We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #60 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

we stayed there for one night and cannot say anything bad...reception staff very friendly and helpful.location in the centre so it was close to get anywhere we want...nice,clean hotel,breakfast very nice aswell.definately recommended ....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fedo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Fedo,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that everything met your expectations from services to staff in our Hotel. Also thanks for mentioning our center location.
I hope your recommendation will be important for other travelers whom would like to choose us!
Waiting you back!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    303
    92
    34
    11
See reviews for
113
274
33
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Transylvania, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very friendly helpful staff; comfortable rooms; excellent breakfast! Location is close to the city center, though a bit hard to find the first time you drive there. Great value for the price if you plan ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you desire a really quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUFUS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Rufus,
Let me thank you for taking time to post your review here at Tripadvisor as well. As one of the most time returner guest of us it is a real pleasure for me to read that you always satisfied with our staff and services. Maybe now you know our names from faces :). Thank you for pointing to our valuable price!
I'm sure that we will welcome you back again in the near future!
See you soon!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kielce
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel Ambra in Budapest is ideally situated hotel near the Opera metro station. Lobby small but very nicely decorated. Service delightfully. Room large, clean, with basic things. The room LCD TV. Bathroom large, clean. The restaurant downstairs available 24 coffee, chocolate, mineral - great stuff. Both check in and out fast without problems. Breakfast basic but very tasty. WiFi in the rooms walking steadily and without problems. Hotel guard command.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Mr Popiel,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your reply of your previous stay in our Hotel, Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra. It was a pleasure for me to read your kind description about our staff and services. Thank you very much for highlighting everything from our open-bar to the room equipments, as well including the professionality of our staff. I am also happy that our breakfast acclaimed your pleasure.
On behalf of the whole staff I can say that we would be very happy if we can welcome you back next time!

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Visited Budapest for the first time and I really enjoyed my stay at this Hotel. From the reception, it was a welcoming environment with friendly staff. Benadett, one of the Receptionist was fantastic and helpful. The kitchen staff were good too.
I enjoyed my first visit and looking for a return trip and hopefully still stay in this hotel. I surely will recommend Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra for anyone.

Room Tip: If possible the back rooms but the location is quiet generally
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Femi,
Let me thank you very much for your kind review about our Hotel of your last trip in Budapest.
I am glad to read that you were fully satisfied with all members of our staff.
We are also happy that you enjoyed the effervescence of Budapest and you will come back again.
I'm sure that you won't hesitate to choose us next time as well.

Best regards,

Judit Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stay was delightful all three receptionists fell over backwards to help. Hotel was clean modern, good location and ai drinks were useful. I will definetly come back to the same hotel as Budapest is such a nice place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Leroy,
I would like to thank you for your kind review about us here at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. Also thank you for mentioning the cleanness of our rooms and your recommendation to other guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Budapest!

Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent location, close to the Deak ter underground, supermarket on doorstep. The area is lively with a lot of restaurants and cafes, yet the hotel is in a quiet street. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. Good breakfast, coffee and tea making facilities available 24 hours.
Reception staff is polite, was especially impressed by Borbala, who is very attentive to the hotel guests. Have stayed at hotel a couple of times, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterbreak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It is a pleasure for me to read your kind words of your stay in our Hotel. Also thank you for recommending us to our future guests and sharing your informations about the rooms and the area of the Hotel.. In the name of the whole staff I can say that we are waiting you back next time again!
See You!

Best regards,
Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for 5 days. I asked from the beginning the room on the top so we got a room on the last 6 floor which is for 3 people. So we got a really big room and big bathroom although we were only 2. It was clean, towels were changed every day. We loved the breakfast - the variety is not very big but it's more than enough! And u have opportunity to get free coffee, cappuccino, chocolate coffee and so on whenever u want! And of course snacks as well! It's really great service especially in the winter! The location is perfect - close to everything! The staff at the reception was helpful when we asked some information about palace outside Budapest. The girl called to the palace to learn about opening hours and so on.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Alena,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It was a pleasure for me to read your words of satisfaction mentioning our breakfast service staff and your room as well. We are also happy that you were delighted with our open-bar, and enjoyed the free tea/coffee and snacks facility.
I am sure that next time you will choose us again. It would be a pleasure for us to accommodate you in the near future.
Best regards,

Gergely Hnatyszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#41 of 334 in Budapest
1,140 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
308 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#84 of 334 in Budapest
1,410 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
153 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Property: Ambra Hotel
Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing