We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“residence baron so utca Budapest centre”
Review of Residence Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Baron
Ranked #53 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“residence baron so utca Budapest centre”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Honest review!!! Hotel location superb and the staff very helpful.Rooms were small but comfortable and very warm(maybe not to everyones liking) Sheets,towels etc changed every day and hotel was therefore exceptionally well cared for and clean.Only minor issue was the breakfast!! Items had to be ordered when you arrive at dining room and via the mobile phone of the waiter!!!Long delay.also many items needed replenishing too often and again,long,long delays.The system needs addressing.A lot of guests were very unhappy and ended up having to abandon their breakfasts.

Room Tip: its a relatively small hotel.only 27 rooms so choice is limited.I would.however go for the exec supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richarddickyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    291
    52
    13
    5
See reviews for
76
368
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife & I booked this hotel because of the very good reviews posted on Trip-advisor & we were not disappointed.
We have just returned from a 3 night trip to Budapest & on "check in" at the Residence Baron reception were upgraded to an Executive Suite which was a very nice surprise.
The room was very well equipped & tastefully decorated with one of the biggest & most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in...Add to that a Clean modern bathroom,plenty of wardrobe space,safe,fridge,Kettle etc.. TV, computer with free Wi-fi & 2 Bathrobes all for just over £50.00 per night with Breakfast included, Superb value.
The location is terrific,just round the corner from the main shopping/tourist area "Vaci street" & only a stone's throw from the massive indoor market & river,a perfect location for sightseeing.
The hotels staff were polite,friendly & very helpful & all these positive's obviously reflects in the very good ratings the hotel gets on here.
Well done Residence baron we would certainly stay with you again on our next visit!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwright35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First time when i was here, i was in transit and i found it like very nice and fancy hotel, but second time we stayed for 2 nights in a superior room and everything i liked was the location of it, wich is great, in the middle of centre, very next to vaci utca. Otherwise, the superior room has nothing special the standard one..maybe a litlle, very little side view at the bridge..certainly our rooms need a repainting, the cleaning service was not so good, the room was not vacuumed and the tea and coffee from the room was not supplied in the second day. In bathroom in our arrival we found a shower gel open and the slippers for the welleness are on a fee, while the wellness area, very little and squeezed, is free. So at the price of the room they give you the bathrobes but not the slipers, thats kind of silly. The wellness area can be very nice if you are alone in there. The worts thing, and the major reasson for this review is the breakfast, wich is very poor.. worst then 1-2 stars hotels. You have to ask the staff to refill any ingredints, much earlier than the close time...even for the bread!! They do not do it till someone ask!! In 09:15 they didnt have any more juices, water and bread! The eggs came in the bufet by 2 at time...God forbid to be in a hurry! Overall this hotel its ok only for transit and location for 1 max 2 night..do not have much expectations and if you dont have breackfast included go and serve it elsewhere.

Room Tip: Superior rooms at 6 floor have a very little side view of the bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alida02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceBaron, Manager at Residence Baron, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Alida02,
First of all thank you for taking time and reviewing us on tripadvisor! We are very sorry that during your second stay you didn't have not that good experiences! Regarding the condition of the rooms we can tell you, that we have started the renovation works on the lower floors, which takes a bit long time because of the constantly high occupancy.
In terms of the cleaning service: each room has been controlled before guests enter the room, including vacuum cleaning, the cleaness of the mirrors, desk, bath room etc. The shower gel & shampoo were not open, unfortunately it’s originally loosly closed.
During our 2,5 years we have recieved different reviews about the breakfast, which is normal; every guest has different expectations regarding the quality and quantity of foods. We know that we have to make this service better, and therefore we already have created new rules, new standards.
We really think it seriously, so we would like to send you a voucher for 1 night stay for 2 persons in an executive room.
We do hope, we will have the chance to convince you about our improved services.
Best regards,
Erika Kőrösi / Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend went to this hotel in august. We have been to Budapest for 2 days(1 night) just to visit and for a concert during szigetfestival.
Great hotel, very close to the center and very kind and helpful stuff. They also contacted us via email after we booked there, just to let us know they can provide us all the info we need. And...big surprise, the email was written in Romanian.
The rooms were very nice and the bath was very clean with bath tub with hydro-massage was all we need after a long hot day.
Nice restaurant and pretty good and diversified breakfast.
The only inconvenient was the parking area situated few streets away, but I'm not really complaining about it. It was a 5 minutes walking distance, so it was ok.

Totally recommended, hope to come back here some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

An excellent hotel in fantastic location right by the Liberty Bridge, Vaci Utca and Market Food Hall, in walking distance to everything interesting. Hotel which has very nice feel, small enough to make you feel cosy with a personal touch. We appreciated the taxi pick up from the airport arranged by the hotel at the time of booking costing 28 euros as our flight landed at Midnight and it was very convenient and fast. But the hotel is so close to the local transport links that getting back to the airport during the day isn't a problem either. We liked the specious rooms (opted for the courtyard room to avoid being woken up by the traffic - we had no view, just a wall few meters away but we didn't mind - you can request it at the time of booking). It was nice to come to a room lit up by a lovely solar lamp and discover that there is a desk with computer with internet which was very convenient for researching attractions to visit. We were pleasantly surprised when we discovered that there is a safe in the wardrobe - always great to have one in the room. There is a spa bath in the bathroom which is a bit noisy but nice after long day of sightseeing if you can't be bothered to visit the spa on 2nd floor. We would have preferred the bath to have a shower curtain or anything preventing the whole floor getting wet during showering but it was just a minor issue. We loved the tea and coffee facility in the room and a little fridge where we were able to chill our Tokaji. Bed was amazingly comfortable and big.
The hotel staff, speaking very good English is great and very helpful. I recommend buying spa tickets at the hotel (they don't charge anything extra for it) as it helps avoiding the queue - Szechenyi baths is a must while visiting Budapest.
We always like to have the breakfast at the hotel just in case there isn't many eateries around the hotel. The breakfast is all right in the hotel, there is enough choice for everybody but it is nothing special unfortunately just enough to fuel you for your sightseeing. There is coffee machine for lattes, cappuccinos and espressos and a cattle for tea lovers. We were disappointed that the croissants and other sweet pastries were undercooked - hopefully the management will sort that out. For anybody who hasn't purchased the breakfast option there is enough cafés and restaurants near the hotel where breakfast is served. Our best choice was Market Food Hall with its shabby food stalls on 1st floor - but oh my Lord they served the tastiest food I ever eaten - must try langos when in Budapest. We also recommend the Trofea Grill Buffet near Margaret Bridge for great food.
Back to the hotel - it is a very good hotel in excellent location offering very good value for money. The little spa is nice bonus to it.

Room Tip: Courtyard room for peace and quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a lovely little hotel in the heart of Budapest, only a minute from the Vaci Utca and very close to the famous Gellert Spa Baths. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated and included internet access via a keyboard attached to the TV - brilliant when you can't fit a laptop into your luggage! The staff were very obliging, we arrived quite late but the kitchen stayed open so we could have a meal - the Valentine special! Breakfast was substantial with plenty of choice and they also offered coffee and cakes and a happy hour in the bar. The spa facilities were small but very welcome after a cold day of sightseeing and we had it to ourselves every day. The bathrobes provided were also useful when visiting the nearby Gellert Spa Baths, saved having to hire them there! We had to leave at 6 am and they kindly provided us with a breakfast to take with us, as well as organising the taxi. A super place that I would recommend to anyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debsy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Baron Residence last weekend and had a thoroughly pleasant experience from start to finish.
We were checked in and into our room within 5 minutes of arriving which was great given that we had both been on early flights to Budapest that morning and didn't fancy hanging around for a few hours before we could check in. The receptionists were friendly and spoke perfect English.
The location is decent, with the hotel being a stone's throw from the liberty bridge, beside tram and bus stops and only 5 minutes walk from Kalvin Ter metro (I believe there is a metro 4 stop being built right beside the liberty bridge which will be even more convenient!). It is also right beside Vaci street (which is a bit rubbish to be honest) and the Gelert hotel baths.

Our room was a superior room (301) which faced out on to the street allowing a "view" of the bridge if you strained your eyes to the right, definitely preferable to the rooms on the other side which have a view of nothing. The room itself was almost* perfect, good size, comfortable bed and the bonus addition of a desktop computer with internet which was a nice touch (the whole hotel has free wi-fi anyway). The room itself had the usual safe, kettle and mini-bar which were all fine.
*My only issue with the room was in relation to the bathroom and, in particular, the shower. I cannot understand how nice hotels can manage to get shower facilities so wrong so often. In this case, the shower just consisted of a shower head in the middle of the bath which was non-adjustable and there was no shower curtain or similar to stop water from splashing everywhere. All this meaning that a shower would inevitably result with a half-flooded bathroom floor no matter how careful you were! Very strange...

Anyway, apart from that minor irritation, everything else about the room was fine. The breakfast was better than your typical budget hotel buffet breakfast with pastries, breads, cereals, cheese, yoghurt etc...with the added bonus of decent coffee and ability to order hot food from the waiter for no extra charge.

Overall, a very good experience and decent value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the street such as 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 334 in Budapest
1,136 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#54 of 334 in Budapest
765 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 334 in Budapest
705 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baron

Property: Residence Baron
Address: So utca 4 | 05 Belvaros - Lipotvaros, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Baron is located in the downtown of Budapest with 27-rooms, offering four-star hotel services, houses in a beautifully restored building which was constructed in one of the most prosperous period in the history of Budapest, in the 1870s.The exterior and interior decoration preserves the splendour of the original romantic and secession style, combining it with the modern infrastructure, services and the conveniences of today.The hotel awaits guests with 27 elegantly furnished and well equipped rooms, 1suite, a number of culinary, comfort and medical services, and a conference room for 20 persons.In "Princessin" restaurant, we provide buffet breakfast and a la carte menu for our Guests with international and Hungarian cuisine, wines, and today's contemporary delicacies * Lobby Cafe * Wellness facilites: counter-current pool, jacuzzi, sauna, massage service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing