We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Location,excellent service”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The breakfast was excellent with a big variety.The bed mattress was very comfortable and the bed was was king size.The room was spacious,though the bathroom not.We would expect to be provided slippers and bathrobes,as it is a 5 star hotel.The reception lobby had a wonderful Christmas atmosphere and aromatic candles.Not all rooms have a view to the castle.Very clean

Room Tip: Ask north side room to have a view to the castle 4th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotiris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,659
    960
    194
    46
    24
See reviews for
381
1,224
146
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was in Budapest in August this year where they had their heat wave. The air conditioning was very weak in my room (and in the entire hotel) that it got too hot to stay in the room after noon time. I thought because it was the record heat that air conditioning in the city could not handle the heat but after I checked into some other hotels did I realize it was just the Marriott that had the AC problem.

The hotel is located on the Danbu river with a fantastic view of the castle. It is in a great location and walkable to lots of bars and restaurants. I would try this hotel again when the weather is not so hot due to the fantastic location and views. Also, with our weak American dollar in the summer, their internet was at a ridiculous rate of almost $30 per day. If you need internet, lots of cafes around the city offers free wi-fi. Also, don't exchange too much money around this hotel as the rates are lower than in the city locations.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venicegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the hotel and it's really an excellent hotel !
The service of the hotel is the best !
The room is perfect - very pretty, clean, amazing view and comfortable bad.
The breakfast is the best in whole Europe !
The location is excellent.
I'll recommend the hotel to all of my friends and family ,
And I'm recommending the hotel to you !

Room Tip: From the Marriott's Virtual Concierge you can request that your room will be in High Floor , whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liorv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Since this was our first trip to Budapest my wife and I weren't quite sure what to expect. When visiting Europe we usually choose a smaller hotel with more charm but in this case opted for the brand hotel. We were not dissapointed. The Budapest Marriott is situated right on the banks of the Danube within walking distance to most major sites on both sides of the river. In addition there is a tram which stops in front of the hotel for added convenience. The rooms are large, clean and most have a great view of the river. At check-in we opted to upgrade for $25 per day to the executive service which gives you 24 hour access to the private lounge with a great outdoor terrace overlooking the river. The lounge also includes a breakfast buffet and afternoon snacks and free drinks including alcohol. This is a great deal and the lounge is a great place to kick back and relax after a day of sightseeing or business.

Although the hotel has several restaurants, including a pastry and cake buffet, the surrounding area is loaded with dining options of all varieties. There is a great British Pub down the street across from the Intercontinental and the pedestrian shopping area behind the hotel also has great shops and several casinos. If you are planning on visiting Budapest in the near future be sure to visit the Indoor Market, Buda Castle and the Parliment Building. We found Budapest to be clean, friendly and a great city to visit for three or four days. A stay at the Marriott will make the trip that more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Budapest for 1 night in December. As with all the other Marriott hotels i have stayed in before, this hotel meets the very high standards set by Marriott. All rooms face the river and my room was just PERFECT! Very good breakfast and only slight moan was that coffee was not served quicker. The tram stops outside and the actual entry of the hotel is to your right with your back to the hotel. you may also be able to access the hotel through the restaurant which faces the River Danube. Highly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The staff was very accommodating, starting with the check in. We arrived extremely early but they were able to take care of our baggage while we toured the city and assured us that we would have a very nice room when we returned - we were very pleased. Our view couldn't be more perfect, great picturesque view of the Danube, citadel, and the Elisabeth and Chain bridge, and Castle Hill. The location was perfect - in the center of everything you would want to see in the city - we were able to walk everywhere. There is a tram that runs along the river and there is a stop right in front of the hotel - you can purchase tickets at the gift shop for about 300 HUF per ticket. The lobby area is very clean, modern, and open - we were able to use complimentary wifi while taking a drink from the aqua lounge. There are big windows that look out onto the river in the lobby area, aqua lounge, and peppers. The woman at the front desk was beyond helpful in pointing out all the main attractions on the map and later, recommending the best restaurants for dinner which were in walking distance. A hotel can make or break a trip and for us, this hotel experience could not have been better. To end, the breakfast in peppers is better than any I've ever had at a hotel. Everything is fresh and they have a huge variety to choose from. Fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, omelet, pancakes, deli meats, pastries, anything you could imagine wanting they had and more. You can also order breakfast to your room or you can pick a time to come down for breakfast and it will be ready and waiting for you, the card just needs to be filled out before 2am and hung on the door. Maid service hand delivered dark chocolates to our room with a card thanking us for coming. The beds were Marriott standard, very comfortable, pressed, and clean. The bathrooms fully equipped with shampoo, etc and hairdryer. I recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone coming to visit Budapest.

Big tip for travelers - if you don't have HUFs when you arrive at the train station, only exchange a few euros there because the rate is horrendous! We exchanged at a rate of 245 HUfs instead of an average of 300-305 for each euro which you can find in multiple locations around the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Danube view on the third floor or higher away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gligac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sula
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night at New Year's Eve. Even excusing some of the short comings of the service with the madness of the night I think they could have tried harder.

The tapas and champagne bar was fine the selection was maintained till the last minute even extended beyond the advertised closing time but I found it odd that there was no hostess to get people seated. Facing the decision of paying 30 Euros per head for a dinner buffet that will be closed before we found a table or eat standing at the piano we did the latter. Someone did hunt down a table for us but only after we had our dinner standing.

At breakfast again we found the chaos of the night before, no one payed any attention to whole families wondering around looking for a table. People were staking out tables full of dirty dishes waiting to find out if its occupants were to return or not then trying to flag down a waiter to get it cleaned off.

There are no ice machines on the floors but theoretically you can request complimentary ice service by phone. The person answering the phone was very courteous but they never actually got around to bring ice to the room.

The common areas offer free wifi but in the rooms you have to pay for the internet and the music selection on offer is on a fee structure I would find silly to pay. You have to pay 3,50 Euros for each album separately and even that only buys you 24 hours of use. For a longer stay these thousand little cuts would really add up.

Our room was on a high floor and had a river view just as requested, although on a small side it was immaculate and the bed was comfy. The heating/cooling unit was quite and the curtains did completely darken the room.

Originally we had it in mind to extend our stay but ended up nixing the idea. All in all it wasn't a bad experience but all the little things did not add up to feeling taken care of. If you stay there go at a quite time in the season and arrange everything well in advance. No one is going the extra mile here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sula22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,303 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing