We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First and foremost, I always review a hotel by expectation level depending on the star rating. This hotel is 5 star and for me warrants it in almost every way. In fact, I couldn't fault it at all, although my wife claims she saw a beetle run across the floor one evening.

Easily within walking distance from the train station, the very first thing you'll notice about this hotel is it exterior beauty as you approach; it really is a converted palace! Amazing!

This hotel is different from any hotel I've ever stayed in before. The whole Asian fusion theme appealed to us, and I can only say I wasn't disappointed on arrival after researching it on here and their own website. The staff at the front desk were excellent when we checked in, especially considering what we must have looked and smelled like after a 6 hour train journey!
Our room was super cool; concealed wardrobes, mini bar and bathroom all added to the oriental mystique, whilst the and very large comfy bed with beautiful crisp white linen, large flat screen TV and excellent lighting configuration added to the initial impression of the relatively small, but perfectly formed, room.

The bathroom was excellent; heated floors, twin basins, heated toilet seat and a wonderful walk-in shower with hand or drench facility. But what struck me most was the automatic toilet! I may be from a rural area and way behind the times, but I'd never seen anything like this outside of The Three Seashells in Demolition Man! A toilet combined with a bidet with temperature, pulse and drying options really does change you after first use. I certainly will never be the same again!

Something I'm often concerned about on city breaks is road noise. Given the incredible central location of this hotel, I was dreading being woken early by the traffic, but the sound insulation from two sets of windows was as good as could be imagined. Also the curtains blacked out the room beautifully, even if they were a little fiddly.

The overall decor in this hotel is superb; interesting and different, combining opulence with feng shui. We didn't have the time to sample the bars or restaurants, but they were stunning to look at and one can only assume, excellent.

We loved our stay in the Buddha Bar Hotel and, even though we didn't get to explore enough of it, would highly recommend you stay there.

Room Tip: Check out the hotel's own website and believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel110970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    462
    132
    38
    24
See reviews for
167
988
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We recently stayed 3 wonderful nights at the superbly located Budda Bar Hotel in Budapest. I had booked a "tower" duplex-suite" online directly on the hotel website. On arrival at the hotel I mentioned that I had also looked at the corner suite as both were the same price though was difficult to choose which one to go for online.. Anna at reception then offered to show us both rooms and we could choose! This was first for me! ...On viewing both rooms we decided on the Corner Suite on the 3rd floor as it had more windows and views of the city. Room was superb with great facilities. It was very clean with a very cosy bed and big pillows, large LED screeen with USB,free wifi that actually works!, well stocked minibar,free bottles of water, wonderful huge double bathroom with combined dounle rain shower. I advise anybody thinking of booking this hotel to look at the pictures of the suites and the bathrooms on the hotel website. Took advantage of the welcome cocktail at the outside Budda bar on the street. The cocktail was so nice we ordered another one, again very attentive staff here also ..Ended up at this bar several times for a nightcap over the few days.Unfortunately, the main Budda Bar inside the was closed as we were told it is was open Thursday to Sunday, though we were quite happy to sit outsde as the temperature had hit 37C over our 3 day visit. Fantastic breakfast, good choice of both hot and continental breakfast or both if one wanted. Overall, I can not compliment this hotel enough and especily the staff who make this hotel a very special place indeed. Have to give a special mention to Anna on the check-in desk as both polite and a great help to us with respect to booking restaurants, the baths and advice on things to do.If we get back to Budapest, this is where i'll be staying!

Room Tip: A Corner Suite is a must..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headtheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed together with my daughter at the hotel. It was very good and the staff was very helpful. The location is perfect, everything is just "around the corner". The spa was not as big as I had hoped, when we went down there, there were already 2 men in the pool and it felt crowded so we went for the sauna instead. Not really what we had in mind when we wanted to cool off after a long. shopping day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monasoderblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear,

Thank you very much for your timie to post a review about your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace! It is a pleasure to hear that you spent a nice time with us and enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel, as well as its superb central location.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you might had at the Spa and hope that the saunas were for your convenience.

Do hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Budapest and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Myself and my other half have just returned from this hotel after having an incredible four day break in Budapest. We booked this hotel through Secret Escapes for our first holiday away together and were amazed when we arrived. We were taken to our room which was no.527 and a Superior Room, which I would highly recommend getting! It was located at the far end of the 5th floor and was very quiet, in fact we very rarely heard anyone in the halls at all. We were amazed to be shown that the toilet had a remote control and we had a large bath tub and a double rainforest shower over the bath. The room itself was very clean and the bed was the comfiest thing I have slept on in a while with huge cosy pillows, we both slept very well and comfortably during our stay! The only downside was the balcony which was bricked up so unfortunately had no view.

The breakfasts was brilliant as well! We were greeted by one of the hotel staff and offered a choice of tea or coffee and hot breakfasts including eggs benedict and blueberry pancakes, as well as a choice of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, cold meats etc. Outstanding choice and delicious, I couldn't help but to stuff my face!

During the days, we mainly wondered around the city and had lunches and dinners out of the hotel, however we were told that the food in the Buddha Bar Restaurant which is located to other side of the hotel, was exquisite! We did however spend most evenings after dinner at the Buddha Bar which is located on the street outside the restaurant, where we found the service to be excellent. The choice of cocktails was also great, no doubt we worked our way through pretty much every cocktail they could make for us!

We spent one lazy afternoon in the hotel spa which was located on the ground floor of the hotel. It wasn't as big or as good as I had expected, however we didn't come to Budapest to just laze about in a spa so it didn't both us at all! We spent a relaxing hour using the sauna, steam room, hot pool and stone beds where we nearly dozed off, so it was a nice break to our busy day.

The location of the hotel couldn't be placed any more perfectly. It was right next to the Elizabeth bridge which is access over to the Buda side of Budapest and a short walk from the main square where you will find shops, bars and authentic restaurants plus some Italian places and the one and only Hard Rock Cafe, all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Overall, we both had an amazing first time in Budapest and a fantastic stay at the Buddha Bar Hotel, and plan to revisit again before the end of the year. We met a lot of people travelling as well and the hotel staff had many recommendations to things to do and places to see, most of which we didn't have time to do in the short time we were there unfortunately! Thank you so much, we will be back! :)

Room Tip: If you can get a superior room with a large bath tub and the rainforest shower over the bath, you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here last year and had a fantastic time. The hotel has a very romantic feel. It's very opulent and grown up. The famous bar is next door with easy access via a walkway if you are a hotel guest. A great place to chill and drink cocktails if you have the wallet for it. We booked a table and had a superb meal in the fantastic themed surroundings.

The location is great as you are next to one of the bridges so you can discover Buda and Pest without taking taxi's.

The room was superb. My partner loved the chilled music being piped to the bathroom and bedroom. Our friends had a suite with a huge bath and that was beautiful too. I was happy playing with the toilet! It lights up so those trips to the loo at night didn't have to be a lights on affair. It had it's own control to operate and included a heated seat. I'm easily pleased.

We had no issues stayin here and the staff were all very friendly. The city is stunning and has so much to offer so having the perfect hotel made the trip even more memorable.

Room Tip: The suites are more expensive but they are worth it if you can get a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Into Asian motifs? As far as location & service, this place can't be beat. You are right smack in the heart of hearts of Budapest. Any direction from the hotel is a destination. The most convenient spot you can place a hotel. The service, in line with the Asian vibe, is extremely helpful - almost to the point of overwhelming. But the staff is relaxed enough to make you feel at ease. The rooms are quiet, huge and with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are the best. It's basically a swanky downtown boutique hotel. I'm not sure I would call it high-end though (except for the bathrooms). The insistence on Asian (in particular Chinese) design feels cumbersome, and at times kitschy. Since some of the room furniture was sourced in China, the quality isn't top either (except the bathrooms, again). The rooms are really dark and if you have one of the duplexes the stairs may be a problem at night for older guests and those sampling the local wines. Eventually you find the switch that lights the stairs but until then it can be tricky. Save yourself the time and just ask the helpful staff to show you the lights. Also, the room-keys are these weird fobs with Chinese knots, too big to carry out so you leave them at the desk. Again, a bit of design over function maybe? Keycards are more convenient. Still, this place is fun and I can see it being a great romp for couples. That's who I'd recommend it to the most. It looks like the kind of place that gets bumping on the weekends (I was there during the week). Lots of bar space, restaurant space & large Cocktail menus. Think of it as a fun, Las- Vegas-type, Asian themed hotel in Budapest (sans gambling). Hats off to the staff again!

Room Tip: I stayed in a inside-facing duplex and it was very quiet. Helped me get over my jet-lag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAASSHHAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a gem. This hotel gives 5 star quality and service at average prices. The interior design, location, staff amenities......you name it and all are superb. The electronic toilets have been the subject of many funny stories and hearty laughter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,356 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing