We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Center Guesthouse Budapest
Ranked #146 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Good things: service is very good and friendly. Beds are comfortable. The location is excellent right in the main avenue. The price is very nice. Bad things: Rooms very cold even with the heater on. The shower is not comfortable. The street itself is a little creepy at night

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jonruizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 and I liked it. I did not expect a lot because of the cheap price, but I had a pleasant stay. The staff is very friendly and the receptionists speak English fluently. Cleaning staff didn't speak English unfortunately and I experienced some misunderstandings during cleaning of the room when I was in it. I basically just had to go outside around 11 o'clock for them to do the cleaning, I guess. The beds were great and they cleaned the room daily. One tip for the staff: change the pillows as well. I had a blood stain on my pillow (probably from a pimple) and I was still sleeping on the same pillow on the 7th night. Shared bathroom was clean and never had to wait in line to take a shower.
I only had breakfast once over there. It's very basic, but for 5 euro's you can't really complain as it's a great deal. But I prefer to eat out while traveling solo.

Location is great. Located just minutes away from Oktogon square it's close to some nice restaurants and clubs/bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A good location close to major 24 hour tram route. In a quiet back street.
My room had a bed (very comfortable). Bedside table. Good reading light. Wardrobe (which survived the finger along the top cleanliness test). Flat screen TV. Free wifi. Two towels. Effective blackout curtains.
Shared shower room always immaculately clean. I had a five night stay so it was consistent!
24 hour reception, staffed by friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast is expensive so I did not try it. However. plenty of great places to eat close by.
I paid the same for this as for wifi in some UK hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was very basic but clean. The shared bathroom was down the corridor and was very clean. Although other people were staying there, we didn't see anyone else so it felt like we had the bathrooms to ourselves - no wait for a shower. If you want a glamourous or very comfortable place to go back and relax in then this isn't really the place. It is ideal for a cheap, reasonably comfortable place to sleep after a long day of exploring the city. The wifi was good also. It was down a bit of a dark backstreet which did feel a bit creepy some nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFoxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We went to Budapest for only 3 days and this was exactly what we needed. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed was big and very comfortable! Amazing location just 10 mins walking from the city centre and 5 mins from the bars and clubs. The bathroom was shared what usually it's not the best but this one was clean all the times. The only bad thing was the heating, although it was on the maximum level it was still not very hot. The staff was great, very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudiaFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a great low-cost place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions, finding out how to get bus tickets etc. The walls were a little thin and the doors had gaps under them that let in a lot of noise from other guests in the hallway. It didn't really help that there was an opera singer staying down the hallway who insisted on warming up in the early morning. (Fantastic singer, just not what you want to wake up to every morning!) The rooms were quite basic but that was what we were looking for in order to stick to our small accommodation budget for our trip. All in all a great place to stay if you are looking for an affordable city center based hotel.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

As stated in the website, it is a 3star hotel. But the interior seems like they dont deserve any stars.Firstly, the staff asks us to fill in the forms ourselves instead, unlike other hotels staff who will fill in the details patiently during the check in. Secondly, the walls of the whole guesthouse seems like made up of thin paper only. Every footsteps and conversations can be heard clearly. Thridly, the staff didnt clean the room thoroughly. The bedsheet was dirty and also the floor. I think they dont even sweep the floor as the floor is full with the guests? hairs. They dont provide hairdryer as stated as well. The heater in the room is just an decoration, the central heating doesnt on at all. The only good point is the water is hot enough for showering during autumn. The tv in the room is the most proper thing can be found. So please avoid this guesthouse.

1  Thank sunl29
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Budapest Budget Hostel
#24 of 670 in Budapest
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chesscom
#102 of 334 in Budapest
383 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 334 in Budapest
597 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Guesthouse Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Guesthouse Budapest

Address: Csengery utca 53, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: £23 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Guesthouse Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Superior City Center Guest House located in the downtown of the most fabulous place: Budapest. The House is situated on the quiet Csengery Street, very near to Oktogon square. Take a pleasant walk from the City Center Guest House on the most famous boulevard of Budapest Andrassy Avenue Which is only one minute from us. Nearby there are Many Other attractions available, for example: Heroes square, Many of the museums, the City Park, the Budapest Zoo, the Amusement Park, the Szechenyi Thermal Bath and Liszt Ferenc square Which is known as "the kitchen of Budapest" Because Many of its good restaurants and Cafes. The area called the "Broadway of Budapest" with its theaters, restaurants, unique bars, clubs and pubs - where life never stops - is Also located in 3 min walking distance. Be Fascinated from the beauty of the historical Budapest and discover it, relax in our comfortable four star deluxe Cardo beds and the high standards of our rooms, take advantage of the modern environment and enjoy our Extensive services. City Center Guest House is Offering You the Possibility - Whether it is a business trip or Leisure - to enjoy the busy life of a capital city, with its Many events and attractions, and at the same time as our guests: feel the comfort of a four star deluxe hotel room, and get the best value at a good price with the friendly, personal care and family hospitality of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Center Guesthouse Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing