We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for business and pleasure”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #14 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Budapest. The views from up here are amazing. What I love about the location is also the peace and calm. The staff at the hotel is very professional. Some of the rooms look a bit tired. But the service and the location easily make up for that. Breakfast is also yummy. Hilton members will enjoy the lounge which is currently being renovated. Highly recommend to go running up there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpcervelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the extra time to write this this review. I am pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our service.
We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.


Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,951 - 2,957 of 4,383 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

We checked into this hotel early June. We paid extra to book a double bed room with a river view, however, we were given a "river view" room on the 1st floor, ended up the view was blocked by a large platform right in front of the window. To make the matter worse, hotel guests passing by leave no privacy. As such, we requested to move to a higher floor but no vail. Hotel staff was not helpful, so we have to put up with a twin bed room without river view. Until we complained to the "manager", a higher floor with river view was given on early morning of the following day, I guess we were lucky as there must have been a guest who checked out before dawn! The manager was not apologetic, appeared impatient. He gave us a discount on the first night and wanted to hurry back to his business, my husband told him we were not there for discount, we were there for 2 days with great expectation on the room and services, and our first night was spoiled. And it is deceiving for Hilton Budapest to sell a river view room like this!

internet in the room was charged at around 20-30 euro per day, and surprisingly, we were told there is nowhere in the hotel public area have free access of internet. A bottle of water is charged at 9 Euros, guess what? The bottle is not sealed, so even we want to pay for this, we don't know if the water is clean.

Do manage your expectation if you stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I'm terribly sorry to learn about your disappointment in regards to your recent stay.

I have immedetiately checked with my colleagues who were involved with your stay.
I would like to apologize that we were not able to change your room on your day of arrival. We had a high demand period and had no available room matching your request.

The manager on duty joined your husband next day to see the available room types and I was pleased to hear that we offered a room on a higher floor with king-size bed. Seeing your disappointment he offered to waive the supplement for the first night.

I would like to inform you that internet will be available in public areas free of charge in all Hilton Hotels & Resorts hotels as of 1st January 2013.

Thank you again for your contact and for your time it has taken to inform us of your experience.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel was the first luxury hotel built in Budapest, in the 1970's. The main advantage that it's the best site in Budapest: nicest view to the city of Pest and parliament, situated in an antic church in the historic castle area where you can walk around when tourists are away...
Inconvenience is that room windows are quite small (what a pity with such a view), bathrooms very small and all look quite old fashioned.
Everything is very clean and service is everywhere excellent. Advices at business lounge are good to follow, including guides (in your own language: our french speaking guide was one of the best we ever had in the world) and baths/traditional spas. Breakfast is perfect.
Do not hesitate to ask for river view !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banyuls034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Pay the extra 30 euros and get a view room! It is spectacular at night! Although this hotel is on the Buda side, high in the hills and not the most convenient to the Pest side where most of the sights are, it is a quiet location surrounded by castles and the Church. Busy during the day with tourists, at night it is lovely with many wonderful cafes and restaurants to chose from.

Our room was comfortable and it was difficult to tear myself away from the window at night to go to sleep in the very comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Danube View to make this a special stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelguruDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review.
Your kind comments regarding our unique locations and the spectacular view from your guest room is appreciated. It is good to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a short extract review of Hilton Budapest ,Castle District, from the full review on Endeavour Management blog.

Location: somewhat out the city center, on the hill on the Buda side of the Danube. However, compensated by dedicated taxi to the area in front of Four Seasons hotel.

The hotel operates Customer Relations Managers that are in charge of the Executive lounge, the CRM stand at the reception and basically answering guests’ requests and needs.

The hotel scores highly on the welcome factor, mainly due to the dedicated CRM crew and is a VIP friendly.

The rest of the review can be found at:
http://www.endeavour-eu.com/2012/06/hilton_budapest/

Room Tip: Executive floor and access to Executive lounge is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel's location in the Castle District overlooking the Danube provided a relatively tranquil and beautiful home during our stay. We upgraded to the Executive Floor and enjoyed gracious and warm hospitality provided by Tibor and the others on the staff in the Lounge. The breakfasts were excellent and the snacks plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Danube are quieter than those facing the street. Our room had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments with Tripadvisor Community. I am really grateful for sharing your positive review with Tripadvisor Community.
I appreciate you highlight our spectacular location and the professional service our valued Team Members porvided during your stay.
On behalf of the Team I look forward to the plesure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We lucked out and had a room in the newer section that overlooked the Parliament building and Chain Bridge. Probably the best views in the city! Incredible when lit up at night. The hotel was very clean and everyone was helpful. The breakfast was a large buffet so there wasn't any waiting around. They had a very nice sign saying how different cultures have different ideas for breakfast and they'd be happy to fix what you wanted if you didn't see it. It was very nice being in the Castle district at night as there are a lot of very good restaurants there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and letting other valued Readers know of your incredible experience.
I am really happy to find out you had a lovely stay and were satisfied with our service.
I hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,514 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,947 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#13 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £83 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing