We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my first visit to Budapest. I am a loyal Marriott Rewards Club member so I booked my hotel through the Member Services program.The hotel was centrally located with great views of the Danube and the Pest side of the city. My hotel room was ready by 10:30 am when I arrived.
The room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately, I could not cool the room very well.I later learned that rooms only cool to ten degrees below outside temperatures.I was able to use the Executive Lounge which had a nice evening and morning buffet. My second complaint is the unfriendly staff I found throughout the hotel. It was as if they were doing me a favor by allowing me to stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 3,178 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here in 18 months. The rooms were recently refurbished and have new carpet. The Danube rooms have beautiful views of the city and are wonderful. Reception was nice and fast and the lobby was busy but did not feel overcrowded. Really comfortable bed and clean bathrooms with modern fixtures and great water pressure. But, it's views that wow on top, making this an excellent hotel that has a great location, very affordable, good service and is comfortable and therefore, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here, at the Marriott on the Danube, after a Viking River Cruise. The hotel offered a gracious two night stay for us. Each room has a river view and our view from the second floor was spectacular. The view in the morning just at dawn is amazing. The lights of the city illuminate the buildings as the sun shines on them. The bedding was Marriott quality with ample pillows and a comfortable mattress which guaranteed a satisfying night of sleep. The hotel was clean and offered a generous complimentary breakfast with a great array of choices. It was within walking distance of some very nice restaurant choices as well as to the major attractions of the city. We had to leave the hotel very early in the morning on the day of our departure. Since it was before the breakfast area was opened, the hotel presented us with a bag breakfast that could have fed two people easily. That and the fresh pot of coffee brewing in the lobby allowed us to get on our way with smiles on our faces. A very nice end to our wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a delightful view of the river and the hills of the Buda side of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suzq720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Never made decision based on the outlook!!! From the outside hotel looks like an old soviet jail, but it's completely redone on the inside. All rooms are overlooking the river, generous size suits, very very good executive lounge, breakfast and cocktails in the evening! But most important - stuff. You feel a lot like you're at home and those guys are really care about you having time of your life. Yes, I'm Russian and yes, I drink a lot,.. so I left my phone in the taxi... not only reception people helped me to locate the phone NEXT morning when I was still embarrased from the situation - it was safely delivered back to my room with no extra charges and no question asked - just like very good friend would do. Thank you very much once again! Hope to be back very soon )

Room Tip: all rooms are good, go for the executive floor room with lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FedyaInMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We chose the Marriott because of our Gold Elite status and the location along the Danube. We were upgraded to the Executive Floor and we were not disappointed. The staff was wonderfully nice. We had a little problem with the air-conditioning and Atilla the manager was very understanding and gave us a partial credit on our last night charge. We stayed 3 nights prior to a Danube River cruise. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fingers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice room, 7th floor, Danube view but standard chain hotel room. Very little in way of toiletries and the showel gel not replenished. Shower leaked like billy-o and the toilet pan could have done with a good bleaching/scrubbing. Breakfast very good. Paid wifi, very expensive. Our River cruise company put us in here without consultation, we were supposed to be in Le Meridien which judging by reviews, would have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandraK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review here on TripAdvisor, your comments are sincerely appreciated.

I am delighted to read your positive comments however it is regrettable that your visit with us did not fulfil all your expectations.
Should your travels bring you back to Budapest, I do hope that you reconsider visiting us again.

Best regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Budapest Marriott, which is right on the banks of the Danube.
The hallways were very warm and the public places were warm but our room and restaurants had a/c on.
Our room was very nice and clean, great bathroom. We had a room facing the river which had great views across the river to Buda.
Right behind the hotel was a busy shopping street.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river, great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierratraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
4,438 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#29 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £123 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing