We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view BUT.....!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view BUT.....!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I'm not going to regale you with endless tales on how unprofessional this hotel is. The ONLY reason to stay here is the view. The rooms are really not nice the carpets feel dirty underfoot and most of all some of the staff (which is really unusual for Budapest!) don't care. Some reception staff were friendly and helpful but it was very hit and miss. The rooms are generally quite small. You should be aware that if you book a room with a king size bed you only get a shower. You get a bath in your bathroom if you would like 2 queen size beds. You have to upgrade to an even higher category to get a room with a double bed AND bath. The food is ok but just not that good. So I recommend you don't bother and eat out in the 5th District instead. There are plenty of decent restaurants and I'll be putting a recommendation in shortly for one of them. Btw the Kempinski Hotel round the corner but with no river view. Is cheaper and much nicer,they have a most amazing breakfast, much better value. The staff at the Kempinski know how to look after their clients. I have plenty more terrible story to impart but I won't bore you with them. Suffice it to say. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room as they're all pretty poor value. Nasty dirty carpets. If you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your observation with regards to your recent stay in our hotel.
I am sorry that the experience you have had during your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. I will try to get in touch with you directly to be able to further discuss your concerns and findings.

We do take your concerns into consideration and try to benefit from them to be better and meet your future needs and expectations.

Thank you and Best Regards,

Best wishes,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,574
    923
    184
    45
    22
See reviews for
359
1,165
137
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent just one night before a river cruise and were treated wonderfully and had a fabulous time. Located right on the Danube River with a direct view of the Royal Palace, Chain Bridge and Castle Hill. Five minute walk to the Metro which is in the charming and lively Vorosmarty Square - plan to spend time strolling the square. Concierge was wonderfully helpful and her suggestions maximized our enjoyment of our too brief stay. Restaurants and lobby cafe which served a lovely tea all day all overlook the river - the night lights are spectacular. The staff is incredibly friendly, warm and accommodating. Recently renovated. I recommend highly.

Room Tip: Request high floor with view of Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our 1st visit to Budapest led us to this marriott it was wonderful in every way. The location could not be better rooms overlooking the Danube walking distance from many fine restaurants and attractions that awe a must.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjyoung49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great hotel! The service, accommodations, location, breakfasts, all were excellent! I really can't say enough. The rooms all overlook the Danube with fantastic views of the Buda side. At night the buildings and bridges are lit up and the view is breath-taking. There were 5 of us traveling together and everyone of us was more than satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have great views of The Danube but the rooms in the center wing might have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to commencing a Scenic river cruise. We were in a basic room but it still had two double queen beds which were very comfortable. We had a view of the Danube with its busy river traffic, but no balcony. The buffet breakfast was lovely and set you up for the day. The Marriott is in an excellent position for sightseeing. We even walked to the other side of the river to the Fisherman's Bastion from there. The promenade was easy to get to as it is in front of the hotel. The hotel was also handy for walking into the city proper to see the sights. We caught the Budapest Metro to get to the Marriott and found the directions on the hotel site, helpful. We took the Metro to the Deak-ter station and then walked about half a kilometre to the hotel. A nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

In the past, I have always loved the Marriott in Budapest but this trip was a disappointment. The hotel was supposed to put us on the club level floor and didn't so to make up for that, they gave us a room on the 2nd floor over looking the Danube. I believe that it was a Jr Suite. It was a lovely room but we could not get it cool enough. AT one point, it was 87F in our room. We called a couple of times and finally got someone up to look at the a/c. I don't think that the filter had ever been changed. It was awful! They took it away and came back with it clen. However, it still wouldn't cool down enough but was better. The room was clean and the view was wonderful. The hotel has a very nice breakfast. Had room service and it was also very good and hot also. Will try this property again but hope it is better next time. It is in an excellent location.

Room Tip: The views of the Danube are well worth the price. The higher the better, though to eliminate noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia29455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay. We got an amazing deal to stay here. Stayed for 7 nights and although the staff's level of English was bad we enjoyed our stay. The location is amazing. Close to all public transportation. The only downside is the square next to the hotel that gets full of not so friendly people. All in all? Very good place! Amazing rooms and beds!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nockeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Rcik Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#12 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing