We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #81 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    655
    202
    51
    19
See reviews for
197
543
84
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel,basic room ,little wardrobe space,reception staff unhelpful rude.Breakfast same old scramble eggs and toast ,tissue box on wall kept falling off,water pressure for shower very poor,no proper coffee in bedroom.Budapest amazing hotel location excellent however not friendly for the elderly as on a hill and steps to the hotel

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hump62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lacking a Tripadvisor 'Good' button I had to rate this hotel as average. It is more than that. It is a good hotel sited in an ideal position in this lovely city. The hotel is on the Buda side of the river at the foot of the castle hill, well located for the 16/105 bus service and the funicular. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our standard room was perfectly adequate and comfortable for our week's stay and had everything that we needed. A faulty light was replaced immediately. Breakfast was buffet style and the variety of food on offer was excellent. We really could not fault this hotel; it gave us all that we needed at an extremely modest price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajka, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed in Carlton Budapest during Easter weekend.Hotel is situated in absolutely centre 200m from Széchényi Chain Bridge in quiet street. Parking is possible 20 m from hotel.Check-in was quick. Front office desk officer was polite, gave us information about stayin in hotel.
Room 214 was nice and well equiped with a/c , led tv, coffe, tea and room bar with snack and drinks/ coca cola, fanta, sprite, vine , beer ,champagne,juice/. Hotel provide many various services including concierge services for example buying tickets to opera /.Staying was very good, room was clean and niece with comfort double bed.Bathroom was alsom new, modern with clean towels, hairdryer,shampoo, body lotion, shaving kit, large mirror with backlights.Water preassuer was excelent. Breakfast with various meals and drinks was yummy. During stay we were absolutely satisfied and we are looking forward to next stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 214 is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huittinen, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

- very basic rooms
- very loud airconditioning, it was better to keep window open
- breakfast did not match my understanding about 4 stars
- unfriendly staff
- hot water pressure on 4th floor was really weak
- small and thin blankets

+ good location
+ calm

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sannapauliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Situated on the quieter Buda side at the castle district, only 5 minutes from chain bridge. The hotel is clean rooms are comfortable, bathroom modern. The breakfast is very filling staff polite. Could not fault this hotel, stayed march 24th till march 28th, good value hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the rear of hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely hotel, very centrally placed. Bedrooms small, but very clean with well appointed bathroin places oms (toothbrush and paste, and razor provided in case you have forgotten them, also sewing kit and shoe horn). Tea tray provided. However, the tea was Earl Grey and the coffee was powdered cappuccino, not everyone's choice, but full marks for trying. Staff charming and helpful. Breakfast was the usual hot and cold and continental, with plenty of choice. Our only gripe was that the couple in the next room had two dogs which they took into the breakfast room. Budapest was a beautiful city, however two things which may be useful. Plastic cards are not accepted in some restaurants and shops, so check they accept cards before consuming food! Secondly. Pickpockets are rife. Our friends were targeted twice in 36 hours. Once in daylight and once at night, fortunately to no avail. Such a shame, but it can happen in any city. A 'must do' experience is the 'Hospital in the Rock'. A very moving and humbling experience. Senior citizens are often given discount on tickets at certain attractions without proof - just ask. But beware, some trips etc, do not open until the beginning of April. A really lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms. We were in 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphrodite38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#50 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#70 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing