We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in”
Review of Hipster Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hipster Hostel
Ranked #139 of 658 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A very friendly hostel, the staff would always go above and beyond to be helpful and to give advice and directions when they could. It's In a very easy to find location via metro and a very close walk to the river (which is a life saver when you get yourself a bit lost!). The hostel was close to a local supermarket, metro, main market hall, and a very lively bar and restaurant area. The hostel is I a beautiful building and It has a very cosy living and kitchen area which is good if you are staying for a long time.
I couldn't recommend the place enough. If I return I will stay here undoubtably.

Room Tip: I chose the 10 bed dorm because I enjoyed the value and social aspect. I also saw the honeymoon room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    38
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
26
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. It takes a while to find it because the sign for the hostel is hidden and the actual hostel is on the third floor. The hostel is very close to the big Market Hall, some baths, and in walking distance to most sights. Parallell to the street where the hostel lays, there is a big restaurant-street with all kinds of food.

It is a creative hostel with a few rooms, kitchen, two bathrooms and a "hangout" area. It felt like being at someones home, it was cool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feeedyourmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I spent a few nights at HH while I was doing a 'Eurotrip'.
The place is really cozy and I liked its style very much. It actually looks like a home, not like a hostel!
HH is in the downtown, near to the clubbing district, but not in the middle of the mass, so everything is peaceful and silent during the night - but everything is in a walkable distance as well. The staff is really cool and helpful, and they all know the awesome places and events going on in Budapest (they also speak several languages!!)

Room Tip: I was staying at the Magenta Room, which was really nice. I have seen the other rooms of HH as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poopbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 4 days (3 nights) in this hostel. The reception doesn't work 24/7 so we had to write our time of arrival on our reservation. The receptionist was in front of the building right on time, therefore we didn't have to look for a hostel too long (no big signs or anything on building itself).

The interior of the hostel is very nice and modern, the staff very friendly and helpful, but we did have some noisy roommates however.

Other than that I highly recommend this hostel to just about anyone looking for a good, cheap and well-located hostel in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klemen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've spent 3 days in this hostel with my boyfriend in the 10 bedded dorm. We got a nice semi-private solution for a very cheap price! On the mezzanine of the room, there is 2 double beds for couples who want to have some privacy which is unbelivable in a 10 bedded dorm.
The hostel has a nice and cosy design, the kitchen is big, you can cook for yourself. There is a huge bathroom with a bathtub which was also super!
Thanks Hipster, we will be back someday!

Room Tip: The 10 bedded dorm is a good choice also for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hacsapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We arrived feb. 2014. There was 4 of us and we booked 2 nights. When we arrived the receptionist didn't speak English at all. He offered to speak German and since i have basic knowledge in German i agreed. But he failed to understand there is 4 of us for 2 nights, he thought there is 2 of us for 4 nights. Eventhough we made the booking in advance. He seemed friendly but just impossible to communicate with. Therefore we didn't receive any advice for sightseeing, let alone help with the parking tickets.
The room was nice and cozy.
Kitchen was nice, but the fridge was dirty and smelly, obviously the staff didn't bother checking if there is any food rottening.. and it was. And a pile of plastic bottles which again noone bothered to take out.
Wifi was weak in some parts of the flat (this is an actual flat) but there was tv with cable.
Compliments on the effort on being hipster, but the most hipster thing there, was the receptionist.
Based on the other reviews, they obviously just neglect the place during the winter and also have a 'substitue' receptionist. Would be better if they just shut down for off season.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlaVojka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We (a group of 4) stayed here whilst travelling around Europe in the summer. Nice interior, friendly staff, and good facilities. Good location- it's not too far from a street full of restaurants, and a metro it situated at the bottom of the street, which is pretty handy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pech0rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
HoBar - the hostel bar
#145 of 658 in Budapest
65 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#35 of 658 in Budapest
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Home Plus Hostel
Home Plus Hostel
#106 of 658 in Budapest
192 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#32 of 658 in Budapest
343 reviews
Harmonia Palace
#114 of 658 in Budapest
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipster Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipster Hostel

Property: Hipster Hostel
Address: Baross utca 3, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 658 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hipster Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name speaks for itself: fancy, brand new hostel in the heart of Budapest, in a pedestrian street, in a student area, 50m from metro/tram/bus, cafes-bars-restaurants all around, freshly DIY decorated accommodation especially for all travelers' needs. Hipster has 4 different types of accommodation, all done in a hot do-it-yourself spirit: rn1. POLKA DOTS ROOM: a giant mezzanine with double beds on the upper side (2 separated double beds), and a double bed and 4 simple beds for groups on the lower part. rn2. MAGENTA FEVER ROOM: stylish black bunk beds for 6 persons with a pinch of magenta touchrn3. CANDY ROOM: a smaller mezzanine with one double bed on the upper and another one on the lower part,. HONEYMOON SUITE: for couples in love, with private bathroom and private entrance.The hostel speaks English, French, Spanish, Brazil, Portuguese, German... Wants to learn Polish, Russian, Chinese Mandarin, Japanese :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hipster Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing