We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great hostel at a great price"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Budapest Center
Ranked #195 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Great hostel at a great price"”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hostel in quiet location yet just 5 mins walk to commercial/tourist centre of Pest. Staff friendly and helpful in particular the manager Roland. Hostel offers all the best tourist sightseeing trips and local restaurant deals at great prices. Rooms are clean and at very good price. Also free internet.
Kevin from Ireland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    30
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
4
18
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Budapest Center hostel is located (no way!) in very center of Budapest (Pest side), on a quiet street. From hostel it is 5 min walk taking main road towards the river to reach the main tourist trap - Vaci Utca street with all the souvenirs and shops.

We staid for 4 nights in double room with private shower (toilet is in the corridor next to the room). It was quiet stay, no noise from other guests. Room is decent size for a hostel double bed and has and OK bed, table, some books and lamps. You need to rent towel (1EUR) and they don't have adapters, so bring your own if you are not from Europe. It was a bit cold in the room to be honest.

If you are short on time then consider their 15 EUR Budapest tour offer valid for 2 days. You get to see 90% of attractions + few free drinks.

They also have breakfast at the cafe nearby (ask for exact location, it's not exactly "behind the corner" as they say). Cost is 3.2 EUR and you can select from 4 different options. Price is OK for what you get.

Overall it is good hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DimitriPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

ROOM

Absolutely tiny - but then, I booked the mini private... Which is about 15 Euro a night. For a private room - you can't beat this! It's basically a tiny room above the kitchen which you reach by a steep wooden ladder. We were slightly concerned about this for when we went out on the Sat night - but it was totally fine!

Room has just enough room for the double mattress (not a bed). We could stand up in there, but are both 5'5" ish so it' may not be ideal for the very tall.

Lit by lamps, and with a fan - which was needed as it was quite warm! Perfect just for resting your head - and saving the pennies to sample what Budapest has to offer.

SERVICE

Absolutely brilliant. We were greeted by Sophie who was lovely, helpful and willing to call around places to find out information for us - couldn't fault it!

Left our baggage on the last day which was no issue at all. Reception not always staffed 24 hours, but don't think someone was ever far away.

Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff like this makes the stay!

LOCATION

Bit tricky to find - is an apartment in a residential block, so you have to be looking for the address to find it. Not particularly well signed, though there is signage outside when you find the address.

Perfect location though, 1 minute from Astoria metro, and about a 5 minute walk from the main intersection metro which is on all three lines. Easy to get everywhere - could walk to all the main 'sites' in 20 or so minutes tops - most closer!

OTHER

Wi-Fi great throughout the place as far as I tried - easy to remember password too! And posted up in the rooms - nice thought.

Would stay again in a flash should I make it back to Budapest! Just can't beat it for the location and price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pentala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've been to Budapest for the first time in my life and I have to say.. Hostel Budapest took me by surprise. I was initially pretty lost on where the place is and walked past it back and forth a few times before finally reaching on it's main door.
It is a pretty obvious place and now looking back, I must have been relatively stupid to miss it.

The best thing about this place is it's proximity to EVERYWHERE.
15 minutes to the city center
5 minutes to the Metro station (20 minutes to the main bus station from there)
5 minutes to a local supermarket

So everything to me in there in terms of accessibility, scored aces.

They offered different rooms, the supposed "cooler" looking ones across the reception main area in another apartment and rooms within the reception area.
I would be lying if I admitted that they had top-notched facilities such as computers, etc.
BUT, they do offer a really cozy place of stay. I think that what made the distinction was their awesome team of receptionists who are superbly warm, helpful and what's more.. Good-looking.

My experience with the hostel can be summarized as AWESOME because I've met so many backpackers who are also travelling around Europe on a shoestring budget.
I have to thank the hostel and staff for my wonderful time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed here for about a week in mid June 2013. The location is just off a main road in the center of Pest, close to the Danube. You can get to all the major tourist attractions in Buda and Pest by foot from the location or take the numerous public transit options also close by. The staff was universally friendly and incredibly helpful. You could easily strike up a conversation with them and ask for just about anything and they'd help. There were numerous vouchers, coupons, and pamphlets for assorted things to do around the city in the main room that the staff knew all about. They convert currency and have connections to a taxi company for cheap (a rarity in Budapest). There is a very cheap laundromat, grocery store, hair salon, and seemingly endless cafes and restaurants within 100m. If language was an issue anywhere they'd offer to come with and translate.

I stayed in both the classic dormitory and a mini-private. The dormitory was nice, better than the usual, very clean. The mini-private is a concept that I've only seen here. It is a small private room with a big bed, TV, and a good amount of space, plus plenty of light and outlets. This for only 8 euro a night! For 8 euro you can get a small but nice and clean private room in the center of Budapest. Unheard of.

I enjoyed staying here immensely and will absolutely be coming back each and every time I go to Budapest. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had to cancel the reservation because at the day of arrival because of problems at the airport with our tickets. They had much understanding for this, happily. They cancelled our reservation costs. Very good service. We hope to visit them soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rini121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had the 'mini private room', nr. 9. Not bad at all, especially considering the price. It's a small loft, above the shower. (sharing the same door, so only downside: if someone is in the shower there's no way to get to the stairs) Get's quite warm there at night, but I think the owner is planning to install a fan.

The hostel itself is very centrally located and has a well equipped kitchen. Not the most 'fun' hostel i've ever been at, e.g. there is not really a common room or bar, but certainly clean and comfortable. Would (and probably will) use again and can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#56 of 655 in Budapest
66 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Treestyle Hostel
Treestyle Hostel
#102 of 655 in Budapest
85 reviews
HoBar - the hostel bar
#139 of 655 in Budapest
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Happy Hostel-Happyflat
Happy Hostel-Happyflat
#126 of 655 in Budapest
73 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#30 of 655 in Budapest
196 reviews
District V / Inner City
11th Hour Cinema Hostel
11th Hour Cinema Hostel
#85 of 655 in Budapest
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Budapest Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Budapest Center

Property: Hostel Budapest Center
Address: Semmelweis utca 2 | Mezzanine, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Budapest Center 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located in the heart of the city center of Budapest with a few steps walk to the main touriststreet of Budapest. Three metrolines are within 30m walk. The hostel was totally refurbished in 2011 June and the new wing in 2012. The design is youngish,colorful and modern. All the main tourist destinations,clubs and restaurants are within 100m-300m walk. The hostel itself is a medium-sized hostel with a holding capacity of 45 persons with 10 different rooms. The rooms are quite,cosy and well equipped with all the necessary things you might need for a journey. Wifi is free and fast in the rooms as well. The hostel is located in an interesting buildingcomplex with all the necessary facilities and services that can offer you great stay. Like. Bier terrace, non-stop bar, cafe and eiscafe, supermarket and breakfastrestaurant. The rooms are all with private bathroom as following: 1 en-suite bedroom with a double bed for 2 persons, 1 en-suite bedroom with 2 double beds for 4 persons, 1 en-suite bedroom with 2 twin beds for 2 persons, 1 en-suite dormitory room for 6 person, 1 en-suite dormitory room for 6 person, lobby, 3 guest kitchens. Each room has: Own shower in the room, lockers, dining tables, computers, wifi, safe, big cosmetic mirrors, cosmetic desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Budapest Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing