We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location”
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #127 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
hermanus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ideal location”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Pilvax Budapest was an exellent hotel. Not too big, very centrally situated and we had a fantastic corner room with wrap around windows. It is quiet . The surrounding area is a bit of a tourist rip off area however-so eat and shop further afield. The restaurant downstairs was mediocre and vastly overpriced.Once again, my pet hate-no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The reception staff were reasonable but that's all.

Room Tip: Try for end of passage, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    259
    96
    45
    10
See reviews for
45
259
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angles, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A good all round choice for the traveller on a budget. You could walk to all the central areas from the hotel and we liked the fact that it was in a traffic free zone. We didn't take breakfast as there are lots of great places to eat nearby. Our room was a good size with a smallish shower room. The only thing I would have liked was a hairdryer!
Arriving with a car was difficult but we found a temporary parking spot while we checked in and then received a 20% discount for parking some way away from the hotel, which was quite tricky to find. I would say it's easier to use public transport in Budapest than to drive in with a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A very nice hotel in a great location. Stayed 3 nights. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. Clean and comfortable, Nice bathroom with shower. The only complaint we had was on the first morning at breakfast. No cups, no bowls for cereal, no plates for breakfast and no urgency from the big guy supplying them. We gave up eventually when he brought in 5 cups for about a dozen exasperated guests. The second morning was fine as the young lady was more on the ball. Overall an enjoyable stay and would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Alex M',

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the City Hotel Pilvax for your stay. We are really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your good rating.

Your experience about the first morning breakfast have been forwarded to the restaurant management. These important opinions truly help us to provide better quality service.

Do hope we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff who all speak good English. You also get a decent breakfast.
The hotel is in a great central location and we would definitely stay there next time we visit this beautiful city. Could thoroughly recommend the City Pilvax for all age groups

Room Tip: we stayed in the front of the hotel which overlooked a pedestrian area and was reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very centrally located hotel. There weren't any noise from the street because the nearest street is for pedestrians only. Good and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is located right in the centre but is quiet because it is pedestrianized. It is not 4* but a very good 3*. Clean. good staff. reasonable breakfast hot showers and really comfortable beds. A great place to explore this lovely city. The bistro downstairs is also very good value with good Hungarian food.

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking they still have a couple of smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinmilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights and the best thing was the location! Also above an Irish bar and on a pedestrain street. Rooms were big, clean and the bathrooms were clean. Free wifi was included. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#131 of 333 in Budapest
725 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#77 of 333 in Budapest
833 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#122 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 333 in Budapest
534 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#126 of 333 in Budapest
392 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#70 of 333 in Budapest
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Property: City Hotel Pilvax
Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing