We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel,”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here over a month ago with a small group of friends. The area is amazing, great views from around the Hotel. The Hotel over all was great, decor is slightly dated. However, i thought this suited the hotel. Staff wise front of house staff and restaurant staff were friendly and were on hand easily for any questions. The room was clean, nice size,no complaints. Overall my experience was a pleasant stay. The only thing that lets the hotel down is having no free Wi Fi in the rooms. In my opinion this is a tad greedy in this day and age to charge for this service.

Room Tip: Top Tip : views from the area are amazing. Get up early before the tourists arrive and experience th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. It sounds like the stunning location and the comfort of your room were particularly to your satisfaction.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the wi-fi service, which I will forward to our owning company for further review. However, please allow me to let Tripadvisor Community know that
in accordance with the Hilton Brand standard, we provide free wi-fi service in the public areas of the hotel as well as on the Executive floor. Following a massive system development we could decrease our fees with almost 50% percent in all other areas.

I am glad that you liked our hotel and trust that we may welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,715
    972
    214
    51
    23
See reviews for
473
1,836
197
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We just spent 3 wonderful days in Budapest staying in the Hilton Castle District Hotel. The setting
and view from this hotel are incredible and walking around the Castle Hill area is enjoyable.
Public transportation from this hotel is easy if you purchase the 24, 48 or 72 hour pass from the Post office near the hotel which gives you unlimited access to the bus, metro and tram system. Bus 16 takes you to downtown (Pest side) and returns back up near the Hilton. From downtown you can catch the Red, Yellow, or Blue metro. The Yellow, above ground Tram, is also available. Finding a map of the transportation system is difficult so print a colored map before you arrive . We enjoyed the Parliament building tour, Opera House tour, Saint Stephens Church, St Matthias Church and the Public Market. A must is a bowl of delicious Hungarian soup!
The Hotel staff was gracious upon arrival however, they rarely engaged simple service curtsies that so easily greet and make guests feel genuinely welcomed. The executive lounge staff was pretty much detached from any contact/conversation with guests which surprised us because we have had excellent experiences in Hilton executive lounges in Prague, Munich, Berlin, Dubrovnik, London, Paris, Seattle and Los Angeles.

We look forward to returning to Budapest in the future and hope the Hilton will live up to the great customer service we have experienced elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view! There is no swimming pool at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KRJUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read that our location was so to your liking after all.
Thank you so much for staying with us during your holiday and sharing your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

You are definitely right, the Pest side of the city can be easily accessed from the Castle District by bus Nr 16 or Nr 16A, both of which stops almost in front of the hotel. The ride to the opposite side of the river (downtown of Pest) takes only ten minutes. Nevertheless, it is so soothing to return home to the tranquility and the safe neighbourhood of the Castle Hill from the hussle of the city.

I am sad to hear, however, that my team could have been more helpful during your stay. Thank you for your constructive comments in this regard, please be assured it will help us in a tremendous way to make it much better.

If you do plan a return in the future, please do reach out to us reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we will be more than happy to assist you further.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We already stayed at the Le Meridien, Kempinski, Intercontinental, Hilton Westend and the Hilton Castle district during our visits of Budapest within the last 7 years. The Danube Hilton is still least in line.
This year we gave the Danube Hilton another try because of its excellent location for NYE. The hotel itself has been quiet ok. Keep in mind everything feels like a visit at Granny's home back in the 1970's ;-) and so it's outdated in every aspect. (Don't worry about WIFI connection, it's good). We like sleeping in a chilled room - no way at the Danube Hilton - it looks like they worry about Siberian winters.
Breakfast is matching the worldwide Hilton style & excellent, but food/snacks and drinks at the Executive Lounge are poor.

As long as you pay less than 100€ per night incl. breakfast, get a room on the Executive floor with Danube view, than it's worth a visit just for the location (+39€ for parking).
Otherwise I recommend choosing one of the first 3 names...

Room Tip: Danube view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighMountain18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am grateful for your recent stay with us and thank you for your review.

I must first express my regret that your experience was not completely to your expectations.
I do hope that at the very least you have had an enjoyable time at our property, and if you still consider to return, we will be very happy to assisty you again.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Based solely on the views and location alone, I would highly recommend the Budapest Hilton in the Castle District. You absolutely cannot beat the view overlooking the Danube with the Chain Bridge and Parliament on the Pest side. Though nothing special, we were pleased with our room, especially so as Budapest was our last stop on our trip and having an "American-style" room was enjoyable. Being a Hilton HHonors gold member, we got a free upgrade to the executive floor, and I would highly recommend that if possible you do the same for your stay as the free food, coffee, and drinks was a nice amenity. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge in the executive lounge.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Danube and Parliament/Chain Bridge view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BourneForAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always an honour to receive feedback from a loyal Hilton HHonors Member and a world traveller Senior Contributor on Tripadvisor. Sir, thank you for staying with us and your time taken to submit your positive review.

I am pleased to read that you were impressed by the nice location of our hotel, the stunning views of the city and the Danube river. I am even more glad to hear that the hospitality of our Executive Lounge team was to your liking.

Thank you for all and we look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for a week over New Year....the hotels location is fantastic the rooms are large with splendid views on the river/castle side....the bathrooms are large and well appointed with all the usual Hilton goodies on the Executive floor....the executive lounge was small and the food options were repetitive and of a low standard....as diamond members the executive experience was way below par.....the staff were rude and indifferent in the 7 days we were there...they neither greeted us or approach us on many occasions preferring to talk amongst themselves.....the indifference of the lounge staff appeared to be a theme throughout the hotel and twice we gave up hope of being served in the restaurant and walked out without ordering....come on Hilton you can do better than this, indifference doesn't cut it for those of us who travel extensively throughout the Hilton chain worldwide....although the hotel location is fantastic we would think twice about returning to this hotel from choice......service is the key to customers satisfaction and that's what brings brand loyalty....time to rethink your approach other reviews voice the same concern!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
844 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Location cannot be beaten especially if you manage to find yourself in a high floor room overlooking the River Danube. The hotel is on top of the hill next to the imposing Cathedral and the ramparts of the Fishermans Bastion...cobbled streets and old buildings add to the atmosphere and some great photo opportunities looking out over the City.
Came here for New Year & a wedding held in the Bastion....stayed some years ago in the Hilton located in the West End of the City so having done the city tour knew that the Castle area was the best place to stay.
As Hilton HHonors managed the upgrade to the Exec Floor which is ideally located on the third floor with a window overlooking the old cloisters and the river beyond. Breakfast can be taken here and is reasonable with bacon and scrambled eggs etc and the option of taking the buffet in the main restaurant. I got down to breakfast on a couple of mornings some 15 minutes befor closing at 1030 and there was no replenishment of the hot dishes.
Evening cocktails are reasonable with some hot snacks as well as a cold buffet, meats, cheeses etc. Drinks are available throughout the day with fruit and biscuits on hand. The Exec Lounge is ok but is also a main walkway through to the rooms so there is constant traffic weaving through the tables at busy times. I did not think the staff were particularly friendly either and during the week we were staying we were probably greeted on only a couple of occasions when we entered the lounge or walked past the desk....invariably we were left to help ourselves to coffee, drinks etc.!
Room was a good size, great views as mentioned and a large and comfortable bed...bathroom was also a good size with separate tub and shower. There were dressing gowns provided up until the third day of our stay when we put them into the laundry and despite requests they were not replaced for the rest of the stay. Another niggle was having had a late night at the wedding and placed the do not disturb sign on the door for a lie in we were bombarded with telephone calls asking to service the room despite asking to be left alone to sleep in! I have thus marked the service down to average and just below as a result of this and my observations on the exec lounge. I have certainly received better service in the numerous Hiltons I have stayed in during 2013.
Altogether it was a good stay, there are some good restaurants and cafes in the area if you find the hotel food repetitive. Concierge desk in the lobby was also helpful with taxis, local info etc.

Room Tip: Third floor Danube & Bastion view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A group of five of us stayed for one night at Hilton Budapest. As HHonors Diamond members, we were upgraded to the Executive floor and given one King and one Double Queen room. Check-in was swift and efficient, made by super-nice Agnes at the Executive lounge.

Rooms were very warm, in both meanings of the word. Very spacious and comfortable. A welcome plate of cheese, grapes and a cookie was given to both rooms.

Service at the Executive lounge was good, with really nice Hungarian wines (Tokaji, both dry and sweet included!) during Happy hour. It was very nice to see the old-school, perfectly welcoming gentleman who served food there and gave advice on drinks. Breakfast was very good indeed, offered in the main Icon restaurant, with American-style pancakes with maple syrup as a surprise finish to a perfect morning meal.

Location of Hilton Budapest is perfect for those who want to enjoy Budapest at its best. We will all return. Well-done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UV4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review and stay.

I am very pleased to read that you have chosen to stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest with your friends, and it does sound as though you have had a tremendous stay here with us. I am very pleased to read that as a Diamond HHonors Member you have received an upgraded room to the Executive floor, with great views of the city, and that our location so suited your needs.

Your have made special mention of Agnes and Tibor, team members of the Executive Club Lounge. Please be assured that I have forwarded your remarkable feedback to them.

I hope we may have the pleasure soon to welcome you back again to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,883 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,590 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing