We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caterina Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caterina Hostel
Ranked #194 of 657 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Fantastic Hostel right in the downtown , our room was very spacious with modern ensuite , staff were exceptionally nice & very helpful , its close to everything you want , bars , restaurants & the metro is just 2 mins away , we would strongly recommend Caterina Hostel

Room Tip: Very Central at Okotgon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
6
27
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

do yourself a favour and don't stay here... there is 6 flights of stairs to hike up to get to the front door and then there is 3 doors to get into your rooms. the tv didn't work in our room and the management weren't concerned to fix it. you can't adjust the heater in the room since they took the knob off the control, they call the hallway the 'common room' the breakfast is full of sugar and not very fresh, one of the staff members was like a hall monitor especially if you didn't close one of the doors.... not good

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitcellsous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

If your are looking for a cheap place and a typical hostel, that's the one!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanFilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

The location was great, 5 mins walk to Octagon metro station. I had been warned about the 4 flights of stairs so that didn't bother me.
The beds were very uncomfortable, the top bunks only had a thin foam mattress a few inches high so the wooden slats dug into my back all night. Once someone checked out the next day I swapped to a lower bunk which had 2 foam mattresses on top of each other so was slightly more comfortable. There are no lockers like advertised although I had nothing stolen, I felt misled. The free breakfast is just 3 slices of bread with cheese spread, jam and coffee. I guess it was free but I've had much better free breakfasts in other hostels before.
You also had to pay for luggage storage, again this isn't advertised, it's only 200Ft (less than 1 EURO) but still it's the principle of charging that annoyed me.
Although I loved Budapest and hope to return one day I think I will try staying at another hostel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable beds and no lockers!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nanceyj_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

Centrally located near Octogon Metro station, inbetween Hero's Square and Buda Castle. Reasonably priced. With full service laundry at a most afordable rate. Clean rooms, the triple came with a TV with cable! Pity the 4 storey climb which was terrible if you are not use to it. Breakfast is decent, if fixed amount. delightful kitchen. Friendly service. Rooms open up to the common area, so privacy is compromised, depending on how you see it. Internet access is free. but there is only one terminal.

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Disliked — Staircase
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesome3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

We booked 3 beds in an 8 bed dorm.

Caterina Hostel is on one of the main commercial streets of central Pest, but it's on the 4th floor and opens into the courtyard, and is very, very quiet.

It's beautifully and modernly furnished, so it felt like we had been invited to have a sleepover at a friend's place. The "free breakfast" is just toast and coffee, but that's ok, seeing as there is nowhere to really sit and eat.

As a small hostel without a central hangout area, you'd expect it to be antisocial, but I found that we ended up meeting more people just because we all shared the same small space.

  • Liked — The quiet rooms
  • Disliked — 4 flights of stairs to get there!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank P0ssible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#121 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Medosz Hotel
#77 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Cotton House
Cotton House
#139 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Terézváros
No photo provided
Terézváros
Home Made Hostel
Home Made Hostel
#85 of 657 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caterina Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caterina Hostel

Property: Caterina Hostel
Address: Terez koerut 30/III/28 | Ring Code 48, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 657 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Caterina Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caterina Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing