We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price/quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #64 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best price/quality ratio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Hotel is situated in a very peaceful Island, where all Budapest go for walking and jogging, and only few cars can go in. You can reach the centre in few minutes or you can have a very nice walking of 45 min. People are very nice and in the price of accomodation you have very rich breackfast and free entrance for Thermal Spa.
Absolutely Great

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel and for recommending us to other travelers.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our friendly staff, as well with our services.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    559
    190
    58
    26
See reviews for
372
500
91
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget on a business trip. Our hosts put us up on the 8th floor in a two room suite that included a small living room (sofa, two easy chairs, digital TV, minibar, indiv toilet) and a bedroom (king bed, full bath, digital TV). There was also a small balcony that overlooked the Danube River. The room was spacious and beyond what we would normally do "on our own dime". The weather was unusually warm and humid while we were there and the room AC had some difficulty "keeping up" with the cooling, but it was tolerable. The room was very quiet, beds were comfortable, everything was clean. The front desk folks were friendly and accommodating. We found out later that we had free wifi on that executive floor, but ended up using the free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast on the 9th floor (for guests on the 8th & 9th floor executive rooms) was quite varied and everything was excellent. We did not partake of the thermal spa, so cannot comment on that aspect of this hotel. The hotel is located on Margaret's Island (Margitsziget) and is not easily within walking distance to the touristy areas of Budapest. Choices of transportation were taxi or public bus from the island and then to the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your detailed positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room and the service and surroundings super.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a very good location for joggers (Island of Margaret) and spa lovers. Nice rooms, free parking. You can go to the city by bus or walk. Ask the reception for tickets for the bus. The walk is cca 50min to city center.
The spa is good, with swimming pool as well. I didn't like that nobody told the sauna users not to go into the sauna in bathing-suite...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa ResortMargitsziget for your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed with friend's for the weekend. I was searching for a 4star hotel with spa and that was the reason I selected Danubius Helth Spa. The service in reception is good, the dissapointment was the hotel designe from outside as it's not corresponding with the pictures in the internet. It was a 4star hotel few years ago but they havent refurbished for a long time = rooms are having stains on the carpets, old school betting ect. What was a bad surprice is breakfast till 10.00 on a weekend I would expect the service at least till 11.00. The spa is nice, the age average in the hotel over 50 so not really good for young people having fun ( bar closed at 23.00) no other option in the surroundings. Would give 3 Stars

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
Referring to your comments about the rooms, they might be more elegant and top modern on a higher price level. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and your comments will help us in it.
You are absolutely right if you say that our hotel is much more suitable for people over 50, who are seeking for relaxing and peace. Youngers will find the possibility to find fun in the city center and return back at night to us for relaxing.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Shortly after family stay at Grand Hotel on Margit Sziget for business spent few nights in sister hotel. Hotel is easy to access, plenty of space for parking. Was on 9th floor in so called executive area. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, on the 9th floor is separate breakfast room for guests from executive rooms. Food in hotel is very good, for breakfast there is plenty of choice, one can ask for espresso or similar coffee but espresso coffee was not well prepared in general, so suggestion is that with this small improvement impression about hotel will be much better. For lunch and diner buffet offer is very good, standard central European cuisine, well done, band that plays Hungarian music is excellent. Also try a la carte diner, was very good, vine offer we had could be better since in Hungary there is plenty of choice, but it can be on acoount of organizer as well.
Spa is not the biggest one can find in Budapest, but is good enough, clean, well organized. There is small bar, but we were told that for sandwich we shall wait 40 minutes, obviously area for improvement, also not many sandwiches and bit overpriced comparing other hotel services.
Strong point of hotel is position on Margit island, that is huge park area, very good for walking, cycling, I am recommending jogging or walking around island, 5 km is line.
In hotel is possible to come with pets, that is great thing, but than hotel management shall pay attention that after guest with dog room must be thoroughly cleaned, my terrace was omitted for cleaning after previous guest and was covered with dogs hair.
There is wi fi are in hotel lobby, but in the rooms internet is to be paid, that is a bit redundant way of taking money from the guests, also way to pay for room wi fi I have found to complicated.

Room Tip: My recommendation are so called executive rooms on 8th and 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikimiki70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for a positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget.We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel and enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you for your comments like "Food in hotel is very good, for breakfast there is plenty of choice", For lunch and diner buffet offer is very good, standard central European cuisine, well done, band that plays Hungarian music is excellent." a big thank you for sharing your interesting experience with other travellers.
Looking forward to hear from you soon and welcoming back to the Margaret Island,we remain
With best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have been to the hotel Margitsziget several times and it has been always a very pleasant stay. The hotel is on an island in the middle of budapest; you are surrounded from a huge park, a little japanese garden, a small lake with turtels in it and there is also a small zoo somewhere.
There is a jogging track around the island built of a soft mattress so you can run an protect your knees.
The rooms are ageing but still ok and very clean. Sleeping quality is perfect because there is silence all night long. Exceptions are rooms direct above the main entrance (lot of busses arrive during the day/night), rooms next to the elevator (makes always ding ding when it arrives) and rooms not far from the music fountain, which makes music all day long on an hourly basis.
Breakfast buffet is delicious with a lot of choice and the spa is ok, they have they own hot spring under the island so the water comes up with almost 40 degrees, but they also have "colder" water to swim.
The hotel is a good experience and a perfect base to start your sight seeing trip in Budapest. There are plenty of parking lots all around the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in rooms next to an elevator (ding ding all night long), do not sleep in a room above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multitravelcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a detailed comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel,and it is a pleasure for us to understand that you had a good experience in our hotel.
It is a pleasure for me to read comments like you put it "Breakfast buffet is delicious with a lot of choice and "The hotel is a good experience and a perfect base to start your sight seeing trip in Budapest."
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe with some of your friends-in the near future again.

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#71 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#125 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,361 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you live in Budapest or have come from further afield, you are sure to fall in love with the atmosphere of this quiet island in the centre of the vibrant capital. It’s no coincidence that the Margaret Island wellness hotel, with its thermal water springs, has been the choice of generations! The hotel caters to visitors seeking medical treatments or wellness pampering, as well as those looking for a venue for their business event or wedding. Outside the hotel, guests can take part in various sporting activities (from running and rowing to tennis and cycling), while the footpaths connecting the historical sites of Margaret Island are perfect for a stroll. You may not want to return to everyday life after a visit to the island of peace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing