We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #126 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an ok hotel... It is quite far outside the city, although the train is directly across the road which will bring you into the city in 10 minutes. I would recommend booking a hotel with fewer stars closer to the city

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time and leave valuable notes about your recent stay in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. It is very important for us to get both good and not so good feedbacks so we know if we are heading to the right direction.

We deeply regret to read that you were not satisfied with the location of our Hotel, which is located at a safe and calm area. But as you mentioned travelling to downtown is very easy from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked the hotel for 5 nights in July 2014, traveling for business and I received more than expected from this hotel. First, the company I work for had negotiated slightly better prices with the hotel and I was not aware at the time of booking. The staff wrote me an e-mail and announced me, so I could change the reservation. Very attentive of them, and I appreciated it.
The hotel in itself looks nice, it has a really big spa area and the room was clean an neat. But another point where my expectations were exceeded was the breakfast: huge selection of really tasty food. Worth getting up 20 minutes early!
I also appreciated the free shuttle to the business center. but be sure to book the shuttle for each day in advance, since in some time slots it gets really busy.
Location is a OK, within walking distance of Margit island and there is also public transportation to the city center. On the down side related to location, there are no general stores near the hotel, or at least I couldn't find any.
Probably 1 point that did not convince me 100% was the room cleaning service: in my 5 days stay they did not change the bed spreads at all; that i would have expected - at least every 3 days or so...
So not a full 5* hotel, but a honest enjoyable 4 1/2*
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We deeply regret to read that you were not satisfied with the Housekeeping during your stay. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying

On the other hand,we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff and the services provided. We were happy to read that our breakfast exceeded your expectations, you liked our spa and shuttle service.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Aquincum hotel in December 2013 for few nights and checked out before Christmas. It was Huge hotel situated not far from the main attractions and HEV to the centre stops next to the hotel. Very nice spa area with free access made our winter stay very pleasant. Room was big enough for two of us, bed comfy and huge. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Majkaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time and leave valuable notes about your stay in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We are glad that your overall experience was good.

We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations and you find the beds comfortable. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our Spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent hotel on the Buda side. 5 minutes away from the beautiful, especially by night, blue danube! Large rooms, ample breakfast selection and really helpful & friendly staff. Free shuttle to/from city centre. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest for your recent stay in the city. We are grateful that you took the time and left your experience on this site.

We are happy to read that your general impression of the hotel was good and you had a time to enjoy our breakfast buffet. We were pleased to read that you liked our shuttle service and had spent great nighs in the room. Thank you very much for your kind comment regarding to our staff.

We appreciate your feedback and I sincerely hope that you will return to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest sometime in the future.

Best Regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked into this hotel at short notice after an aborted stay at another hotel. However the price was significantly reduced by pre-booking on our phone in the lobby (using their free wifi!) rather than booking at the desk, which was bizarre.
This hotel is amazing value for money and more luxurious than we are used to or expected.
Free use of the thermal baths under the hotel was a great bonus and much appreciated after and day in the Budapest heat!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the facilities world class.
The hotel was very quiet despite its size and being near a road. It is a bit remote from the city centre, but transport links were good, and taxis were plentiful.
The restaurant was a little disappointing as it served weird overpriced food, but this wasn't a problem as there is an authentic Hungarian restaurant five minutes walk away.
The bed was huge and very comfortable!
The bar was useful as it served a basic menu most of the time.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room overlooking the river. Book online not at the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elephant_Biscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

First of all, let me me express my deepest apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you during the booking process.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations and you liked our spa . Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the bar.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I spent a couple of days in this hotel and the room was nice and clean. It was a good deal for the money that I paid. It is just in front of Margaret Island and 10 minutes from the downtown by train. If you enjoy jogging, you can do it in the Margaret Island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Carlos Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Let me thank you for choosing us for your recent visit in Budapest and taking the time to share your experiences about our Hotel.

We are glad that your overall experience was good. It is good to hear that you were satisfied with the area and the prices and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the cleanliness.

We hope that we will welcome you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest soon.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel situated not far from the downtown. We spent here a week. The room is good, quite big with a nice bed. Good SPA with a swimming pool, two thermal pools and jacuzzi.
The personal is extremely friendly.
It's deserve to come back here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Наталья Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appriciate the time you took to leave valuable notes about your recent stay in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

We are glad that you found the room and the bed nice and satisfying. We are happy to read that you had time to enjoy our thermal SPA as well. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our staff.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 334 in Budapest
2,191 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is located in a prime area alongside the River Danube, on the Buda side of this magnificent city and across the river from the serene Margaret Island, with its famous thermal waters. The hotel is surrounded by medieval streets, wine bars, restaurants and its own green park. With panoramic views of the Buda hills, 310 guestrooms, a lively restaurant and bar, 14 versatile meeting rooms and a 1,660m² spa, the hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere for leisure visitors and a comfortable business environment for corporate guests. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and come with free wired and wireless internet access. Aronia Wellness Centre & Spa offers relaxation in thermal pools, and a menu of unique treatments. The spa provides facilities such as an indoor pool, two thermal pools, saunas and a steam bath. Guests can also get active in the fitness room. For those wishing to dine in the hotel, the Ambrosia restaurant offers Hungarian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing