We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #124 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed 26 Oct to 30 Oct in a triple room. We arrived in the evening & the night staff was a male naned Georgy. 1 of the beds in our room was a pull out sofa bed which was not level & very uncomfortable. I told him we had paid for 3 beds & this was not acceptable. He was very aggressive, rude & obnoxious & even told me that we should go to a better class of hotel. He said another bed couldn't be moved into our room because it "wasn't his job" to move beds. I offered to help him or move it myself but he replied rudely & said beds are NEVER moved to other rooms. He is a really horrible man. After arguing for about 15 minutes he eventually called someone, I don't know who (it could have been his girlfriend for all I knew) & completely ignored me during his 10 minute conversation. He then told me, through gritted teeth & very aggressively that the bed would be changed the following day (which it was) thus disproving that beds can be moved to other rooms. As I walked upstairs I could hear him cursing me. I slept on the bed & woke with back & neck ache, terrible experience & horrendous staff. Bed was changed the following morning. I spoke with a male member of staff the following morning & asked if he was the manager, he replied "I can be". He didnt seem too interested about it & just said sorry. Do not stay at this terrible place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest ’LRLFC’,

Thank you for your review about your experiences in our hotel.

First of all, please accept our apologies if someone from our staff behaved improperly with you during your stay. Thanks to the detailed description we could investigate this case carefully. You are right in City Hotel Pilvax the third bed is a sofa bed which can be seen on our official website beside many other sites and mentioned among room equipments.

After midnight you reported that the sofa bed is not convenient for you. On the second floor there you stayed we had no other rooms available from where we could replace the beds. Therefore on the first floor we offered the only vacant room for that night complimentary and promised that we’ll change the sofa bed to a standard bed on the following day. The complimentary room was refused by you.

The lady with whom the receptionist spoke was the General Manager. On that late hour we were able to offer only that complimentary room as a solution for that situation.
As we promised next day changed the beds.

Every time if the management is not available the current front desk staff act as a duty manager.

We hope beside the first night you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we could prove our hospitality on your following stay here.

Best regards,

Kálmán Dénes
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    255
    94
    44
    9
See reviews for
43
256
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica, MS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I loved the place just because of its location. Convenient and comfortable to travel to and fro. It is situated in downtown Pest very close to several restaurants and shops. I was with my husband and quite liked the location. The guy at the reception completed the entire formalities and took us to our room. It was a room on inner side at first floor-clean and spacious. The king sized double bed was big enough for us. There is no elevator so try to be on low floors if you are with too much bags. Breakfast was just okay with not much variety in the menu. Room service was satisfactory. They regularly change the bedcovers and towels. The staff was attentive as well. To summarize, it was a comfortable pleasant stay at a wonderful locality.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank louisnoah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel with three couples for 50th birthday city break. Hotel is in a very good location to reach main areas within walking distance. Clean and comfortable rooms and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast sufficient. Overall very good value for money

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mc65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermanus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Pilvax Budapest was an exellent hotel. Not too big, very centrally situated and we had a fantastic corner room with wrap around windows. It is quiet . The surrounding area is a bit of a tourist rip off area however-so eat and shop further afield. The restaurant downstairs was mediocre and vastly overpriced.Once again, my pet hate-no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The reception staff were reasonable but that's all.

Room Tip: Try for end of passage, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angles, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

A good all round choice for the traveller on a budget. You could walk to all the central areas from the hotel and we liked the fact that it was in a traffic free zone. We didn't take breakfast as there are lots of great places to eat nearby. Our room was a good size with a smallish shower room. The only thing I would have liked was a hairdryer!
Arriving with a car was difficult but we found a temporary parking spot while we checked in and then received a 20% discount for parking some way away from the hotel, which was quite tricky to find. I would say it's easier to use public transport in Budapest than to drive in with a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A very nice hotel in a great location. Stayed 3 nights. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. Clean and comfortable, Nice bathroom with shower. The only complaint we had was on the first morning at breakfast. No cups, no bowls for cereal, no plates for breakfast and no urgency from the big guy supplying them. We gave up eventually when he brought in 5 cups for about a dozen exasperated guests. The second morning was fine as the young lady was more on the ball. Overall an enjoyable stay and would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Alex M',

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the City Hotel Pilvax for your stay. We are really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your good rating.

Your experience about the first morning breakfast have been forwarded to the restaurant management. These important opinions truly help us to provide better quality service.

Do hope we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff who all speak good English. You also get a decent breakfast.
The hotel is in a great central location and we would definitely stay there next time we visit this beautiful city. Could thoroughly recommend the City Pilvax for all age groups

Room Tip: we stayed in the front of the hotel which overlooked a pedestrian area and was reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#127 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#121 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#91 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#80 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#68 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Property: City Hotel Pilvax
Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing