We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain but cheap”
Review of Caterina Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caterina Hostel
Ranked #175 of 657 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Plain but cheap”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in apartment, which is on different (but better) address - at Liszt Ferenc square, about 300 m far from hostel. Everything is in walking distance, you don't have to buy any tickets. Disadvantage is a noise from square.
Roomy bedroom, decent bathroom and supersmall kitchen - it wasn't an issue, since we were doing just tea, but we expected something better. Just don't believe their pictures on Hostels.com and you will be satisfied:-)

The staff was also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jindřich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
6
27
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I chose this hostel in my trip to Budapest and it was better than I expected it to be. Considering the price it's worth it.
The room I was given was quite good. I shared the living room and the bathroom with another room with more people, but it was not a problem.
The location was quite far from the city center, but if you don't want to pay much money it could be a good choice.

The biggest problem for me is that to get into the room I had to go 4 floors upstairs. Taking an elevator into consideration could improve it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayzelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Paid about 12/USD for 1 night in a private two bedroom room with my friend. My sheets had blood stains, and the bottom of the mattress had a brown spot that looked like It might be mold. The shower curtain was covered in the same brownish/black mold like substance as the bed. Felt gross in the shower. With that being said, the lady that worked there was super nice, helping us with a shuttle for the airport for 10 euro and suggesting free tours/restaurants/bars. Breakfast is nothing to get too excited about, just bread and jam.

You get what you paid for. Wouldn't stay again due to cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Such a friendly welcome and provided with loads of great tips from the lady who runs this place. AMAZING recommedation for restaurants - especially near the large bath house.

The facilities are huge and you just cant tell from the street quite how great this place is! Theres a great communal area to eat/cook/drink and there is copious amounts of toilets and shower rooms.

Breakfast however is litterally toast and butter, but you get what you pay for and I was happy with this.

BEST BUDGET PLACE I STAYED ALL ROUND EUROPE - so cheap and so worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 days with 4 friends. This is a very central hostel, every place in Budapest can be easily reached by foot, even if sometimes the metro is better. The hostel is not very clean, except the bathrooms... There's a small kitchen available for free. The rooms are big, there's a breakfast service, and the owner is kind and helpful...BO we love you! For the services it offers this is a really cheap hostel, we suggest it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakobs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was with my 2 kids. Maybe we had the poorest room of this hotel. Room was in the street side, temperature in the outside was +37. Room was veryhot. If you open the window, Street noise was terrible. Without opening there were lots of street noise, difficult to sleep. I asked to change roon, but they had no empty rooms.
BReakfast was bread andjam + coffee. I byu some cereals andjuice for the kids. There was Spar in ihe downstairs, itwas open from 7 to 22.
Situation of the hostel was fine. Payment: they takr cash beter than than visa card.

Room Tip: Dont take rom in the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hostel was actually cheap and good for its price. It's about ten minutes away from the city center (atually there's no main square in Budapest) and very near to one of Budapest's Central Rail Station. The guy who was there was very friendly and gave me good tips. The breakfast was simply but good, it was free so I can't complain. The dorms are just one level, that's also a good point if you don't like people that moves a lot. The only negative point in this hostel is that they haven't a common room for the guests, which would be very good to get to know more people. There was also free Wi-fi and a computer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 334 in Budapest
672 reviews
Terézváros
Caterina Private Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,009 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#26 of 657 in Budapest
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caterina Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caterina Hostel

Property: Caterina Hostel
Address: Terez koerut 30/III/28 | Ring Code 48, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 657 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Caterina Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caterina Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing