We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Pilvax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hotel Pilvax
Ranked #123 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Pilvax is as central as you can get in Budapest...all attractions within walking distance or short Metro trip.The staff are fabulous,friendly and helpful.No lift,and the rooms are a bit tired--the curtains on my windows did not meet,and the air-conditioning is feeble.The bistro breakfast is fine--plenty of other eateries nearby if you want a change.Overall though,a great experience,the ideal place to explore Budapest.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 114...directly above the Irish pub,and very hot with windows on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    249
    93
    44
    9
See reviews for
42
252
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed only for one night but the hotel was great, very clean and comfortable, the people there were very nice. The only trouble we had was finding the hotel, it was a little tricky and there is no elevator, so we had to carry our bag packs to the room. But the service and the installations were excellent, I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mein p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had high hopes for the hotel after reading reviews on this site - I've never been disappointed by the Trip Advisor certificates of excellence before - all of my other reviews have been 4 and 5 ratings to reflect this. However, I simply could not award anything higher than a 2 for this place. Although the location was excellent, and very close to many of the major sites, and although the staff were good, it simply was not a good experience for us.

The room was very basic, although large by European standards. The curtains did not even fully cover the windows, which is something that could be easily fixed. The hotel is situated next to an Irish bar and a restaurant. By midnight on the first night, I was forced to get out of bed and go and ask Reception if we could move rooms. The noise from the street level was awful. The windows were incredibly thin and we could hear music from the hotel restaurant, the next-door restaurant and the Irish bar. People talking at normal volume at street level was also infiltrating the room.

We were moved to the second floor, which was thankfully much quieter - it had double windows which provided a barrier to the outside noise. However, the heating was on full blast in both the bedroom and bathroom. We could not turn this off at all and had to resort to opening the window, which then meant we did not sleep until the noise had abated at around 1.30am.

On waking, the bathroom situation did not improve our mood. The shower (which did have good pressure and temperature) had a very stiff door which did not fully close and the water went all over the floor. Not only this, but the shower tray filled up very quickly, leaving me standing in water, which spilled over when I opened the shower door.

The breakfast was average at best, perhaps we had been spoiled on our visits to other hotels in Europe.

I understand that the hotel sells itself on location, location, location and it certainly has that, but the experience of the hotel service was poor.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear ‘ruthii’,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and sharing your detailed opinion about at the City Hotel Pilvax.

Delighted to read your praising words about the room size and location of the hotel as well as the staff. We regret that you considered the room basic. Room facilities meets the European standard of the 3* category according to the European Union Certified 'HotelStars' process which the hotel has successfully passed in recent years.

In regards with the shower we kindly ask your guests to inform the front desk when the door damaged or the shower tray stuck and the housekeeping or maintenance department will fix it as soon as possible or another room will be provided.

Though all restaurant and bar in the near just as the hotel itself make efforts to keep the council rules in accordance with their noise during the night, it happens that neither we nor they had influence to the street noise. Hotel Pilvax is situated in a side street of the very downtown where lots of people (tourists) might pass through even at night. We would like to ask all of our guests to inform the front desk if feels other guests too noisy - especially at night - in order to take the necessary steps to ensure our guest’s peace.

Hope to have the chance to welcome you again and will leave the City Hotel Pilvax with more positive experiences.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights in April 2014. Hotel is very central (3 minutes walk from Ferenciek Tere metro) and is in a pedestrianized street so quiet (there is an Irish pub next door, so you may get some noise from music on Thurs/Fri/Sat nights). It isn't luxurious, but comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful staff and really good value for the area. Only downside was a broken riser on the shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel 13 -18 March. Near many cafes and restaurants, very close many of the city. Clean hotel, friendly receptionists at the front desk.Cleaning at the hotel was every day, towels changed every den.Idealny hotel for traveling near two metro stations, providing access to various points of interest.The rooms are large and bright. Chose this hotel because of the large windows in the room. Book through administrator airport shuttle service, tarnsport was booked time.Will certainly recommend your hotel. Thank you for comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irinak286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 4 nights with my hubby, we loved the place! Quiet enough, clean rooms and super nice staff! The bed was a little too hard for us. Pilvax köz is not for cars(?) so we slept well! In my opinion the breakfast was awesome, worth of trying, but just a little top expensive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vveeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, Wed 19th - Sat 22nd Feb. Hotel easy to find from nearby Metro station and good location to explore beautiful Budapest on foot. Our room on 1st floor, above reception, was of a reasonable size and layout, but the old metal frame windows were draughty and the curtains did not cover them. The corner shower cubicle was small and one of the sliding doors came off the runners every time - it had been repaired previously, but needs replacing! The buffet breakfast was minimal and of poor quality, the amount supplied reducing each morning and not being replenished, irrespective of what time it was? Milk spilled on the floor was not even mopped up by the grumpy waitress? The meal we ate there one evening was of a completely different standard - very tasty, but only a small portion and much more expensive than other meals elsewhere? Our last 2 nights' sleep were disturbed by the noise of other guests returning late in the early hours, even though we had opted for a room which was not above the Irish bar. I think Avios should review using this hotel, we will not again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Pilvax, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear ‘Ann572014’,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at City Hotel Pilvax.

Glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel as well as the size of the rooms. We regret that you found the shower door damaged. We kindly ask your guests to inform the front desk when any damage is detected and the maintenance department will fix it as soon as possible or another room will be provided. Some repairs – like replacing the shower doors – can permanently be managed only upon out-of-ordered rooms that we continuously perform.

Your opinion concerning the buffet breakfast has been forwarded to the Pilvax Bisztro’s management, every feedback will help us to improve our services.

In regards with the guest behaviour we’d like to underline that keeping the house rules is mandatory for everyone, if someone do not respect other guests’ rest, the hotel staff immediately take the necessary measures.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you here again.

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#129 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
District V / Inner City
Leo Panzio Hotel
Leo Panzio Hotel
#117 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#101 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Pilvax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Pilvax

Property: City Hotel Pilvax
Address: Pilvax koez 1 - 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Pilvax 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Pilvax is located on a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the heart of the downtown and the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The hotel has 32 rooms and a Cafe, where the buffet breakfast is served. Traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner at Pilvax Cafe. Thanks to its central location the city’s main attractions are easily accessible by walk or public transportation. The hotel is a perfect place for both business and leisure stays in Budapest. Standard room: comfortable, bright, air-conditioned standard rooms have bathroom with shower. Rooms can be requested with twin beds or a double bed. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, refrigerator, telephone, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, free safe, Internet access at reception. Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel Pilvax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing