We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #126 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bargain”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here for Valentine for a long weekend break. The hotel is situated a little out of the town centre but they offer a free-shuttle service at various times to the centre which you have to book in advance. You can also pay for a shuttle to and from the airport which we wasn't aware of until spotting people being dropped off one day.
The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious, although they could do with replacing small things like the towels which were not up to 5 * expectation. The usual facilities such as tea/coffee making, mini bar, iron and toiletries are available,
The spa was great although a little crowded at times despite having 2 steam rooms, 2 sauna, 2 thermal pools and a cold pool, they only had 1 jacuzzi which meant it was always a wait to use and always full. The gym was well equipped and less busy.
It was worth while paying the extra for use of the executive lounge as opened all day for food and drink including alcohol and hot food and as not much more than the cost of the breakfast it was good value for the money.
Budapest itself is cheap and friendly. Such a beautiful city that's clean and full of amazing buildings. Good for shopping and great night life (Peaches & Cream had a great atmosphere for all you RnB lovers)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the executive lounge as well worth the money for food and drink (including alcohol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

I regret to learn that you were unsatisfied with room ameneties and please rest assured that we are working to improve on our services. On the other hand we were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our rooms, executive lounge, spa and fitness area.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

We remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    517
    263
    71
    67
See reviews for
190
614
66
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed with my boyfriend for 2 nights in this hotel. The check in staff was very polite and efficient. All rooms are non-smoking, however when we entered the room, it smelled strongly of smoking and we found cigarette ashes near the window. Apart from that the room was clean and comfortable but very hot. The bathroom was clean but not much pressure from the shower and regardless of how careful you are, there is going to be spillage because the screen in the bath isn't big enough when you shower.

The first evening, my boyfriend came back and couldn't remember the number of the room and asked the person at reception. the staff was very rude, telling him there was no room booked under his name then eventually directed him to our room. There was also a prostitute in the lobby that night who was waving at him and other men, that is not ok for a "5 stars" hotel.

The breakfast was one of the BEST breakfast buffet I've ever been too, great variety and taste, there is a chef making eggs and omelettes as well as pancakes.
The spa was excellent, however there was a baby-swimmers class the first morning we went so we couldn't use of the the thermal pools. Apart from that, the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and various pools are great.

The hotel is not in the city centre so make sure you are fine with taking public transport. There is a suburban train station very close by the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

I deeply regret to learn that you have experienced inconveniences in regard to a lady at the night and please be assured that I have followed-up with people in charge to avoid the same situation in the future. We regret to read that our staff did not care about you as you expected. Please accept my deepest apology.

I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with the shower pressure, tempreture and smell of the room.On the other hand thank you for your kind words regarding to check-in staff, cleanliness and facilities of the room, spa and wellness facilities and breakfast buffet services provided.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

We remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomma, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Budapest is blessed with thermal mineral pools.Some look like its saturday bath evening in old folks home.In this 5 star hotel for a good price there are 2 thermal one regular pools..In thermal 4-8 people all ages.Nice room. Great check in by perfect professional staff.I am not a breakfast person but at 9 p.m supper was excellent I selected Goose leg- honey glazed.Location is quiet,if u prefer bars and restaurants of Vaci utca this is not a Place for u.But if u like nice big quiet spa hotel with excellent services and facilities this is one of them.Only small problem room window can not be fully opened-,it was OK in february would not be in may.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valdo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations.Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the variety of breakfast and spa facilities provided.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future,

We remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I really do not know why this hotel is 5 star. I have stayed in 3 star hotels much nicer than this.
Furnishing in the room is quite old and used, carpet stained, curtain with holes, bad smell in the room. Tea and coffee making facility in the room is ok.
The good thing about the hotel is that the staff is extremely polite and helpful and really try to make you feel welcome. Breakfast is very big choice, just like at a holiday resort offering great variety and good quality.
Bed is too soft but at least the room is very silent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

I deeply regret to learn that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. We deeply apologize in regard to the room condition and we were sorry to read that our room facilites did not meet with your expectations. On the other hand thank you for your kind comments in regard to our buffet breakfast quality and staff services provided.

Only through the honest feedback of our guests we are constantly able to improve the standards of our services. In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

We remain with my best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Myself and my boyfriend had booked the holiday for 2 nights 3 days as a first holiday mini break. The hotel service was fantastic considering the HUGE mistake made by ' Experience more ' who we booked through. DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY! They sent us to the wrong hotel& never ended up booking us anywhere in Budapest. However the hotel was extremely understanding and sorted us out with a room& a meal straight away. The staff were so nice and couldn't do enough for us. For a mini break i would definitely recommend, if you get the chance to go down to the spa i would!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were sorry to read that you had some inconveniences through 'Experience more' company.We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff services and spa facilites provided.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

We remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Comfortable rooms - nice people - polite and helpful
I got a very low price 40 euro per night- when i booked through a hotel booking site- while the normal price was 125 euro per night.
when i tried to extent the stay for one day- they asked me to use the same booking site to achieve the low tariff

Room Tip: reserve the room through a booking site - and you will pay 1/3 of what you will pay at the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our room comfort and staff services provided.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

We remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Me and my son recently stayed at this hotel for a week. Very convenient location, the staff is very helpful and friendly. However the housekeeping has some issues. They didn't throw our pizza boxes out for 2 days. I had to call the front desk to deal with it. They also kept forgetting to refill the coffees and tea's. But beside this everything went well. My 2 cents: don't exchange your money at the hotel and if you can, avoid the restaurant, bar and room service, including the mini bar. It is to expensive. In my opinion it is a 3-4 star hotel (north American Standard). But if you can get a good deal on your stay, it is definitely worth 60-75$ /night. I booked it for 53$ :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miklos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a valuable customer's feedback during your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs.

I deeply regret to learn that you were unsatisfied with our housekeeping services please accept my apology and rest assured that I have already followed-up with the people in charge. On the other hand we were pleased to read your kind comments regarding our staff services.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future,

We remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Helia
#73 of 334 in Budapest
1,943 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,274 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#78 of 334 in Budapest
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Property: The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing