We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Ranked #33 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple days before our Viking river cruise. The hotel is only a couple minutes walk away from the main pedestrian area of Pest. If you're staying here, try to get a room with a river view - it really is pretty amazing. The hotel has a very nice outdoor seating area right on the river front that is a great place to sit in the evening and watch the boats go by. Be sure to be out there around 9pm when they light up the "Chain Bridge" - WOW, what an impressive site.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gsyk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,659
    960
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
381
1,224
146
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Used by a lot of pre-cruisers (Viking table in the lobby regularly) but a beautiful spot on the Danube with every room facing the river. View of the Palace, Chain Bridge and Castle Hill. The Club Lounge and deck is fantastic with 180 degree views, plus. The service in the club was terrific and they quickly turned over tables for new guests. Plenty of choices for breakfast and snacks.

The club level room was spacious and though we blew a circuit ironing and blow drying, they quickly came up to reset the breaker. The windows span the room's width and even though we didn't have a balcony, we felt like we couldn't be closer to the river. Even the spacious gym has a view of the Palace!

Good wifi

Walked to dinners, to see the Danube Symphony Orchestra and shopping just a block away.
Convenient, spectacular views, quiet, safe and great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metravel818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We are fussy travellers, I must admit, and we expect value for money, and this hotel did not disappoint. We stayed over after a river cruise, so we were used to good service and comfortable rooms, from the start this is what we received at the Marriott. The position is wonderful, with fabulous views of the river and esplanade -we just sat at our window for ages and took it all in!
Just a short walk takes you to the shops, and market, and river, it is in the best position. Unfortunately I became sick at 4:30 on the morning of our departure, my husband rang reception and they organised a doctors to come straight away. The doctor gave me some scripts to fill and I panicked as we were departing in a short time. The beautiful receptionist told us to go and have breakfast and she organised a taxi to take the scripts to a 24 hr chemist and bring the medication back before we left. The staff go above and beyond our expectations and were very kind as well as efficient. We would not hesitate to. Recommend the Marriott, just wish it wasn't so far away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarebearVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I'm not going to regale you with endless tales on how unprofessional this hotel is. The ONLY reason to stay here is the view. The rooms are really not nice the carpets feel dirty underfoot and most of all some of the staff (which is really unusual for Budapest!) don't care. Some reception staff were friendly and helpful but it was very hit and miss. The rooms are generally quite small. You should be aware that if you book a room with a king size bed you only get a shower. You get a bath in your bathroom if you would like 2 queen size beds. You have to upgrade to an even higher category to get a room with a double bed AND bath. The food is ok but just not that good. So I recommend you don't bother and eat out in the 5th District instead. There are plenty of decent restaurants and I'll be putting a recommendation in shortly for one of them. Btw the Kempinski Hotel round the corner but with no river view. Is cheaper and much nicer,they have a most amazing breakfast, much better value. The staff at the Kempinski know how to look after their clients. I have plenty more terrible story to impart but I won't bore you with them. Suffice it to say. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room as they're all pretty poor value. Nasty dirty carpets. If you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your observation with regards to your recent stay in our hotel.
I am sorry that the experience you have had during your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. I will try to get in touch with you directly to be able to further discuss your concerns and findings.

We do take your concerns into consideration and try to benefit from them to be better and meet your future needs and expectations.

Thank you and Best Regards,

Best wishes,
Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent just one night before a river cruise and were treated wonderfully and had a fabulous time. Located right on the Danube River with a direct view of the Royal Palace, Chain Bridge and Castle Hill. Five minute walk to the Metro which is in the charming and lively Vorosmarty Square - plan to spend time strolling the square. Concierge was wonderfully helpful and her suggestions maximized our enjoyment of our too brief stay. Restaurants and lobby cafe which served a lovely tea all day all overlook the river - the night lights are spectacular. The staff is incredibly friendly, warm and accommodating. Recently renovated. I recommend highly.

Room Tip: Request high floor with view of Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our 1st visit to Budapest led us to this marriott it was wonderful in every way. The location could not be better rooms overlooking the Danube walking distance from many fine restaurants and attractions that awe a must.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjyoung49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to place a review, it is most appreciated.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back to Budapest again in the future, I do hope you elect to stay with us again at Budapest Marriott Hotel.

With warm regards,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great hotel! The service, accommodations, location, breakfasts, all were excellent! I really can't say enough. The rooms all overlook the Danube with fantastic views of the Buda side. At night the buildings and bridges are lit up and the view is breath-taking. There were 5 of us traveling together and everyone of us was more than satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have great views of The Danube but the rooms in the center wing might have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, General Manager at Budapest Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure having you here as our guest, and that you selected Budapest Marriott Hotel for your accommodation during your stay in Budapest.

I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Rick Enders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
3,307 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
302 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Marriott Hotel

Property: Budapest Marriott Hotel
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 4, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#20 Family Hotel in Budapest
#25 Business Hotel in Budapest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Budapest Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Marriott Hotel is the only hotel in Budapest offering a magnificent Danube panorama from all of its 364 newly refurbished rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance of shopping, business and entertainment areas. Offering an extraordinary blend of comfort and convenience, sophisticated guest rooms and suites have been smartly designed with work areas, high-speed Internet and thoughtful appointments...All graced by soothing river views. We offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Budapest Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Budapest
Budapest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing