We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #14 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We returned to Hilton Castle District and we stayed with both sets of our parents and our baby and again had a wonderful stay!
All 3 rooms had good views looking at St Mattyas church and a bit of the river which is so lovely. Breakfast had a lot of choice and the servers were good and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this lovely city! Free wifi in lobby is good.
Thanks Hilton!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBNCLTDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay, I appreciate your kind review.

It is good to know that you were satisfied with the comfort your your room and found the view so stunning. When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us again at reservations.budapest@hilton.com with any enquiries, we will be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 4,292 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is amazing and in a beatiful area.We had a magnificent view from our room.Hotel staff was friendly with good english and every request was looked after straight away.Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am most pleased to read that you have had such a great time here with us, both in relation to the level of customer service you experienced as well as to our uniquely beautiful location, Thank you very much once again, and before you plan your return visit to us, please e-mail to reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we will be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in Hilton Budapest 5 nights and I only have great memories related to this vacation. Everything was perfect and I was served on a very high level. This property is definitely one of those I would recommend anyone anytime. I can't find something I would emphasis more since everything was really great;location, breakfast staff, front office staff, room service, concierge (very useful and helpful answers to all my questions). Excellent hotel on perfect location with extremely professional STAFF in the nice town such as Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
It sounds like you really made the right decision coming to stay with us. I am very happy that your vacation was most enjoyable here at the Hilton Budapest and that we were able to be part of your memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at the Hilton on a city break with three friends. This a wonderful location with views to die for - we were on the end on the hotel near St Mattyas church so could see the Danube & the beautiful church roof from our room. But the view came at a price. The church bells are rung every morning at 7am so forget the lie-in. On Sundays there are extra bells calling the good people of Budapest to mass. Other than this location in the heart of the Castle district was ideal. We used the 2 day Budapest card and got great value for it as we visited several free museums, got discounts in others and used the public transport system extensively. 2 of the party tried out the free spa bath entry on the pass (Lukacs) while the others preferred to sample one of the more historic ones (Rudas). We all went to the famed Gellert spa also which was the high point. Also thoroughly enjoyed the Hospital in the Rock which a short walk from the hotel which has a fascinating tour and gives a great overview of Hungary's history since World War 1.

The hotel breakfast was excellent with just about everything you could want on the hot & cold buffet and the option of freshly prepared eggs, omelettes, pancakes, waffles & French toast. They only lose a star for rather flustered trainee waitress on Sunday morning who started like a rabbit caught in the headlights every time asked her for something and could have done with a little more customer service training. That and the fact that we just could not reduce the heat in the room to a manageable level. This might have been to do with the unseasonably mild weather for early Jan but it was a little inconvenient in what was otherwise an excellent stay.

The 16 bus goes right past the door every 3-5 minutes.

The staff in the tourist information office just beyond the church could not have been more helpful & friendly. But then virtually every Hungarian we met along the way was similarly welcoming.

A great spot for a city break.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear that your experience has exceeded your expectations, both in regards to the beautiful views from your guest room and our unique location in Buda Castle. As for the bells of the 700 hundred year old Church of Our Lady, better known as the Matthias Church, please allow me to explain that the historic bells are also of significant symbolic value to the Hungarians as they toll every day at noon to commemorate the victory of Christian Hungarian troops against the Ottoman invasion in 1456. Because of this it is part of the UNESCO world heritage, and the Church is considered one of the most important shrines for Catholic Hungarians.

I have made sure to advise the technical team of your feedback about the room temperature, as well as our restaurant manager of your constructive comments about the service during your breakfast. Thank you for your feedback, we will place the training of our young trainees and apprentices even more in focus.

All in all, we are very pleased that you have had such a great stay.
I hope we may have the pleasure soon to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

High standards evident at this hotel. I liked how the bathroom was set off from the room by the wardrobe creating a feeling of being in a larger place. It's in a fantastic location, just a skip from the castle with amazing views. We used the 3 day public transport ticket and it was easy to use the bus to get to the other side of the river as well as the tram to the Gillert Spa. The staff had a high level of service and met our needs. I did however feel that Wi-Fi access should have been included in the rooms at no extra cost especially at the price of these rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am so happy to read that our team has been accommodating during your stay, and that the service throughout was first class. You have made special mention of the comfort of your room, and the nice location of our hotel, thank you for your kind words.

Regarding wifi service in our hotel, we need to meet the Hilton Brand Standard requirements.
Wifi is provided free of charge in all public areas (Lobby, Business Center, F&B outlets) of our hotel, including the Executive Club Lounge and all Guest rooms on the Executive Floor. Follwing a massive system development we have been able to decrease the fee of wifi connection recently with almost 50%.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What can I say? Beautiful hotel, amazing location, staff brilliant, breakfast v good and views stunning. We were also upgraded to an executive suite which gave us access to the exec lounge ooh lovely! The stAff cannot do enough for you here. If you want a romantic scene then stay here on the buda side, if you are on a lads or girly holiday then stay on the pest side. Lovely walk to the pest side but suggest getting a cab back as long walk up hill prob 25 mins.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudine305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay here with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that you have had such an excellent stay, and I am most happy that everything has gone so well starting from your upgrade to the Executive floor to the attentive customer service.

When you plan a return, please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com and we will make sure that your next stay is as positive as this one.

Thank you very much once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here over a month ago with a small group of friends. The area is amazing, great views from around the Hotel. The Hotel over all was great, decor is slightly dated. However, i thought this suited the hotel. Staff wise front of house staff and restaurant staff were friendly and were on hand easily for any questions. The room was clean, nice size,no complaints. Overall my experience was a pleasant stay. The only thing that lets the hotel down is having no free Wi Fi in the rooms. In my opinion this is a tad greedy in this day and age to charge for this service.

Room Tip: Top Tip : views from the area are amazing. Get up early before the tourists arrive and experience th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay here with us at the Hilton Budapest. It sounds like the stunning location and the comfort of your room were particularly to your satisfaction.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the wi-fi service, which I will forward to our owning company for further review. However, please allow me to let Tripadvisor Community know that
in accordance with the Hilton Brand standard, we provide free wi-fi service in the public areas of the hotel as well as on the Executive floor. Following a massive system development we could decrease our fees with almost 50% percent in all other areas.

I am glad that you liked our hotel and trust that we may welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £110 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelbag, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing