We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #130 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've just spent 4 nights in this super hotel. It's in an excellent location, so close to everywhere you'd want to visit. The reception staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, with a relaxed, informal manner and a great command of English. Our room was large and well equipped, the shower clean and modern and you can get a hairdryer free of charge from reception. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You might need a pin or a bit of blu-tak as our curtains didn't quite close properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    259
    96
    45
    11
See reviews for
45
260
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location. Walking distance to any sightseeing. Vaci just 2 minutes walk. Nice rooms, but old shower. No sound isolation inside and outside. Very friendly staff. No elevator. Very expensive restaurant. But next door Irish pub was excellent. The hotel is old , but very clean. Hairdryer on reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest ‘Anna I’,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit at City Hotel Pilvax and your feedback about our hotel. We are happy that you liked the staff, location and room facilities. The cleanliness got the second highest score on the rating summary thanks to the housekeeping department’s efforts which makes us very proud. The maintenance departments pay particular attention to the quality of the bathroom, if the shower brake or damaged they repair or change it as soon as possible.

We really appreciate for giving us the highest scores and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had a 3 night stay at this hotel just after Christmas, the hotel is fairly basic but the cleanliness is very good, staff are friendly and very helpful and rooms are large and warm. Breakfast could be better and therefore for 2 mornings we went to the restaurant just up the road for a super breakfast, hotel is well situated, quiet and 2 minutes walk to main shopping area. I would recommend this hotel and would use again if visiting budapest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julesedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January this year and was very impressed. Close to all the things you want to see while staying in this beautiful city the rooms are of a good quality and the staff are very friendly would stay here again and couldn't recommend it enough

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located with multiple metro stations nearby and very easy to get to from the airport.

The staff is very helpful. We forgot to bring a British socket adaptor and it wasn't easy to find one in any high street shops; the hotel receptionist was more than happy to lend us the adaptor to use for the entire duration of the trip.

The room is of good size with high ceiling and clean. As the hotel was located on a quiet pedestrian road, you can hardly hear any street noise at night. We found the mattresses to be on the hard side and thinner than what we'd have liked.

By and large we would recommend this hotel to those who visit Budapest on a short trip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JHXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had a good 5 nights at the Pilvax at the beginning of December. Comfortable, warm and clean with a very friendly and helpful reception staff. Also very cheerful and friendly in the bistro at breakfast time too. Good sized room in a good location. My second visit to Budapest but first time here - and I would stay here next time we come.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my stay. It more than met my expectations. Staff was friendly, room was large and clean. Free wifi that was very fast. Wise variety of television Chanel's for most nationalities. Beds aren't the most comfortable but that is my only complaint.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gilster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#131 of 333 in Budapest
725 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#77 of 333 in Budapest
834 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#121 of 333 in Budapest
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 333 in Budapest
536 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#126 of 333 in Budapest
393 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#69 of 333 in Budapest
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Property: City Hotel Pilvax
Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing