We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with an ever greater staff!!”

BlackSheep Hostel Budapest
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BlackSheep Hostel Budapest
Ranked #184 of 638 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel with an ever greater staff!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Black Sheep is a modern hostel that is incredibly clean. The complimentary breakfast is nice, and the free wifi is surprisingly fast for a hostel and worked everywhere. Also, the hostel is located near a few metro stations and is a 15min walk to most of the big attractions and the beautiful szigets (islands) on the ruver. All that was great, but the reason I came back for a 2nd stay (and will be back in the future) is the Black Sheep staff. The staff is amazing and they really want you to have a good stay... Especially Anna (Bad-*** Balls Anna)! One day when I was supposed to meet a friend, Anna walked with me after her shift to show me where to go!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daneflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, we hadn't made a reservation and for the next day it was completely booked already. We had a really nice time, met some nice people, got a good tip to go to a rooftop party nearby which was fun!

Rooms are clean and there are lockers. Breakfast is included in the price and starts at 09.00 am. And there is a whole wall with all kinds of suggestions you can do. Location is very nice, with a lot of bars and restaurants close by. Staff is nice. Oh the elevator was broken upon arrival, but a few hours later it worked again! And all though check in was only at 3 pm we could store our bags for the remaining time and go into the city.

Only thing we didn't like too much - we closed the windows otherwise we couldn't sleep because of the noise, but it gets reaaaally hot at night that way...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhollandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is the best hostel you can be in Budapest, i stayed there 3 nights while i was traveling by myself and all the staff made me feel comfortable!!! Also they give you breakfast in the morning which is reall coool because you dont have to go out nor cook when you are hangover!!! The staff is so friendly that you can go out to party with them, specially this cute girl named Era she was the best!!! We made a bet that she couldnt get me drunk because Im Mexican, well she could she got me so drunk that i only could barely walk, So now I have to go back there to give her a beer and a BIIIIIGGG HUG ;). HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Choose the six beds mixed dorm, is just 1 Euro more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogelio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I travelled with a friend and it was our first time staying in a hostel. The Blacksheep Hostel was really a great experience. Great value, good location, staff was very nice and helpful, especially Geri who helped make sure we had the best experience in Budapest. Everything about this hostel was superb and I would absolutely stay there anytime I go back to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was my second trip to Budapest and the Blacksheep and there was no doubt on where I would stay again. This place is clean (freshly renovated + painted), rooms are spacious with quality lockers, the location couldnt be better and the atmosphere is whatever you make it but if you want to socialise there is always someone to chat to.

My only downfall on this particular trip was that Jim had moved on. His hospitality and help on our last visit was brilliant and it was a shame not to see him behind the desk after our nights out this time.Special thanks to Dora for her help and advice this trip we really appreciated it.

Thanks again Blacksheep.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are cheap and clean. Cant help you with the sinmgle rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crtrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My girlfriend had never stayed in a hostel so I wanted to show her the hostel experience to see if she might want to stay in others in the future. The building itself is beautiful, particularly the courtyard. We stayed in a room with one double bed, but at only €30 for the night it is very good value. The room was huge, with a wardrobe and our own fridge. The bed was one of the softest beds I've ever slept in. The staff are warm and friendly, there's a communal lounge and dining area where you can meet some other people who are travelling. The location is great for local nightlife and bars (like Szimpla Kert - check it out!). Our plan was to stay in the hostel for the saturday night and to go out, then to go to a hotel for the next couple of days. The hotel cost us €10 more per day, the room was half the size and the location was further outside of the centre - we should have stayed at Black Sheep the whole time!
All in all, a great place that I would definitely stay in again if I come back to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Excellent hostel with a very good location close to the night life of down town Budapest. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, especially Greta, who went out of her way to make our stay fun and trouble free.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#82 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Firstapartments Inn City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#60 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Cat & Co. Guesthouse
Cat & Co. Guesthouse
#37 of 182 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hostel One Budapest
Hostel One Budapest
#90 of 638 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlackSheep Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlackSheep Hostel Budapest

Property: BlackSheep Hostel Budapest
Address: Akacfa utca 7., Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 638 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your BlackSheep Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing