We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for River Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good Choice for River Views”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

You will have to think beyond first impressions when you arrive at the Budapest Marriott. It is a nondescript building with minimal character. Step inside and the place is much more appealing with nice lobby seating areas and restaurant area.
All rooms have a view of the Danube and this is the primary reason you would want to stay there. Lighting on the bridges at night make it magical. Additionally we found the hotel quite convenient for walking excursions into both sides of the city. Rooms are small but typical for hotels in Europe and beds were comfortable. The dual glazed windows keep the noise out which is important given its location.
Breakfast is a bountiful buffet and weekend packages tend to include it in the room rate.
Free WifI in public areas.
Would stay here again,,,other choices for a similar price but this location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is truly appreciated.

Our central location is perfect for either our many leisure guests who may be here in Budapest to enjoy the sights and shopping along Váci Street, or the seasoned business traveler.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    960
    194
    46
    24
See reviews for
381
1,223
146
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Budapest for tourists is a walking town and this hotel is ideally located for walking everywhere or catching a tram, a bus, or a boat. The communist era hotel is updated on the inside and the staff is professional and friendly. You are paying for the location as much as the accommodations and we got our money's worth.

Room Tip: Some weekend nights in the summer, the "bar boats" are quite loud in the early AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am delighted to hear that Budapest Marriott Hotel was the right choice for your trip to Budapest!

As you mention, our location places us perfectly for those who are her to sight see, shop or just relax while in the busy city.

It is always so wonderful to hear that our associates play such an integral role in ensuring our guests are made to feel comfortable and ultimately enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you again for your very kind comments and rest assured your feedback has been taken on board.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future,

Until then, kindest regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our hotel was chosen by the river cruise company and would not be our first choice otherwise. The hotel itself was pretty good. Typical, nothing unique. Good size room, clean, very good buffet breakfast. The location was less than desirable. Besides being quite a distance from the center and main attractions it's not the best of the neighborhood. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!

I am delighted to read your positive comments however it is regrettable that your visit with us did not fulfil all your expectations.
Should your travels bring you back to Budapest, I do hope that you reconsider visiting us again.

Best regards,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect as it is right on the banks of the Danube with a magnificent view of Buda. The bed was very comfortable. The AC was not bad but not great. During a heat wave we could not cool the room down enough to be comfortable. Breakfast was excellent although the service lacked somewhat. We asked for coffee three times before somebody finally brought some and filled our cups half full. No idea why that was. Wifi in the lobby only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review with regards to your recent stay with us.

Ensuring that all of our guests have a most enjoyable stay is in all of our interest and I again thank you for bringing your comments to my attention.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked it with breakfast which was great value. - fresh fruit, lots of choices and superb coffee. No ice machine (yes, we are Americans and use a lot of ice), but the room service delivers fast. Bed was very comfortable, and we liked the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Corner of the fouth floor was very quet and had magnificent view of the Danube and the castle on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serbchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review with regards to your recent stay with us.

Ensuring that all of our guests have a most enjoyable stay is in all of our interest and I again thank you for bringing your comments to my attention.

Kind regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just finished our wonderful 2 night stay at this great hotel. The hotel is located on the Pest side of the city and sits right on the Duna. All rooms have an incredible view of the the river and Buda. Our room was on the 6th floor and had one of the most spectacular views I've ever had from a hotel. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The staff was courteous and very friendly and the concierge room offered some great Hungarian dishes, appetizers and a great breakfast. The concierge was located on the same 6th floor as were we, and had an outdoor terrace that offered magical views of the Budapest both during the day but especially at night when the city is all lit up and spectacular. If you ever have the good fortune of spending some I time in Budapest, the Marriott is the ONLY place to stay,,

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Othoandnero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wow! This has been one of the best stays I have had a Marriott for a while. I was impressed from the moment I arrived.

They allowed me an early check-in (11am) but as the computer system was down they could not check me in, but provided me a key so I could wait in the club lounge. The club lounge is large and one of the better stocked and located lounges. It is open on weekends and kept open all day. It was a great place to come and have a drink in the evening and the views and outdoor area were very, very relaxing afternoon and evening. Breakfast was also very good with a great variety - highly recommend the lounge.

Within an hour or so they had the key to my room - and it had a great view over the Danube. The king bed was one mattress unlike the other hotels in Budapest that had two twins together. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities and English outlet available so my English adaptor worked just fine.

The window in the room opened which was nice for fresh air.

Security is great as your key is needed to access the floors. The in-room safe was operated with a credit card which meant you could not keep it in the safe (minor irritation).

My room 744 was at the end of the corridor so no passing traffic as only one more room to the end of the corridor - great for getting in my steps! It had a connecting door to room 745, and apart from hearing my neighbour sneeze a couple of times no issue with noise from the other room.

Bathroom had separate shampoo and conditioner, but none of the usual amenities like q-tips - minor irritation. The shower was a large walk in shower, but the operation for the shower was a bit funky - never quite got the hang of it. Hair dryer was in the closet. There was also a close up mirror which I always like in a hotel.

WiFi was great - and was freely available in both the lounge and my room.

Did not try room service, but the food in the lounge was always great.

But the location - in the middle of everything and everything was walkable as well as the stops for the hop on/hop off buses and ferries.

Check-out was smooth and there was a taxi waiting to take me to the airport.

Would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 744 had a great view and was the second to last at the end of the corridor with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,301 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing