We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #38 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Triple L (location, location, location) can be used not only for real estate deals. When picking up an hotel - it's location is very important. This Buddha-Bar is located within walking distance from most of the places in Budapest you want to visit and see in your first trip to the city or in your 10th visit. The hotel is totaly new and modern. The staff - all of them, and I mean it -are nice, kind and really want to assist you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oetoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I write this based on the hotel promoting itself as a five star hotel. On my visit it certainly wasn't. If they said four star then I would give it more, but it's not so I can't.

The rooms are lovely, the beds comfortable and huge. The bathroom is great and the bath the size of a small swimming pool (we were in a junior suite). The staff are attentive and really care for you in a genuine way. The bar is great and again lovely staff.

However, the breakfast was poor, expensive and badly cooked. How can a five star hotel delivery poor eggs benedict. The 'spa' is tiny and certainly not five star wellness. The rooms have seen better days and benefit from dark paint and minimalist lighting to disguise the tattiness. In our room the toilet door wouldn't shut and a large metal holding bolt fell-off and the entire glass panel bathroom wall was left free to wobble.

I don't know another five star hotel that only leaves one bottle of water per guest per room irrespective of length of stay. We stayed four days and were left one bottle each for the whole visit. The fruit bowl was left and not changed all stay and was rotting by the time we left.

These are things that don not occur in five-star hotels, thus my rating.

If you want five star in Budapest go to The Four Seasons or The Corinthia.

If you want four star then this hotel is fine but then it needs to drop its prices too.

Shames really. Could do better. Much better and it wouldn't take much work.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your time to share your opinion about your time at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace! I understand that you chose the a Junior Suite for your stay, that is one of the most popular room types among our guests with its lovely Asian-colonial design, creating a romantic milieu. As you are most probably aware of it, the Buddha-Bar brand itself is a world-wide known concept based on the lighting structure, the famous Buddha-Bar music and the special colour schemes that of course our hotel is also wearing its unique features of. I believe that this explains quite well the reason to have a special mood lighting in the rooms, rather than concealing anything. Of course we do put high emphasis on quality, therefore I appreciate your opinion and we have already taken the necessary actions to correct what might be corrected.

I am also sorry to hear that the services we offer did not meet your refined expectations and apologize if you should have felt by any means inconvenient during your stay. Of course it is very important for us to receive constructive guest comments in order to learn about the needs and expectations of our guests in details, so your feedback is also valuable for me. I understand that luckily my colleague, the hotel’s Rooms Division Manager had a chance to meet you during your stay when you did show her around your room to explain about your remarks and tell her about your further points regarding the hotel. I am glad that we had a chance to fix the problem on the spot and to find an acceptable way to minimalize the inconveniences you had by offering a nice compensation.

I do hope that in spite of your first experience and despite the few points you mentioned, you will still feel the urge to revisit the Buddha-Bar Hotel on your next Budapest trip rather than choose any other five star hotels.
Looking forward to see you on the next occasion!

Kind Regards,
Tamás Fazekas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent only one night. Very good location, Rooms are fancy only the problem was the is not easy to make the room completely dark, clean rooms, the Buddha - bar is remarkable , Good healthy breakfast with lots of fruits, check in and out was excellent, and Spa team is professional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Sameh,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us! Glad that you were fond of the Buddha-Bar atmosphere and of the services we offer. I do appreciate you highlighting the breakfast, we've recently changed a few things to improve this morning experience of our guests and it is a pleasure to hear that our efforts are well accepted.

Do hope that you will have a chance to return soon for a longer period, very much looking forward to this occaison!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights as part of the Secret Escapes deal.

The hotel is located in the centre of town, an easy walk to most tourist attractions. The hotel is avert grand, opulent building, with an interior to match! There has clearly been a lot of care and attention that has gone into each little detail of the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and in keeping with the luxurious element of the rest of the hotel. The only drawback was the lack of lighting, which kept the room a little dark, but nothing to really fuss about!

We had a lovely cooked breakfast each morning, and drinks in the rooftop bar.

This hotel met and superseded expectations, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid the rooms close to the bar/club as the music can be easily heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARA1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Ara,

Many thanks for your time to review your stay with us! Delighted to hear that you were so much amazed by your stay and you enjoyed both our facilities as well as our services. Thank you for highlighting the breakfast and happy to hear that the special cocktails of the Buddha-Bar were also welcome. I am happy to inform you that extra lights will be added to the rooms and therefore the rooms will be lighter than ever!

Hope to have a chance soon again to welcome you back at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest, truly looking forward to the pleasure.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at the Buddha Hotel for 3 nights during my visit in Budapest. First of all, the location is very convenient close to the major attractions, restaurants and shops. The hotel is in a nicely renovated historical building. The room is very unique. I stayed in a superior room with king size bed. The ceilings are very high, and it gives an airy feeling. In contrast to the historical nature the building, the room was very modern decorated far eastern style. Red is the main color in the room. The sound system is top notch. You can choose all the Buddha Bar CD collection from TV multimedia system. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was rather small, but the heated floors, heated closet with technological hygene system really made the difference.
Breakfast was not included. I paid extra, but I was not impressed with the selection. Not bad, but nothing special.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel because of the location and beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers face the main road. They can be noisier but have better view in my opinion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgezgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

While it was a Sunday night and not very populated, it was still a beautiful ambiance and good service. It was in a prime location near plenty of other places to eat and drink. Everything seemed top notch, wish I stayed there instead of where my travel people set me up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimmerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located close to Astoria metro stop so getting around was easy the staff were very nice and accommodating.the room service was nice and food was great. There was a bar which I didn't care for the hotel was big and functional and the heated toilet seat was cool to use. I will definately be coming back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milanfoot1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
7,300 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £104 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing