We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Night Stay Budapest Hilton Sept 30-Oct 4, 2011”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #16 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Budapest including a four night stay at the Budapest Castle Hilton.
Our comments:
Pros:
Very comfortable and quiet room on Executive Floor. Dynamite view of the Parliament Building across the Danube. Big wow factor when we first entered our room at night. Looking out our window was like a picture from National Geographic
Bed was comfortable (important to us) and Air Con kept the room at a perfect temperature.

Service: Top notch- hotel well staffed with professional and timely service. Our main contact in the Guest Relations Dept, Jolina, helped greatly in our pre-trip planning with dining and sightseeing recommendations, reservations and ticketing. 5 Stars for Jolina!

Food: We had both the extended Continental Breakfast on the Executive Floor and the more expansive Buffett on the ground floor. The convenience of the Executive Floor - including hot items- was just right when we had to get moving earlier.

Workout Room: Well equipped and clean. Treadmills, Elliptical, Stair stepper, weights, sauna, tanning enclosure, rooms for rest and nap

Cons:
Only con is that no attendant on duty at the gym but since it was completely viewable through glass walls felt that help, if needed, was nearby

Sorry that I did not book Hiltons for our other stays this trip and will rectify that next time.

Could not find anything to complain about and of course this Budapest Hilton is inside the Castle and one of the major tourist stops, just outside our door!

Room Tip: Worth extra cost for view room on Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate your amazing comments and glad to read you had such a pleasant stay.

I am pleased to find out you were impressed of the professional, welcoming service of our personnel, especially our Guest Relations Manager, Jolina and her super team.

Your kind remarks on the fascinating views of the city skyline and the medieval historic sights are also much appreciated.

Thank you very much for staying with us. I do hope we may have the pleasure again to host you at the Hilton Budapest, should your future travel plans bring you back to our city.

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,156 - 3,162 of 4,438 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Outstanding service. Pay the extra for the Executive Level, it is worth it as the meals and drinks are included and outstanding.
Kind of out of the way... the "tourist" section it is in can be completed in less than one day. However, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appletonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We thought the location of this hotel was fantastic as our room on the 5th floor had beautiful views of the city and the river Danube. The castle district has plenty to keep you occupied for a day or two, supplemented by many good restaurants. All the staff were polite, friendly and efficient and we felt well looked after. The concierge was very helpful when asked for assistance about some tourist sites we wanted to visit and offered his own ideas and recommendations too. We enjoyed our stay so much we will definitely plan a return visit one day. The staff at this hotel are an example to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a most memorable visit to Budapest and staying at the Hilton was most certainly one of the highlights. The location is, I think, unbeatable. I've stayed in other areas of the city but being in the castle district is very special. The atmosphere of the medieval district is wonderful, its very quiet in the evening and the views from the hotel are absolutely spectacular. We had a room with a Danube view and were simply mesmerized by it. The hotel staff are all wonderful -- they clearly all enjoy their jobs -- and we were made to feel incredibly welcome and cared for. Its a large hotel but the staff make it very friendly and it feels more intimate than the usual chain hotel. With its stunning views (and how many other hotels can boast a Dominican Cloister in its grounds. The buffet breakfast offers a huge variety of items and is included in the room rate. Its especially good value if you have access to the executive lounge as well. We had a fantastic trip and the Hilton staff made it particularly memorable. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The view of the Fisherman's Bastion, Danube and Parliament building are spectacular. Its especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I may be a little biased as I am a Diamond HHonors member and a Hungarian-born American, so it's not surprising that I found the property and service first class in every way. The hotel is beautifully blended into an ancient stone tower, and the building fits the decor of the castle district very nicely.

The executive lounge is the best I've ever experienced, and I've been to a few Hiltons from Paris to California to Shanghai. We spent a lot of time in the executive lounge, where the food was varied and tasty, especially the afternoon sweets and the evening hors d'oeuvres. We entertained a few relatives in the lounge for about 20 euro per person (as I recall) and the staff was really friendly and attentive.

The location is best in Budapest. I prefer staying in Buda and commuting to central Pest because it's so much more pleasant on top of the hill. It's very easy to get downtown - either the direct bus to Deák tér or the same bus in the opposite direction to Széll Kálmán tér and then continuing on the metro or the tram. Incidentally, the #6 tram to Széll Kálmán tér runs all night and from there to the hotel is an invigorating 10-15 minute walk.

Overall, this was a superlative experience and we hope to do it again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeltaFlyer-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel has an amazing location in historic part of Budapest; good connection to the city center by bus no 16 leaving every 10-12 minutes. All the sights of Buda can be reach by foot. The customer service is here absolutely excellent. The staff were always very helpful and professional, spoken fluent English and German, check-n/out fast, free upgrade to the next romm's category, it was really nice. The room are spacious, clean and modern, with a great view overall the castle and the river. The bed was more than comfortable! The Breakfast buffet, wich was really excellent, was included in the room rate. The hotel is for me perfect for leisure stay in Budapest!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Negatives
- Bed was extremely hard, I slept poorly
- Climate control in room iffy - felt humid no matter what
- Water temperature in shower was inconsistent, and there's just no excuse for that in a hotel
- Room decor was generic and uninspired, and there were a few things that clearly needed fixing, like the 6" gouge mark in the closet door
- Had to pay cash for our Legende card rather than charging it to our room
- Front desk could not buy train tickets for us that we were unable to book online (our previous hotel in Vienna had no problem doing so)
- Lackluster and expensive breakfast buffet.

Positives
- Stunning views of city
- Service at front desk was great - front desk manager Laszlo was particularly helpful, with the exception of the train tickets
- Good location
- Room service was prompt and excellent
- Relatively inexpensive

Room Tip: Only worth it if you get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrietj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,625 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,178 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £66 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing