We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #125 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My partner and I found this hotel to be excellent. It was close to all the places we wanted to see. It was with in easy walking distance to the trams and if you were energetic one could walk to the main shopping area. I has a sauna and a spa which I found excellent. The only complaint we had was the pillows were quite flat not what we are used to in Australia but we found this was the case with other European hotels as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you were happy with the saunas and the spa atmosphere.
We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the pillows.
We truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest and you will have the chance to experience our hot spring Spa again. I am sure that even a couple of hours of relaxing Spa time will be memorable for you and your travel companions again.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    509
    258
    66
    62
See reviews for
187
603
65
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in one of the Executive rooms during May 2014. These rooms are located on the first floor, with their own exclusive reception and receptionists, restaurant and lounge to relax in. The price of the room included breakfast which was served on the first floor independent of the main ground floor restaurant. As well as the breakfasts served there, there was food and drinks available all day around, including little sandwiches, some hot food, snacks etc, plenty to keep you going.

The receptionists were always very kind and helpful. When we required extra hangers or a drink from the bar, it was no problem for them.

The hotel is located in Obuda, one of the oldest part of Budapest, in the North side, the Buda side of the City. It has many charming little houses, restaurants, museums and churches as well as many sites from the ancient Roman occuption.

The Hotel is not particularly central, being opposite Margaret Island, but the there are buses that stop just opposite the hotel to go to the City centre and others that are just five minutes walk away to go to other destinations. There is also the HEV, the surface tram that you can travel on that can take you to the city or North to Szentendre, for example.

Another great advantage being located here is that it's a quiet neighbourhood. There is a little park beside it to visit and the only sounds are the church bells and birdsong which we can hear all day long.

Almost every evening we went to the Hotel's Spa to relax. There is a swimming pool and two smaller pools with spa water from the nearby Margaret Island. The thermal water helped my husband`s knee complaint to improve considerably.

We had a fun trip to the top of the Janos Hill by chairlift from the Zugliget station. A further 15 minutes walk takes you to the Erzsebet lookout tower. From here you have fabulous view of Budapest and the surrounding countryside and the mountains in the distance.
We also travelled by hydrofoil from Budapest to Esztergom for the day. Esztergom was the capital of Hungary from the 10th till the mid-13th century. Its cathedral, the Basilica is the largest church in Hungary.

During our holiday the weather was very pleasantly warm with temperatures ranging from 25-29 oC. Lovely!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppieMaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback about our Hotel and Executive Lounge posted on Tripadvisor a couple of days ago. It is great to learn that you had memorable experience of our hotel and the city itself.

We do consider ourselves fortunate to have such a great Spa and we are proud to be one of the few 5 starts hotels around the beautiful Margaret Island.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 days as it was my partners birthday, so we fancied a break away, it was reasonably priced especially for a 5 star hotel so I booked it. On the arrival to the hotel we saw that we weren't that far away from the city centre, the hotel staff were so welcoming, they helped with luggage and doors, after a late flight the help was greatly appreciated. The receptionist was amazing, told us a few things as it was late at night he must have seen how tired we were and didn't keep us long at all, we went up to the room and it was stunning, kept clean every single day, towels shower gels everything to start a holiday late evening, I didn't have to rummage through my case it was all there including the essentials for a nice coffee. Through the couple of days we were here we noticed there is a lot of public transport taking you to the city however we strolled through Margaret Island and before we knew it we were near parliament so we didn't use any transport whatsoever. Over all the hotels location, staff cleanliness, care was absolutely amazing, the minibar is reasonably priced and the bar downstairs is nice to relax in and if you finish the night there you know the rooms only a few minutes away. The room includes the jacuzzi pools gym which is gorgeous and you can have spa treatments too and on arrival to the room you receive a 15% off voucher, in reception there is a boutique shops and jewellery, if your thinking to book this place, don't think just book, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor that was amazing, superior room, the beds are huge and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grancanaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest for your recent visit to Hungary. I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experience and your general impression of our Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel services like our thermal Spa and our offers outstanding and thank you for mentioning that you received good service from our staff.
We appreciate your feedback about our shops, prices and room cleanliness.
I sincerely hope that you will grant us opportunities in the future to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stay 3 nights at the Aquincum..the rooms were comfortable, clean, and quiet. We could open up our third floor windows and see the Danube. The front desk worked very hard to make our stay a good one. They were professional and friendly. if you want to be in the heart of the action you would be better off to find something in the center city of the "Pest" side of Budapest. However, you can walk 500 meters from the hotel and pick up a train that will lead you to a very good metro station..you can be in the center city in 12 minutes.
For the best Hungarian food I've ever had have the staff give you directions to the Kehlia? (kelly) restraunt..its about 5 minutes walk from the hotel..behind the church..great food and you will leave stuffed..25 euros each. I took public transportation in from the airport..cheap and took about 1 hour but decided on a cab back to the airport...great decision..just 33 euros.
Make sure to visit the the Museum of terror..well done and worth your time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 119Dan54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.
We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We happy to read that our room met your expectations and you highlighted on the cleanliness.

Please rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of European capitals. We were there for five nights and at first it was very busy but then less so. The staff and the facilities coped with no problems and were friendly and helpful. Our room was very good and had a nice view over the hotel garden.

The public areas of the hotel were excellent and service in the bar and restaurant was very good. The spa is especially good because it has pools with different temperatures fed by the local thermal springs.

The hotel is in the north of Budapest and to get to the centre of town means a train journey from the station just across the road but trains are frequent. There is also a tram on the Arpad bridge nearby that goes to the Millennium Park and Heroes Square. Just opposite the hotel in the middle of the Danube is Margeret Island which is a popular place for walking, cycling etc We enloyed an afternoon just wandering there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Denney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations, you liked our bar and restaurant. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our spa.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We traveled the last year with a group of friends and we reserved some rooms at this Budapest hotel. It is a little bit far from the main attractions of Budapest. There is a tram across the hotel which reaches the city center. The taxi fare is about 15 euros from the hotel to the old town. The hotel looks decent, it is clean and has a sophisticated aura. But if you look more carefully you will find out that this hotel is a bit over rated. Very nice idea with the ice-machine at every floor. The swimming pool is very nice, they give you towels and bathrobes but the water was quite cold. There is always a man which tests the water. The rooms are big, clean but quite old furniture. Anyway, for 70 euro/night i guess it worth it. The breakfast costs 15 euros/ pers and it is very but very good. I think that my review will guide you a little bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teoBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel, you mentioned the ice-machines and spa and you liked our room. We highly appreciate.
We regret to read you were not satisfied with the temperature of the pools, prices, location and furnitures.

Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.
In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is high up on the North side of Buda. A bit out of the way for sightseeing but acceptable if you have a car(they charge for parking), and for getting to the top of Margaret Island, which is about a 10 minute walk. The service from the employees is average, the rooms are average, pretty much everything is average. The only reason I would recommend staying in this hotel is for the free use of the hotel spa. It is quite nice with 4 pools(?) and a hot tub, plus saunas and steam room. It is a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Otherwise there are many other nicer hotels in the same price range. Stay in Buda for relaxing and sightseeing, Pest if you want the big city with clubs and pubs,

Room Tip: My room was in the back facing a small park. It was very quiet and peaceful with a relaxing and pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityoffree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our spa area and liked our room for relaxing.
We regret to read that our other services were average, just met your expectations.
All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#62 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Property: The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing