We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Ranked #126 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Spent 1 day here with my wife and 2 kids on our way to Croatia, after two day of rain there we decided to save the holiday and return to Budapest. Came back to the hotel and stayed 5 more days. We got a big clean room, on the first floor - an upgrade from the first night. My kids really enjoyed the pools and the spa area. Breakfast was delicious, friendly staff. Good location - we had our own car. Budapest is the kind of city where I feel I need to come back and spend a few more days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeorgeRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for choosing The Aquincum Hotel Budapest for your recent stay in the city. We are grateful that you took time to share your experience with us.

We are happy to hear that you and your family were satisfied with the overall of the hotel.

We are looking forward to hearing from you if you are visiting Budapest again.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very comfortable and luxorious hotel, with great spa facilities in a good location opposite Margaret Island and with free shuttles into the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff with good English and extremely comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JonGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We are glad that you enjoyed the stay in our Hotel. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to our staff. It was good to know that you had a relaxing time.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in Aquincum hotel in 18-20th August 2014. My first impression at reception desk was okay, but the first shock came as soon as we arrived to our room. Previous person was probably heavy smoker so the room really stank. But the new receptionist Antonio Lilon very quickly changed our room. So if you don't want to be unkindly surprised, make sure that you book non-smoking room.
I have to say that although the hotel is little bit old-fashioned in terms of furnishing, the stay was worth the money. Very good service, delicious breakfasts, good thermal pools and very kind staff. The only reason why I would give just four stars is, that a five star hotel shouldn't have rust in the bathroom. And maybe more modern bathrooms as well. Besides that we were very happy about our stay. At last I once have to say a little thank you to receptionist Antonio - because I can't imagine staying over night in room after heavy smoker.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, make sure you book a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences.

Firstly, let me express my deepest apology as we caused to you such a negative experience regarding to your room. But is was good to read that you were satisfied with our receptionist, Lilon Antonio, who solved the problem and made your stay enjoyable.

Besides this inconvenience, we were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our spa and breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

the workers at the aquincum hotel are very nice and polite. the spa is nice and quite. the breakfast is every day the same, but you can choose from many different things. not everything looks to be fresh, but you will sure find something for you. the room was big and clean. BUT there were a lot of dust in the whole room.

if you plan to go to the sziget festival (like we did), it's perfect! it's just one train-station away (won't walk, it's a long distance).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d2n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

I was pleased to read you spent a great holiday with us. Budapest itself is a beautiful city and the Sziget Festival gives all the visitors the ultimate fun experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed both of your stay and your visit in Budapest.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed 4 nights at this beautiful hotel.
The staff are welcoming, speak fluent English and very helpful. Particularly I'd like to mention Ester who always was interested in us, offer help and gave great advices.
The hotel "look" is of 4 stars, but offers a 5 stars service. It's a great place for a family vacation. There is a wonderful spa with 3 swimming pools: 26c, 33c and 38c. The spa also includes sauna, steen bath etc. there is also a well equipped gym.
The only downside, although minor one, is the breakfast. We found it below the standards of other 5 stars hotel we've visited. Tip: if you pay some extra for executive service (currently it's under the "summer deal") you can use a nice lounge at floor 1, and also have there your breakfast at a much nicer atmosphere.
The rooms are well cleaned every day, and have a 32" samsung HD tv. We felt we could use more storage space then what's included....
We had 2 rooms: 107 and 108. The 108 was a bit bigger, and the bed was also somewhat bigger than the one in 107. Also, the bed in 107 was softer, and we felt the 108 gave us a better sleep quality, although I believe its a personal "feel"...
Transport: 3 minutes walk from the nearest train which will take you downtown (10 min), right across the Parliament building (on the opposite side if the Danube). The hotel has a shuttle service to downtown, but you need to reserve places in advance.
Al in all, we felt it was a great value for money and would recommend the hotel for any visitor to Budapest...

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Shaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest.

It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests' needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.

First of all, let me express my deepest apology for the breakfast, which did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests.

On the other hand, we were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff - especially to our Front Desk member, Eszter - and the services provided.

It was also good to read that you liked our spa and gym. Thank you for your comments regarding to the cleanliness and the shuttle service.

In the hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future, we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I loved the staff at this hotel. They seemed to go out of their way to make things nice for us. I stayed here during Christmas and New Year’s and had a really nice time. I only gave it four stars because of the location and the lack of spa staff during the Holiday Season. Other than that, everything was really wonderful. I loved the mineral baths and the Jacuzzi, the breakfast buffet was fabulous with plenty of choices and the hotel restaurant was great as well. I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences in Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel during the Christmas and New Year's Eve time and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff.

We were happy to read that our restaurant met your expectations, and you liked our spa.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location is fantastic, the area is if not walking distance to lots of attractions in Budapest then it's 10 to 15 min by car, very good facilities in the hotel, food is very good, the indoor pools are nice and clean, there are sauna and steam rooms and massage services and a full spa. the standard room is average in size, nice a clean, the mattress though is not has firm as you want it to be in case you have back issues, if you have a car then there is a good place to park it either in front of the hotel or underneath it going by a car elevator! but both are for a charge of 15 Euros per day.

Good hospitality and fantastic free wi-fi in room and in lobby.

all in all, good hotel and good value for money. Not that fancy but will do the job if you're not after fancy.

Room Tip: Upper river view rooms are the nicest. If you smoke, "DO NOT CHOOSE" a smoking room becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 73MAD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for recently staying in The Aquincum Hotel Budapest. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to the location. We were happy to read that our rooms met your expectations. It was good to read that you were happy with our complimentary services provided, like the free wifi. Thank you for your nice comments regarding to the spa and massages.

All times we do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future,

we remain with our best regards,

Gábor Nemes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 334 in Budapest
2,191 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aquincum Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest is located in a prime area alongside the River Danube, on the Buda side of this magnificent city and across the river from the serene Margaret Island, with its famous thermal waters. The hotel is surrounded by medieval streets, wine bars, restaurants and its own green park. With panoramic views of the Buda hills, 310 guestrooms, a lively restaurant and bar, 14 versatile meeting rooms and a 1,660m² spa, the hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere for leisure visitors and a comfortable business environment for corporate guests. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and come with free wired and wireless internet access. Aronia Wellness Centre & Spa offers relaxation in thermal pools, and a menu of unique treatments. The spa provides facilities such as an indoor pool, two thermal pools, saunas and a steam bath. Guests can also get active in the fitness room. For those wishing to dine in the hotel, the Ambrosia restaurant offers Hungarian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing