We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was my pleasure to stayed in Hilton BUD / HUN ( Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 ) again. Friendly staff ,excellent service , good quality & nice athmosphere - I can warmly recommend this hotel if you are travelling because of business or leasure .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Arto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay here at the Hilton Budapest and that our unique location, our views and services were so much to your liking.

Should you plan a next visit, please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.
Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 4,351 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

First and foremost, the view is AaaaaMAZING!!! The view was fantastic, and the location in Buda couldn't be beat. It was in the middle of the castle district. I would definitely pay a little extra to guarantee the Danube view as it is one of the best views around. The hotel staff was friendly, and never stopped assisting. The rooms themselves were very comfy and quite nice for European standards. It is right by the Fishermans Bastion (free to go past 9 PM) and offers the best view of the city at night. Busses run every 10-15 minutes (16 bus takes you right into town) and the walk wasn't all too difficult either if your young.

Room Tip: Danue view room on the fourth floor is the nicest :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikesheoref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding our unique location and the stunning view of the city, We hope that we may welcome you back in the not too distant future. If you plan a return visit, please contact reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we would be happy to assist with any further enquiries.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Hilton (castle district) Budapest having booked through Jet2holidays for a three night city break for my husbands birthday.

Although the hotel is in the castle district of Buda, don't be put off by its location away from Pest. It is a lovely short walk down the hill and across the river. We walked back a number of times over the four days, however if you don't fancy the exercise, then there are taxi's and allegedly regular buses (route 16) to the top, although we never used.

Bedroom was exceptionally clean and tidy. A little noisy with passing visitors outside to St Matthias church and Fisherman's Bastion on an evening, but nothing to complain about. Totally out of the control of the hotel anyway.

The staff were extremely accommodating, polite and very customer focused. Something you would expect from this chain, but even more so than normal. Room was cleaned one morning whilst we went for breakfast, they are that efficient.

We only had breakfast at the hotel as we wanted to eat out in the local hostelries on an evening so unable to give an informed comment on food, however the breakfast were good, not too sure on the sausages though. An acquired taste as local recipe.

Major street work repairs / resurfacing on our visit dates (May 2014), although this was only during the day. Didn't spoil our visit as we were out exploring.

Nice hotel and would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a St Matthias church side room which gave us a partial view of the river and chain bridge. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Budapest and for your great review.

I am really pleased that you found our location to be convenient, the cleanliness standards high and that your breakfast experience was so positive.

Your kind comments regarding the team are much appreciated. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and I am grateful for recommending our hotel to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night trip to Budapest, during which we stayed at the Hilton Buda in the Castle District.

1. Location
Our friends and family gave mixed reviews as to whether we should stay on the Buda side or Pest side of the Danube. Although the Buda side (where the HIlton is located) is a bit further away from most restaurants and nightlife, as well as many of the popular tourist sites, it is easy to reach those places by foot or city bus. We were very happy with our decision to stay in the Castle District, as we loved the quaint feel and the quiet at night.

2. Our Room
We stayed in one of the rooms on the Executive Floor which was also connected to the Executive Lounge. We had a beautiful river view looking right at the Parliament - definitely the nicest hotel room view we've ever had. Everything was extremely clean, and we really appreciated some of the little nuances in the room (for example, the adjustable height and direction shower head). The beds were quite comfortable and it was overall a perfect place ot call home for a few nights.

3. Service
The service in the hotel was really terrific from the moment we got in until we left for our flight. The staff members were always happy to answer any questions and always with a smile.

4. Executive Lounge
The Hilton Buda's Executive Lounge is open all day with complimentary hot and cold beverages and light snacks (fruit, nuts). They also serve breakfast and in the evening have cocktails and hot snacks available. More importantly, though, was the level of service. Specifically, Anika (spelling?) and Tibor added a huge amount to our stay. They were both above and beyond friendly and helpful and really made us feel at home on our vacation.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who will be in the area.

Room Tip: There is construction going on now on the street (until July 2014 if I remember correctly) so I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so thrilled to read that you have had such an enjoyable stay at Hilton Budapest. It sounds like our services you experienced from our Housekeeping Department and the Executive Lounge team members (Anikó, Tibor), provided the high level of service, which we aim to do through the whole property.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and we would love to have you back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Castle district,There are many fine hotels in Budapest,this is definitely one of them.If you want to be close to the Castle district this is the hotel to choose.Upgraded to a River Danube view, extra 30 euros per night, however it was worth it.During the day Castle district is full of tourist who have come to see the church and Fisherman's bastion etc (hotel is right next door to these attractions) Journey into the town is 10 - 15 min walk, alright going down,bit of a trek back,you can catch no 16 bus which takes you into town and back and seem to run every 5- 10 min. We took taxi cost about £3.00 each way? Hilton is a great hotel with welcoming and helpful staff.We ate in nearby restaurants in the evening and would recommend Pest Buda which is very close to hotel. However do not ignore the Icon restaurant in the hotel, we ate here on our last evening and food was superb. We did not know what to expect when we chose Budapest however to say that we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement this is a fantastic city with plenty to see and do, if you like history there is plenty, Shopping there is plenty, restaurants there are plenty,You get the picture there is plenty of everything.On our short stay we visited the church,Fishermen's bastion,Gellert spar, Dinner cruse on the Danube,Hungarian folk dancing show,event went on Segway tour.It seems to me that the choice is simple if you want to stay in the Castle area then you can't go wrong with the Hilton. If you don't want a 10 min walk into town or catch a 3 min taxi ride into town then you have to pick another hotel.We will definitely be back to see Budapest and will definitely stay in the Hilton on the hill.

Room Tip: 618 overlooking the Danube can't go wrong extra 30.00 euros per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Budapest and for sharing your valued comments via Trip Advisor.

I am sure that all our future guests will find all your comments very helpful in order to choose our property as a place of destination during their trip to Budapest, especially to UNESCO World Heritage site Buda Castle District.

I am looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel and please do not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Whatever you want from a hotel, this has it ; super-helpful and friendly staff, good/clean accommodation, a lovely quiet position in a very pretty part of the city, and (if you pay a little extra) a wonderful Danube view from your bedroom. OK, if you are a "foodie" (which I'm not) the food may be a little conventional for you, but the breakfasts will keep you going for hours (until you get tempted in to one of the many cake-shops !).
If planning to go in next 2 months, don't be put off by the hotel website warning notice about building works ; they are re-cobbling the street and square outside, but it really won't spoil your stay. And the frequent no. 16 bus stops just along the road, and takes you across the river into centre of Pest very easily.

Room Tip: If you can, pay for Danube view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Budapest. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities suitable to your needs.

It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved and our efforts kindly recognised by valued Guests such as yourself. I have shared your comments with the whole team, and we are all very encouraged and inspired by your kind words.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to Hilton Budapest in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This property is special. The interiors are authentically almost vintage that creates a great vibe. For some staying up in the Castle District may not be central enough but we enjoyed the almost "village" feel of the area and wondering around each evening and morning before the hordes arrived at the Fisherman's Bastion. Once we figured out the metro stop just down the hill, it really wasn't an issue. What sets this property apart is the view. You can get it from several common areas, but do what you can to get a room on the side facing the river and Parliament. We have been blessed with many good views over the years, but this one is incredible. Just taking it in at all times of the day or night, put you right in the middle of the post card view of Budapest. If you can break away from the view, you have to find your way down to the wine cellar, where the journey is half the fun.

Room Tip: Facing the Parliament, any level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Budapest. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such a positive feedback from a Senior Contributor Guest, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at Hilton Budapest, we are very proud of the number of positive reiews that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.
hank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to welcome you back to our property in the not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,482 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £105 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing