We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Ranked #64 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

An olde-worlde type, good hotel for visitors although can accommodate small business events. Quite good food. Location near the river with views. Lots of tourists - check out for coach tours if you want to avoid a busy stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you comment on Tripadvisor and it is a pleasure for that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services excellent.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Danubius Hotel
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    530
    180
    54
    26
See reviews for
348
470
88
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Quite difficult to judge, but all in all it´s just a run down place on a beautiful island. Here the pros and cons:

+ Wonderful location on Margaret Island
+ Absolutely quite and without any traffic
+ Very friendly staff at reception
+ Nice breakfest buffet
+ Supportive business centre

- No slippers!!! (but you can buy flip-flops for 10€ in the fitness centre)
- WLAN in hotel room for 6€ per hour (no, this is not a typo)
- Typical 1970s communistic architecture
- Old elevators that sometimes get stuck and/or fail to open the doors
- Unmotivated service and housekeeping staff
- Shoe shine machine in the lobby was out of order
- Expensive bar drinks (3.63€ for a 0.33l bottle of local Dreher beer)
- Once gain, no slippers - sorry, but this hotel calls itself a health spa resort!

If I am back in that place it is only because of Margaret Island!

TIP: Instead of taking the Danubius Health Spa Resort go for the Danubius Grand Hotel which is literally just around the corner!

Room Tip: Take a room that is facing to the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Armin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel, and it is a pleasure for us to understand that generally you had a good experience in our hotel.
Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance, and your feedback will help us to improve our services.
We kindly draw your attention that we offer free slippers in the executive levels but our guests usually take them with on the journey because they know that we offer extended bathing facilities.
You are completely right if you say that the hotel building is of a typical 1970s communistic area, exactly it was built in 1979, when we were occupied by the communistic regime and unfortunately we cannot help in its beauty from outside but I think the most important in a hotel's life is the atmosphere, which can be worked up by the staff and services.
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe with some of your friends-in the near future.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Surrounded by forest of huge trees. Private balconies with table and chairs (take insect repellant). Thermal pools from 25c to 38c. Lovely walking paths thru gardens and along side Danube. Nice beer garden and dining terrace at adjoining Grand Hotel. Explore the island by foot or electric car to see ruins of monasteries, churches, large dancing fountain and beautiful gardens. Bus to downtown close by.

Room Tip: On the fifth floor we were in the tree canopy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note about your recent stay in our hotel on Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay with us.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent hotel, with very good service. Sample of hotel, you want to stay in. Rooms are very spacious. Best rooms are in last 2 floors, with separate breakfast hall. Rooms offers real comfort with everything that goes along.

Room Tip: Best to take rooms highest 2 floors and with look to Buda side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nešo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your positive note about your recent stay in our hotel on Margitsziget. We are pleased that you had a good experience and a pleasant stay with us and found our hotel excellent, the service very good and the rooms spacious.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel.
kind regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

After spending time in the centre of Budapest, we were happy we had chosen a hotel on the island as it was quieter and the island was lovely.
The hotel is large and not attractive outside but the room was large and comfortable - could do with a bit of updating but nice on the whole.
The spa facilities and pools were really good. People spend a lot of time walking around in white robes enjoying the facilities! It was a good way of relaxing after spending time in a very busy hectic Budapest.
If you haven't paid for breakfast you can get free croissants and coffee at the hotel café.
You get a free bus onto the mainland just 2 mins from the hotel.
Budapest itself was not so impressive, it was too busy and noisy for us and you have to keep your wits about you. We were conned by a taxi driver who gave us change in a currency no longer in circulation - we didn't notice until the next day. We left this '1000 note' on the table in the room and that disappeared after the maids had been in!!
Wi fi is chargeable and be warned - it doesn't really work - we refused to pay upon leaving and they were gracious about this/
Overall a nice roomy hotel on a lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a short comment on Tripadvisor website about your recent stay in the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget.
I am pleased that generally you had a good experience and a pleasant stay. As You mention "the rooms could do with a bit of updating " yes we the management and the staff are looking forward to a total "facelift" but despite of this fact you wrote: "but nice on the whole". I completely agree with you, it is not the most modern hotel in Budapest but we can be proud of the several nice returning guests who like this atmosphere on the island and let them pampered by our staff.
Once again many thanks for your kind feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the our hotel.
Best regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Large unattractive hotel but set on the beautiful Margaret island. Good size room with perfectly adequate en-suite. Excellent hostess set up with kettle etc and balcony with a fabulous view over the Danube and The Buda side. Spa facilities were good and the outside pool excellent for cooling off after a hot day sight seeing.
On the down side, reception staff were not overly friendly or helpful and the lift was broken during our stay....we were on the 7th floor! Also the hotel was at the opposite end of the island to the 'city' and the wonderful choices of restaurants. However, the walk to the Margaret Bridge was through lovely gardens and woodland on the island. Superb musical and artistic fountain near the Margaret Brdige, wonderful for cooling off hot, tired feet.

Room Tip: Good views from upper floor rooms with balconies facing towards Buda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor website about your recent stay in Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel, and it is a pleasure for us to understand that generally you had a good experience in our hotel.
Your opinion on our services is of the utmost importance, and your feedback will help us to improve our services. It is always a pleasure for me to read comments like you put it "fabulous view over the Danube.”
Unfortunately one of our elevators had some technical problems during your stay and it had to be repaired for the good of our guests’ safety. Should it caused any inconveniences for you, we feel sorry for you but these technical problems should have solved immediately.
Thank you again for your very kind comments and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest -maybe with some of your friends-in the near future.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

If you want a wellness holiday with a little bit city tour, you will get everything what you want. For example a lot of pools, aroma theraphy, steam, etc etc. The hotel is in the Margit-Island and little bit hard to reach, because the Island and the center of the city and have a district zone to not enter any car or transport.

You will like the sight from your room and not hear from the city noise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzlGabor, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel your last stay again in Budapest. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for your positive comments and hope we can welcome you back next time too.
kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Hotel Helia
#73 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#124 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,205 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#74 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Address: Margitsziget 23800, Budapest 1007, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Margaret Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#47 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget is the city’s leading spa hotel, making use of a natural thermal spring on tranquil Margaret Island. The hotel is just ten minutes from the city centre, and boasts state-of-the-art facilities (including indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room, aroma cabin and thermal bath, fitness room, beauty salon) and a range of treatments to help you relax and recharge. You can cycle or play tennis on Margaret Island, take a Danube cruise or enjoy a healthy and tasty meal in the excellent hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Margitsziget
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing