We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice in lovely Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Baron
Ranked #51 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in lovely Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Residence Baron is the excellent place to stay in the great place Budapest. Opposite the Central Market and close to the city centre the hotel offer up to all expectations. We had the executive room next to the welness which met all our expectations. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous. The staff is very friendly and helped us with all our requests. What a great place!!

Room Tip: Make sure to take the executive room. It's spacious and has nice balcony for some fresh air as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vroselaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    281
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
356
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool, england
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed at the Residence Baron towards the end of January and had a lovely stay; had been let down by another hotel - large, well known french brand - who, despite us booking in September, a week before departure informed us that they did not have anything other than a single room that would get a wheelchair in, so we had to look again, and are so glad the other brand hotel let us down in this way because the Baron gave us a lovely, welcoming and warm stay in a very cold and grey Budapest.

We booked vis travel republic and got a 4 night stay in an executive room - we decided that after the disappointment of the other hotel we would enjoy the luxury of a jacuzzi in our room - and then found a deal which included half board for £292.

We arrived at approx 6pm and were welcomed by the staff at reception, checked in swiftly and helped to our room, where the assistant talked us through the 'features' in the room - namely the tv/computer, the mini bar, and the hydro-massage tub. All straightforward but clearly explained.

We were pleased that on half board we could also choose between either lunch or dinner, and after we had our first meal were also pleased to find that the set menu offered several choices and 3 courses, plus each evening we were also given an amouse bouche whilst awaiting our chosen starter. The food was all fresh, well prepared and presented and served well. The waiter was very attentive and courteous; after our meal on the first evening, we took my husband to the breakfast floor to select an appropriate table for my wheelchair to access for breakfast and each morning it was reserved for us, with a chair already removed for me to park up at.

Breakfast has several buffet items, fruit, cereals, breads and some hot stuff, and we never had a problem with the items being understocked; there were also omelettes to order fresh plus other variety's of egg based breakfast that were all made fresh, but I can heartily recommend the omelettes!

Evening meals, taken in the 'cafe' area downstairs were also reserved for us in the most ideal seat for us, and nothing was too much trouble.

On entering the hotel there is a step, and a door that opens inwards, before a second automatic door, which with the wheelchair was a little tricky, but on most occasions the staff rushed to open the door and offer their assistance, also opening the door to the lift for us as well. Their attentiveness was very much welcomed and could not be faulted - especially when Barnabas was on duty, he deserves special praise.

The lift is small, but there is one and it large enough for wheelchair and carer - but not for additional luggage - unless the luggage is on the wheelchair users knee (as we did when checking out). The hotel is small though (24 rooms I think) so you wouldnt wait too long for a lift anyway.

Room was fine for wheelchair access (we had room no 401), and there is also a disabled loo in the ladies on the ground floor with grab rails and ease of use taps.

The tv reception is a bit 'fuzzy' with regular 'dips' in the sound, it sort of like stutters, but as we werent in Budapest to watch tv it wasnt a biggy - but it would be nice to catch up on the news at the end of the day without guessing what had just been said!

The computer built into the tv, complete with wireless keyboard was fantastic - as was the free wifi, which saved us a fortune on roaming charges using bbm and emails on our phones. Also in the room was a kettle with ready made white coffee, and green tea and earl grey tea - but no english breakfast tea, so if thats what you like, they do have it at breakfast so pick up a few bags at breakfast.

The bathroom had a heated towel rail, the lovely bath, brightly light mirror at the sink, and bath gel, soaps, body lotion were provided as were shower caps and shoe shine pad, plus bath robes and slippers. One other downside was that the bed was a double, but 2 seperate singles made with bottom double sheet, and 2 separate duvets on top - which is all ok BUT one of the beds - the single half on the right as you look at it from the bottom of the bed - was the noisiest, squeakiest bed ever in the world! You cant sit on it without it sounding like someone is knocking at the door, rolling over is a nightmare.

The wellness suite - which is free of charge - consists of a sweedish style (dry) sauna, a small pool which is quite warm (even on a freezy January day) and has a jet to 'swim against' making the size of the pool a little less important as you do need work to swim against it, well at least I did, lol. The best part, imho, is the jacuzzi spa bit, which is lovely and warm, has several settings and bits to do neck or back massaging, really nice after a day sightseeing. As for access, the wellness centre is on the 2nd floor, served by a lift, but once in the room, the items in wellness area are not actually accessible by wheelchair; the sauna is directly opposite the door so only requires stepping into, but the pool and spa is up a few steps (about 4) and then walking along a narrow 'path' with a rope 'fence' at the side to stop you falling in, but although it is taut, it is not stable enough to help support you to use it as an aide to walk along.

The hotel is in a good location, round the corner from the market, the Freedom bridge is closely visible from the hotels door - plus some rooms windows too, and the start of Vaci Utca is just around the corner; In the months from March - early January there is even a hop on hop off bus stop within approx 100 yards of the hotel.

All in all we had a lovely stay in Budapest, which was made all the nicer by the hospitality of the hotels staff which are their true asset.

Would I stay here again - yes definitely; Would I recommend it to my friends - of course.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
555 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had booked a room with Hotel Residence Baron for myself initially,but then at the last minute my grown up son over from the US decided to come with me so I asked if we could have 2 single beds. There was no problem and the room was made up instantly. The rooms are very clean and there is an excellent maid service. the Reception staff are so warm and welcoming, especially Rene who speaks 5 languages and is very knowledgeable. The breakfast is excellent with a great variety including buffet and a ahot breakfast. It is an ideal location, with the Grand Market one bnlock away and you have the trams that take you one stop to the metro or trams that take you along side both Pest and Buda. Plenty off restaurants closeby and one I would recommend is the Hungarian restaurant Rustico

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the Hotel that had large French windows. the rooom was perfect but ala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We decided to stay in Budapest over the New Year and chose Residence Baron for our accommodation. The hotel is located in a quiet street at the quieter end ( away from Vorosmarty Square) of Vaci Utca but quite close to the Great Market (Central Market).

On arrival the hotel is unassuming and discreet and on entering it attempts to follow the Art Nouveau that is apparent all over the city.

We were upgraded to a room with a hydrobath which was a bonus, our room was also slightly larger than the standard double apparently. Our room boasted a safe, Hydrobath and TV/Room Computer. The bed was comfy also and generally the room was well presented.

On the whole the hotel offers massage therapy (for a fee), jacuzzi, pool and sauna all wrapped up in a little 'Wellness Suite'.

On the downside I can not speak as highly of the restaurant services. We stayed on a B&B basis, and although the breakfast offering was always okay, you ran the gauntlet of either having to wait for the buffet to be restocked or certain basics never being restocked (like bread). The buffet style breakfast just didn't work, it was almost as if it was made up of whatever could be found in the kitchen.

We also ate at the hotel for New Years Eve, fearing that it would be impossible to get in any restaurant at short notice. We needn't have worried, furthermore we got stung by the hotel on the buffet again, small selection of food, buffet not kept stocked up. It was all very disappointing and even though we complained at the cost (for what was on offer) it left a bit of a bad taste.

Overall I would probably stay again, but without breakfast. A hotel in a good location, but little things have let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howa167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceBaron, Front Office Manager at Residence Baron, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Mr. Paul H,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a nice comment on Tripadvisor and for the appreciative words regarding our location, hotel room and reception staff. I am pleased to inform you that in the past few month we accomplished our menu according to our guest’s opinions to provide rich buffet breakfast with several hot dishes, bakeries and cakes. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the restaurant and the breakfast, as your comment is important for us, in order to improve our service. As Christmas and the New Year’s Eve period is so busy, it could happen that most of the guests started their breakfast almost at the same time, which can cause a little congestion. Regarding our New Year’s Eve dinner, whe tried to prepare a variety of traditional and international meals, wide choice of hot dishes, meats, soups, desserts, vegetables etc., to be able to fulfil all the requirements. As it was a buffet-style dinner (with unlimited consumption for a set price), everyone could choose according to their own taste and portion.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Residence Baron, and you will get good experiences in our catering too!
Boglarka Ujhelyi/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel is superbly located for all the hustle and bustle of Vaci Utca and the Market Hall and yet inside it's quiet, clean and welcoming with friendly, helpful staff.
The breakfasts were great- lots of choice for vegetarians and meat eaters alike and the wellness centre was perfect for warming up and relaxing after a few hours of sightseeing.
The internet /TV was a little complicated to understand and get going but it was great to have free internet access to check out opening times, locations etc, especially good for finding vegetarian restaurants. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suewalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Central, clean, excellent value. Staff are very helpful and the breakfast is superb. Shower drainage could do with a bit of maintenance and tv is complicated to switch on. I had a quiet room at the back. No view due to renovations next door. Rather small room for a solo traveller, but I can heartily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: ask for large room, maybe near front because next door renovations block view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Loved this hotel! We stayed the second weekend of December having found a good deal online a few months before. Good room (no view though), nice staff, good location! I recommend an omelette for breakfast - best I've ever tasted! The wellness centre was very welcome after walking around in minus 8 temperatures. If I had to be picky I'd moan about the TV as the signal kept cutting out and was hard to control. I'd also advise putting in a shower screen (a shower head facing across the narrowest point of a bath is not conducive to a dry floor!). Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were facing the back of the hotel. Not much of a view to be had except a freaky looking plastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportLisaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#58 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baron

Property: Residence Baron
Address: So utca 4 | 05 Belvaros - Lipotvaros, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Baron is located in the downtown of Budapest with 27-rooms, offering four-star hotel services, houses in a beautifully restored building which was constructed in one of the most prosperous period in the history of Budapest, in the 1870s.The exterior and interior decoration preserves the splendour of the original romantic and secession style, combining it with the modern infrastructure, services and the conveniences of today.The hotel awaits guests with 27 elegantly furnished and well equipped rooms, 1suite, a number of culinary, comfort and medical services, and a conference room for 20 persons.In "Princessin" restaurant, we provide buffet breakfast and a la carte menu for our Guests with international and Hungarian cuisine, wines, and today's contemporary delicacies * Lobby Cafe * Wellness facilites: counter-current pool, jacuzzi, sauna, massage service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing