We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BlackSheep Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Matus Hotel(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amadeus(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passzio Pension(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Eben Hotel(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Lucky(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Polus(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
33
15
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
15
6
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent 3 days in this hostel and it was awesome. The beds were confortable, clean, also the kitchen and the toilets/showers. However, they take so long to clean the showers/toilets. They provided me towel and hairdrier. The staff was pretty much helpful and attentive during my staying in there, and one of them, made a city tour with the group which was there. We had tons of fun. The hostel is exactly what it is in pictures on website. The location is perfect, near of bus and metro station, main spots to visit. Worth to spend one week if necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I do not really have to say anything good to say except that I felt sorry for the staff at the end because they had to work in such a hostel.

We arrived there on time when they said that the rooms were ready and we were a big group of people so were just happy to finally check-in after an exhausting day of traveling etc. Having arrived in the hostel we had to wait another half an hour at least because people were not asked to check-out on time and therefore our rooms were far from ready. When we then finally were able to check-in, the bathrooms looked like a bomb of dirt exploded everywhere. Nothing was cleaned, the floor had a black watery surface on it and there was toothpaste everywhere in the sinks. It was simply disgusting. A friend of mine and I then started cleaning the bathrooms with the liquids they had, but the staff then closed the cabinet with everything in it and we also asked her if she needed help, but she refused and the bathrooms remained dirty for another 2 hours. The first day was not a real success and after the bathrooms have been cleaned, it was not much better because there were still a lot of bottles of shampoo standing around and most of it has not been cleaned yet. This was only the beginning though.

When we came back from a bar to the hostel, we received the wonderful message that there was no water in the whole building due to a pipe burst. This meant that we were not able to wash our hands, brush our teeth, go to the toilet or shower for the next 24 hours. I mean it's sometimes quite an adventure to sleep in a hostel, but no water takes it to a whole other level. The staff tried to offer water for everyone, but quickly ran out and it was impossible to order water on a Sunday, apparently. On the next day, they offered us to shower at another place for many times, but failed to figure it really out so we were standing there with no water for a whole day. Obviously, we did not spend the day at the hostel, but this does not make up for the fact that everything was extremely difficult and uncomfortable. The dishes could not be washed and it began to stank heavily from the toilets. This was the absolute killer. The staff seemed not to be able to deal with the situation and was just telling us that she was waiting for a call from her boss. Whatever that meant.

At some point, we were also promised a 10% discount of the prize we paid for the hostel, which made the situation a lot better. However, it turned out that this never happened. Not much positive things to look back on at our stay at this hotel. Luckily, we had the privilege to move to Novotel right afterwards. Thank God.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

i have stayed in a few hostels in my time, but this was definatly my favourite by far. the location was great, the hostel was super quiet, maybe not so much when me and my mate arrived. the shared living room had anything a bloke needed, fridge full of cheap energy drinks, cheap beers, guitar, internet, tv, awesome stuff.and the staff there were wonderful, talkative, poilite, informative but also willing to go out of their way to help you out with whatever you needed. i just wanted to thank the staff, adam, judith and especially zsofi, for a bloody good time. you must have made an impression because i didn't want to leave and i am most likely returning as soon as time allows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaz1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Yes, great location, mostly helpful staff - but there are many other hostels in Budapest that provide this too.

Yes it was cheap, but you're better off paying a tiny bit more for something better. I'm not sure if they cleaned the dorms everyday because some bread that people in the dorm had left on the floor stayed there for a few days. There was a lot of dust and dirt behind the beds and in the lockers below the beds.

The bathrooms seemed to only be cleaned once a day (could really do with a bit more cleaning!), and when I was there, one bathroom/toilet was out of order, which meant everyone in the hostel (maybe 5 dorms) were sharing just 2 toilets/showers.

Reasonable breakfast which was nice given that it was so cheap - but I would rather they put more effort into cleanliness than providing breakfast to be honest.

Also the wifi only worked about half the time.

I can see how it could be a really great place if only they just took more care with cleaning more often.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugbitten03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The first hostel I have ever stayed in and it has set the standard! It was clean and relaxed place and the ammenities were good other than 2 days of the stay when the showers went cold. This was a blessing in disguise as it helped to shake the hangover quicker. The staff are what make the place, they are all very friendly and more than happy to help!. Big thanks to zsofia, Adam and Judith (bors gastro was good cheers!).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews