddha - Bar Hotel.

Room Tip: The external windows were triple glazed, very little outside noise could be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived at Buddha Bar late on a Wednesday evening and the service at the reception was great. When we entered our deluxe room, which was amazing, high ceilings, big bed and nice bathroom, a complimentary birthday cake was placed in the room by the staff, since it was my 30th birthday, This was highly appreciated.

Service was impeccable, we received great service when ordering room service and staff at reception were really nice.

We were alone in the SPA and could really enjoy and relax and also had one of the treatments at the SPA: a little expensive but what to expect at a 5 star hotel.

Location was really good, shops just outside the hotel, the main shopping street just outside.

If we ever go back to Budapest this hotel will definitely be our choice again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina6862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have just returned from an amazing long weekend stay in this wonderful oasis of calm in the heart of Budapest. Firstly the location is ideal for sightseeing. The hotel is adjacent to the Pest side of the Elisabeth Bridge, and is convenient for Vorosmarty Square Christmas market, the Vaci Utca and the Danube River tourist boats.

On arrival, we discovered that our room, although luxuriously appointed with a fabulous bathroom, had a wonderful deep bath but no walk-in shower. This was a problem for me as I have some mobility difficulty. The front desk team explained that the hotel was fully booked that night, but that they would find us a room the following day with a walk in shower. The young man (Chabby), who had taken us to our room, stayed with us until this issue was resolved for us and made sure that we were comfortable, explained all the features in the room for us, including how to operate the incredibly sophisticated Japanese style toilet!

The following day our luggage was transferred to a large room on the third floor with a huge bathroom and a walk-in shower and lots of windows overlooking two sides of the hotel as the room was on a corner. The decor of the rooms is very Thai/Zen oriented designed to help guests to relax. The beds were extremely comfortable with nice linen, and the temperature of the rooms can be individually adjusted to suit. There are good hairdryers in the bathroom drawers with all the toiletries and guest amenities you could wish for. There are towelling bathrobes and slippers provided for guests. Up to date technology in the room enables guests to charge laptops, use the guest hub, (I'm not technically astute enough myself to understand all the gizmos in the desk) pay per view movie rental, TV and audio (with Buddha relaxation music pre-loaded), you can also keep a check on your room bill as you go along.

Breakfast is served cafe style adjacent to the front lobby and there is a very comprehensive buffet with fruit, cereals, cold cuts, juices, etc. Coffee and tea are served by waiting staff and you can order your main course breakfast to be cooked to order from the menu provided. We chose eggs benedict, smoked salmon and cream cheese bagels, and pancakes and egg and bacon on another day, all of which were delicious, well cooked and beautifully presented.

We had booked the Sunday Brunch and again this did not disappoint! There is a sumptuous buffet with the chef expertly preparing sushi at one of the stations. I saw him instructing the young son of one of the diners, and then inviting the boy to have a go himself! Our cocktails were delicious, and our main course (again prepared to order) was superb! We had to force ourselves to partake of the delicious array of tempting desserts, but these again were superb. Thoroughly recommend this experience if you happen to be staying on a Sunday!

We visited the Spa where I was treated to an excellent massage expertly delivered by Olga, a charming Russian therapist. The staff in the Spa were incredibly patient as I kept re-arranging my appointment to suit my ever-changing itinerary. The Spa is small but very well equipped with a gym, sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool, and a wonderful warm relaxation pool with mood lighting. There are nice changing rooms available and good showers, toiletries, hair dryers, etc.

Budapest is a city emerging from communist rule and being rapidly transformed into an amazing City, perfect for tourists. The City has already undergone extensive restoration work and this is continuing with buildings, side-walks, museums, and park areas being renovated and transformed. The architecture is stunning with fabulous churches and civic buildings.

It is easy to walk across the bridges from Pest side of the city where we stayed to the quieter more residential Buda side. Buda has many steep climbs so if this is a problem you might want to consider doing the Castle area tour on one of the many hop on hop off tourist buses which are available with a commentary to explain all the points of interest. It is worth visiting the Buda side for the stunning views alone!

We chose to visit the Schezchnyi thermal baths, (there are many different ones available) which is located just behind Heroes Square at the end of an amazing boulevard (Andressy). We enjoyed the experience immensely and recommend it to visitors. Don't forget to pack your bathing suits. You can rent towels and a private changing room or if you wish you can just get a locker in the communal changing rooms where there are showers and hair dryers. You simply must try a dip in the incredibly warm outside pools! To sit in the deliciously hot water, while the air temperatures are very low, is a lovely magical experience. There is a rather pungent smell around all of the bath houses which comes from the sulphur in the thermal waters. In the winter season they close around six, but in the summer months they stay open until quite late! You can also take advantage of many therapies at these baths, including pedicures, manicures and various massages.

It is very easy to walk around the City, but public transfer options are plentiful. As well as buses you can choose from the trams and trolley buses, and the metro (which is second only to London, as the oldest underground railway in Europe)! All options are cheap, but make sure you have a ticket before you travel as fines can and often are hugely expensive.

The Christmas markets are very pretty, but if you are souvenir hunting you should try the Central Market Hall at the Pest side of the Liberty Bridge. A beautiful old building with food stalls on the ground level and souvenirs and cafes upstairs. Eating out is very reasonably priced and if you don't want to drink hot wine and punch all the time, do try the Hungarian Pinot Grigio - it is wonderful!

Finally, a visit to the New York Palace cafe is a must-do experience. Putting on the Ritz style glamour of a bygone age with reasonable prices and quality food and beverages. We organised our oŵn airport transfers with a company called Holidaytaxis and they were efficient and prompt on both occasions.

This was my first visit to Hungary, and I really hope it will not be my last. The Hungarian people we encountered were without exception, very welcoming, friendly and helpful! The weather was a little cold but the warmth of the welcome and the people more than made up for it!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the other side of the hotel from the night club if you stay over the weekend or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turkeytrotter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had booked a junior suite, but got a complementary upgrade to a grand corner suite. The room was amazing, the bathroom was huge, with a rainforest shower and a huge bathtub, which also had a rainforest shower. The decor was stylish and fit us perfect. The service attitude and politeness of the staff is some of the best I have ever experienced. I would highly recommend this hotel. We also visited the spa on the hotel, which has a nice hot tub, sauna and offers several nice treatment, we both had a full body massage in a couple treatment room. We also eat on the restaurant connected to the hotel, this was also a great experience.

Room Tip: The corner suites offer great views of the city and river and are large and gives a great experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anders1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

"The hotel is beautiful, very well located, the service is absolutly great. We celebrate our weeding anniversary, the hotel offered us, very nicely, an upgrade on our room type and we got in our room a very good bottle of wine as a gift. So we had a wonderful stay, and we warmely recomend the Budha bar hotel, for your stay in Budapest."

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Strangely this hotel has more Hungarians visiting than you would expect. The design is pure Thai with very good service people. Rooms are beautifully equipped and restful. The night club filled with the beautiful people and met all the Buddha Bar expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,954 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 334 in Budapest
3,380 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing