We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proves 'not to judge a book by its cover'!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
394 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Proves 'not to judge a book by its cover'!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'd seen the Marriot on previous visits to Buadapest and thought... no! don't like the look of that exterior... well.. BIG mistake.. we got to stay here with Viking River Cruises and we had a first class stay from start to finish! It might look dated on the outside but on the inside it's excellent.. newly refurbished this year.

We were in room 435 which gave us wonderful views over the Danube. Large, light room, added bonus you could open the window.. Large, very comfortable bed... we slept very well. As the hotel was so newly refurbished everything was in immaculate condition.

Air con was efficent.. it was 30 degrees plus outside so a cool room was very welcome! We had the window open first thing and at sunset which was comfortable.

There was a fridge, mini bar, very big safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and beverage tray in the room. Personal taste but we didn't like the coffee.

Good sized bathroom. Towels medium quality but fine.. not overly large the bath towel. The bath had been replaced by a very large shower.. it was fine but not having a bath would stop me returning if I was in the city for more than a couple of days. Nice toiletries.

Buffet breakfast was superb! so much choice - assorted breads/pastries/hams/cheeses/omelettes - eggs cooked to order/ fruit juices/cereals/fresh fruit... hot bar of assorted breakfast items... it was impossible to resist.. we had huge breakfasts during our stay!!

We also had the afternoon coffee/tea/glass of sparkling wine and pastries/cakes in the foyer and enjoyed every bite! the choice was excellent and quality first class - our waitress was lovely.

The hotels location is one of the best you can get.... you can walk to everything from it easily and nothing is too far away. About a 15 min walk to the Parliament, 25 mins up to the Fisherman's Bastion and 8 mins to the wonderful covered fruit and vegetable market.

Our friends ate in the Peppers restaurant both evenings and said it was excellent in choice, quality and service.

Highly recommend the Marriot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am most pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay recently!
Thank you for your comments and photos and rest assured I will be sure to share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you once again,

Kindest regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    935
    185
    45
    22
See reviews for
364
1,179
141
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We came off of a Viking Danube cruise and added Budapest for a couple of extra days before heading home tomorrow. The Marriott here seems like any other Marriott but a bit more sophisticated with a big lounge and restaurant area. The checking in was quite easy but note that if you book with a third-party, like Viking or AAA, you will not accumulate Marriott member credits. That did not make any difference since this was so nice after the cruise and it is located in a choice spot next to the Danube and the entertainment/downtown district.

Walks were plentiful and one can wander for miles but you should make sure to note landmarks as to make the return easier. Our maps were handy, GPS/Cell phone useless with out wifi or phone service, and the locals were always a big help. This is one beautiful city and our walks took place any time during the day and with the weekend, there are lots of city people about.

The buffet in Peppers was excellent and huge. We will try their dinner tonight. Service has been excellent from the front desk, Viking staff in the lobby, the Business Center for an electrical converter, and the most friendly lady in the Gift Shop.

If I ever come back to Budapest, I would consider this Marriott at the top of my list.

Room Tip: We were assigned rooms on floor 2 and the views were actually quite good. Better than all 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papa, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Pros:
-The room is clean and very comfortable. Not a typical European hotel where the bed is small.
- Staff are friendly.
- Great location and easy to find since driving to Budapest is a nightmare.

Cons:
- Parking is not free

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamko_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
509 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the rear, the Marriott Budapest Hotel looks like a nine-story concrete bunker. But there is method to this architectural blight: every room faces the river and has a spectacular view over the Danube to the castled heights of Buda. The location is perfect, right down from the Chain Bridge and within easy walking distance to the Pest shopping district. The hotel is a Marriott, so no thrills, but no surprises. The standard room was comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurant was fine. The service was excellent. The hotel is rated 4-star and that seems about right. Think of it as a business (or river cruise ship) hotel with a view. But what a view!

Room Tip: Spend the extra bucks and get a room on the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I am most pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay recently!
Thank you for your comments and rest assured I will be sure to share with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you once again,

Kindest regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good hotel right on the Danube River. Perfect location for walking to everything around and no need for a car.

Arrived after midnight and the front desk agent was so pleasant. Very knowledgeable, spoke perfect English and made several suggestions for things to go see the next day.

Room was small, but adequate. Comfortable bed, room temperate controls worked great, sitting area and all the needed amenities...like an ironing board! So hard to come by in European hotels. Euro bathroom without the shower curtain, just the half glass wall that takes some getting used to.

By far, the best part of this hotel is the club lounge at the top of the hotel. Spacious, great food, awesome staff and a wrap-around outside deck that has the best view in Budapest. I could have stayed there all day just taking in the scenery.

A perfect stay in this great city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

As far as Marriott go its neither the best or the worse, but what a view! If you get a river side room you open your window to the danube and the castle in front of you bed: breathtaking! The exec lounge is even better with a balcony that is just the best view in Budapest.
Regarding the other items, the staff was helpful, rooms were clean and modern (but no slippers in mine) and the bed was great. Restaurant is fine but service was a little slow.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdifelici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I added an extension in Budapest after our Viking River Cruise. We found the hotel to be very clean with comfortable rooms, a nice and friendly staff and a nice breakfast included at their restaurant named "Pepper". They had a nice bagged breakfast ready for us when we had an early checkout. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of good restaurants, sights and shops.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to a Jr. Suite on the corner of the hotel. We were tired after the 15 day cruis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekeller115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
240 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Marriott, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing