We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #81 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Wehl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The location of the hotel is great, near the famous Chain Bridge on the Buda side of the city. Many of the city attractions are within easy reach like Buda Castle, the Chain Bridge itself and the Fishermen's Bastion. The hotel is located in a steep cobbled street, making it hard for taxis to come close (some try going down backwards). Otherwise the room was adequate, mine was at level -1 (a garden room, meaning you could go out to a little terrace outside the room). Cleaning the room was done promptly and the lady doing so even came back later to restock the minibar, as I was stopping in for a quick fresh up in between city visits.

The breakfast was good, with a good selection to choose from in both hot and cold dishes. There was plenty of staff cleaning and replacing dishes. There were different selections on several days. Unfortunately the hotel does not offer evening meals, something one might expect from a four star hotel. Furthermore the hotel was adequate, not offering anything special. The staff was helpful and obliging. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed76Wehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    654
    202
    51
    19
See reviews for
197
543
84
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Ideal location on the Buda side of the Danube. Very near Chain Link bridge so easy to go between Buda and Pest. Hotel at bottom of the hill up to the Buda castle/palace so location very good. Everything in walking distance in Budapest but trams and metro very easy to follow and we did not understand one word of the language. Hotel near to tram and bus stops. Rooms comfortable. Just shower cubicle in our bedroom, no bath and the bathroom on a whole was quite small but serviceable. We just wanted a base for our stay. Bed was very comfortable! Lighting in room not good though - quite dark but we only slept in the room. Breakfast was buffet style - only hot food was scrambled eggs and frankfurter style sausages every day, but there was fruit, yogurt, bread, meats, cheeses, toaster, pastries, tea and coffee so okay but not your full English! Staff all spoke English and were helpful. You can buy your Buda card at the hotel but suggest you have one day getting your bearings before buying the card which we did not use on the first day for travel, but it does get you discounts on some of the tourist attractions and restaurants so worth reading up on that before deciding on which day to buy it. Just 5 minute walk from the Danube and the Chain link bridge. Hotel only serves breakfast - no lunch or dinner but right outside the hotel is a cafe serving hot food and beer and just down the steps is a fantastic little Belgian restaurant with great food and Belgian fruit beers - a must visit restaurant and the prices were very very good!

Room Tip: Our room over-looked a courtyard, the front of the hote overlooks a small alley. No real views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArashAshkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed at the Carlton Hotel Budapest,early October. Found the location suited us very well,close to The Chain Bridge and public transport. We had the triple room which was nice and clean bed linen etc. Breakfast had good choice for the money we paid,tables cleared straight away,staff very pleasant. Nice little cafe just outside,to relax after busy day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittychris94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel, Budapest earlier in September and were pleased with our choice. The hotel is situated in a great location, right near to the Chain Bridge on the Buda side of Budapest. The reception staff were pleasant enough. The room was clean, we had a triple room which was situated on the top floor and had a great view of the Parliament building.

I'd definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Clean triple room, just enough space. Very good breakfast. I used the garage, very convenient. Location: excellent; less than five minutes to Charles Bridge and to the cablecar for Buda Castle. Around 15 minutes walking to Vaci Utca street. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fulmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

On a steep, narrow and cobbled street in the city's castle district, the hotel boasts a charming and quiet location. Inside it has a gentle air, perhaps in keeping with its rather small size. The rooms were spotless and well maintained, staff friendly and breakfast decent. My only gripe was the location of the shower head in the bathroom, which was too low for me, and I'm not a tall man. Anyway, would be happy to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatttheOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We visited Budapest in May this year and stayed in Carlton. This is located in the Buda side just below the castle district which is the main attraction in the city. The funicular is just 500 yards away. The danube is just a short walk away.
Apart from the excellent location, the rooms were nice, and the front office very helpful in guiding us to cover the best sites within our limited stay of two days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dealoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#55 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#70 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing