We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$216
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
US$278
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bo18 Hotel Superior(Budapest)
US$132
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$107
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$134
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
265
342
104
38
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
342
104
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspar supermarketfree coffee and teapillow menuexcellent locationbars restaurantsbus tourreception staff arequiet side streetnight lifeeuropean hotelssmall hoteltwo blocksjewish quarterwithin walking distancesparkling winestayed at this hotel for nightswould recommend this hotel to anyone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent location, close to the Deak ter underground, supermarket on doorstep. The area is lively with a lot of restaurants and cafes, yet the hotel is in a quiet street. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. Good breakfast, coffee and tea making facilities available 24 hours.
Reception staff is polite, was especially impressed by Borbala, who is very attentive to the hotel guests. Have stayed at hotel a couple of times, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterbreak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It is a pleasure for me to read your kind words of your stay in our Hotel. Also thank you for recommending us to our future guests and sharing your informations about the rooms and the area of the Hotel.. In the name of the whole staff I can say that we are waiting you back next time again!
See You!

Best regards,
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for 5 days. I asked from the beginning the room on the top so we got a room on the last 6 floor which is for 3 people. So we got a really big room and big bathroom although we were only 2. It was clean, towels were changed every day. We loved the breakfast - the variety is not very big but it's more than enough! And u have opportunity to get free coffee, cappuccino, chocolate coffee and so on whenever u want! And of course snacks as well! It's really great service especially in the winter! The location is perfect - close to everything! The staff at the reception was helpful when we asked some information about palace outside Budapest. The girl called to the palace to learn about opening hours and so on.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Alena,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It was a pleasure for me to read your words of satisfaction mentioning our breakfast service staff and your room as well. We are also happy that you were delighted with our open-bar, and enjoyed the free tea/coffee and snacks facility.
I am sure that next time you will choose us again. It would be a pleasure for us to accommodate you in the near future.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wolcott, Connecticut
31
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

East walking to Hungarian State Opera House and New York Cafe! Ideally located in the "Old City" on the Pest side. Don't be put off by graffiti on the streets. Many small bars/restaurants to eat nearby. 4 stars only because there is no full restaurant (breakfast is included). Loved the church bells at noon!
Bernadette at the front desk is very efficient, friendly and full of suggestions. And many thanks to Nandor for the assistance with transportation from the airport to the hotel!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time and post your kind reply to Tripadvisor our Hotel. We are pleased that you had a great time in Budapest and were fully satisfied with our staff and services. On behalf of Bernadett and Nandor I would like to say thank you for mentioning their hospitality.
I hope you won't hesitate to choose us again next time!
Waiting You back!

Best regards,
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Staying on Ambra Hotel in Budapeste was amasing, great service, friendly and helpfull staff, nice room pleanty of space, with a clean equiped bathroom. tastefull breakfast with large variety of foods. Close to center of city 5 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maravi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Maravi,
I would like to thank you for sharing your comment of your previous stay at Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. It is a pleasure for me to read your positive description of our staff and services.
Also thank you for highlighting to tastiness of richness of breakfast service.
I hope that we made a very good impact to you and we can welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Arrived late evening to find Andrea behind the counter with a welcome smile and a large prepared packet of tourist info. She was very helpful in explaining the free buffet breakfast, room policies and where to purchase currency. I found my room to be quite nice and quaint; clean and orderly. The buffet breakfast was everything I expected...........and more! Their 24-hour coffee/juice bar and free wi-fi fit right in with what I look for in lodging. The hotel is a small 37-room operation located literally seconds and minutes to shopping, food and nightlife. The street it's located on is nothing to write home about but the area is well-lit. As hit-and-miss goes when finding lodging in a foreign country, I'd list my experience as a "hit" because of the incredible staff (Borbola and Bernedette), soothing atmosphere and location as it refers to attractions. Sure, you can always find "fancier and more expensive" but you'd be hard-pressed to find "nicer, friendlier and more bang for the buck." I give them a "4" (just shy of a 5) only because of the few amenities offered. I will, without a doubt, stay here again! List me as a very satisfied customer!

Room Tip: The single elevator is typical "European-small" so try to score a first-floor room where the walk up is only a few steps. I lucked out on this!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ehcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Echop,
I can't be grateful enough for posting your fantastic review here at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read your kind words about us! On behalf of the staff I can say that we cannot be happier that all of our services and the members of the staff fully exceeded your expectations. I am sure that your positive feedback will be very useful for our future guests.
If you are planning to visit Budapest again don't hesitate to contact us!

Best regards
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews