We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #57 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good compromise”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Have been at Danubius for a "dental holiday" at the clinic that is inside the hotel so I chose Danubius for a matter of proximity.
It is not my first time either.
Unless you want to take advantage of one of the clinics or the spa of the hotel or you just want to spend some quiet days on this lovely island you should choose other hotels in Budapest that offer higher standards at similar prices and are in a better position to explore the city and above all for dining options.

€15 euro for a breakfast of this standard is simply a steal and I've never found on any website a package inclusive of it.
I feel the hotel takes advantage of the fact that it is in the middle of nowhere so it's not like you can walk out to have breakfast elsewhere unless you're willing to wait 20/30 minutes.

My trick is ordering the breakfast in the room for one person and for €15 two people can eat plenty.

The room is spacious and comfortable my only complaint would be the bathroom where the shower foldable glass will not even stay open and above all does not seal the tub so the water goes everywhere and also the hook of the shower is set in a way that you cannot leave it while you shower yourself or the water will go over the glass and everywhere so you have to close the water or hold it in your hand - weird.

My second major complaint which I have never experienced in my life - and I visit maybe 30 hotels a year for work and pleasure - in 4 nights of staying the sheets were changed... NEVER.

Going to downtown is no drama, there is a bus outside the hotel that takes you to the metro and in 5 stops you are there.
Slightly over €1 for the bus and again slightly over €1 for the metro because you must use individual tickets (beware of frequent checks and €50 fines if you don't have the ticket)

So you have to consider than in a day you will at least spend an additional €5 each for transportation from/to the island.
Or as I do, go by bus and metro one way and walk 5km back to the island which helps keep the weight from the great Hungarian food and gerbaud sweets off.

It is a rather coldly managed hotel lacking individual service (my mother has been here 7 times and no one's ever welcomed her back for example) and its catering to senior guests who are up at 6am doing the spa and off to bed at 9 - in fact at 9 the bar downstairs and the restaurant are pretty dead if not closed already.

Bottom line: you wanna visit Budapest? Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel, and it is a pleasure for us that you and your mother are regular guests of us.
We kindly inform you that we have several special packages including breakfast at very cheap prices. Ordering breakfast in the room belongs to our services but we charge a room service fee for this service.
Of course there are several more modern, newer hotels in Budapest, but they do not offer the same services and same prices as we do.

Thank you for your comments regarding the transport to the city. Should you spend more nights in Budapest, I would suggest to buy a 3 days ticket, which is very cheap and is valid for all means of transportation within the capital.

You are completely right when you say that senior guests are up at 6 am and go to bed at 9 pm but our restaurant awaits you until 11 pm and our bar until midnight hoping to be at your service.

We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel and that we can regain your confidence.IBest regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    659
    219
    65
    30
See reviews for
441
577
106
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is a bonus, the island is lovely to walk around. Hotel restaurant was closed so eat in the sister Grand hotel buffet one night and it was fine. Pools in the spa are a real bonus, great place to relax after some very hot days at the GP.
The fountain at the other end of the island is well worth a visit after dark to see the light show. Room was comfortable if a bit dated decor, but everything worked fine.
There are not many restaurants near the hotel, a couple at the other end of the island, we got took by mistake by a taxi driver to an all you can eat and drink Troffergrill that is only ten minutes walk from the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location and services of the hotel and you mentioned that "the hotel location is bonus". It is a pleasure for us that you found the buffet dinner fine and could relax during the hot days.
We do very much hope you will find the time to return back to our hotel.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I have been here twice: 2007 and just recently in May, 2013. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable and the balcony looks out over the Danube. Amazing views. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The buffet is extensive for both breakfast and dinner. You might want to research a package which includes meals.

Of course, for us, the best part is the amazing spa. There are multiple pools of varying temperatures for swimming or just soaking. There are three types of saunas. And their staff of massage therapists and other health practitioners are very well trained and pleasant.

We will go there again on our next trip to Budapest!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view room. One side is Buda, the other Pest. Also if you stay on the Executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room comfortable, the view amazing, the staff helpful. Thank you for your comments "you might want to research a package which indludes meals" - yes, the more meals and treatments you take, the cheaper your accommodation is calculated. You are absolutely right when you say that our massage therapists and other health practitioners are very well trained. In Hungary a strong emphasis is layed on training in health.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Hotel is situated in a very peaceful Island, where all Budapest go for walking and jogging, and only few cars can go in. You can reach the centre in few minutes or you can have a very nice walking of 45 min. People are very nice and in the price of accomodation you have very rich breackfast and free entrance for Thermal Spa.
Absolutely Great

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting a positive review on our Hotel and for recommending us to other travelers.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our friendly staff, as well with our services.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget on a business trip. Our hosts put us up on the 8th floor in a two room suite that included a small living room (sofa, two easy chairs, digital TV, minibar, indiv toilet) and a bedroom (king bed, full bath, digital TV). There was also a small balcony that overlooked the Danube River. The room was spacious and beyond what we would normally do "on our own dime". The weather was unusually warm and humid while we were there and the room AC had some difficulty "keeping up" with the cooling, but it was tolerable. The room was very quiet, beds were comfortable, everything was clean. The front desk folks were friendly and accommodating. We found out later that we had free wifi on that executive floor, but ended up using the free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast on the 9th floor (for guests on the 8th & 9th floor executive rooms) was quite varied and everything was excellent. We did not partake of the thermal spa, so cannot comment on that aspect of this hotel. The hotel is located on Margaret's Island (Margitsziget) and is not easily within walking distance to the touristy areas of Budapest. Choices of transportation were taxi or public bus from the island and then to the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your detailed positive note on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay and found the room and the service and surroundings super.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a very good location for joggers (Island of Margaret) and spa lovers. Nice rooms, free parking. You can go to the city by bus or walk. Ask the reception for tickets for the bus. The walk is cca 50min to city center.
The spa is good, with swimming pool as well. I didn't like that nobody told the sauna users not to go into the sauna in bathing-suite...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Danubius Health Spa ResortMargitsziget for your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed with friend's for the weekend. I was searching for a 4star hotel with spa and that was the reason I selected Danubius Helth Spa. The service in reception is good, the dissapointment was the hotel designe from outside as it's not corresponding with the pictures in the internet. It was a 4star hotel few years ago but they havent refurbished for a long time = rooms are having stains on the carpets, old school betting ect. What was a bad surprice is breakfast till 10.00 on a weekend I would expect the service at least till 11.00. The spa is nice, the age average in the hotel over 50 so not really good for young people having fun ( bar closed at 23.00) no other option in the surroundings. Would give 3 Stars

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your efforts for having taken your time for a report on TripAdvisor website, concerning your recent stay in our Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel!
Your feedback will help us to improve our services.
Referring to your comments about the rooms, they might be more elegant and top modern on a higher price level. There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and your comments will help us in it.
You are absolutely right if you say that our hotel is much more suitable for people over 50, who are seeking for relaxing and peace. Youngers will find the possibility to find fun in the city center and return back at night to us for relaxing.
We do very much hope you will find the time and the opportunity to return to our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#73 of 334 in Budapest
1,956 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#128 of 334 in Budapest
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 334 in Budapest
5,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#43 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you live in Budapest or have come from further afield, you are sure to fall in love with the atmosphere of this quiet island in the centre of the vibrant capital. It’s no coincidence that the Margaret Island wellness hotel, with its thermal water springs, has been the choice of generations! The hotel caters to visitors seeking medical treatments or wellness pampering, as well as those looking for a venue for their business event or wedding. Outside the hotel, guests can take part in various sporting activities (from running and rowing to tennis and cycling), while the footpaths connecting the historical sites of Margaret Island are perfect for a stroll. You may not want to return to everyday life after a visit to the island of peace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing