We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiger Tim's Place

Tiger Tim's Place
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiger Tim's Place
Ranked #108 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Such a cosy, friendly, laidback hostel. We rocked up unannounced and were welcomed in and made feel at home straight away. Tim will tell you everything you need to know about Budapest and will answer any questions you have. Everyone gets to know each other since it's fairly small. And we had an epic night out in the ruin bars on the Friday. The hostel looks good and is very comfortable. The location is great and is within easy walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I got a bed at Tiger Tim's at the last minute, dreading it because of its party reputation, but found it surprisingly clean & well maintained. Despite full of youngsters out for a good time, place was quiet, & the other guests were considerate (at least when I was there). I had a very good night sleep! Although it was located on the main road, finding it was a bit tricky, though. Tim was super friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkWalkTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were recommended Tiger Tim's by a friend we met travelling and weren't sure what to expect - he said it was small, unique and friendly. Our expectations were exceeded when we arrived; it was great value, safe and in the centre of the city near St. Stephen's cathedral. We made great friends whilst staying there as everyone congregates in the communal kitchen, watches TV together and plays games of drinking jenga. Our time in Budapest would not have been the same without staying here - it helped us explore the city and visit the incredible bars and areas. I would recommend this to any young people heading to Budapest, particularly those keen on experiencing the nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noahsark2by2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me & 2 friends stayed here on the last stop of out trip in September. Had a warm welcoming from Tim, who gave us maps & recommended things to do/see. We stayed in the private room which was clean & got a decent nights sleep. Atmosphere was great, good for meeting new people and nights out. Would defiantly recommend going on the organised nights out. Budapest is a great city, something for everyone. Will be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWright12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the private apartments and we were pleasantly surprised at the size and the quality of the room. When we checked in Tim gave us a map and highlighted the best sites, restaurants and bars. He was extremely helpful. Apartment had fully equipped kitchen although no washing machine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SineNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed during 2012 and returned for New year 2013. Both amazing stays and couldn't have wanted more. Tiger Tim gave us good recommendations both trips and was always on hand to help. Great location and great for meeting new people to party with.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Fantastic spot to party with other travelers or for a good nights sleep,Tim and his staff gives you advice on all the activities of the day when you arrive at the hostel and recommends places to eat and to visit and takes you out to explore the city by night

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Cotton House
Cotton House
#140 of 342 in Budapest
48 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#98 of 342 in Budapest
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Terézváros
Weiner Studios
Weiner Studios
#127 of 655 in Budapest
20 reviews
Kadar Apartments
#97 of 655 in Budapest
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Tim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Tim's Place

Property: Tiger Tim's Place
Address: Terez koerut 58, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tiger Tim's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing