We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views and quiet location”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and quiet location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights, and had a most enjoyable stay. It was worth paying the extra for an Executive Room with a view of the river and Pest - it was spectacular. The staff in the Executive Lounge were extremely helpful, and organised taxis and a visit to the spa baths etc.

There are a lot of road works around the hotel at the moment, but it will be lovely when it is finished. Our taxi wasn't able to drop us off at the door of the hotel, and although there was a member of Hilton staff standing there, he only pointed out how to get to the door, but made no attempt to help us with our bags. This surprised me. It was a complete contrast when we left, as a porter immediately helped us to our taxi.

Like other contributors, I was disappointed that Hilton still has a policy of charging for Internet access. It was available free of charge in the Executive Lounge, but with a download speed of only 0.95, compared with 3.90 (free of charge) at the Danubius Hotel Flamenco where we stayed for the previous three days.

Despite these minor reservations, we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton and would return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Executive Room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad that overall you enjoyed our location and did not find the ongoing works disturbing.

I am excited that you had such a positive experience with our Executive Lounge team, however,
I need to apologize that our bell captain team member was less attentive upon your arrival. I will be sure to bring this up with our team as we continue to make changes and improve our overall service.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,766
    981
    214
    53
    23
See reviews for
477
1,868
197
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Placed in the historic location this one offers a unique experience. Room I got was sort of a duplex, at higher floors, but the view was not the right one. Ask for a room with a view :)
Service is ok, but they could be better in the reception, among other things letting you know in sdvance that they precharge an amount to your credit card even if you dont spend it. Charging for the wifi today is really not what you expect at a hotel of this class. They should think it through. I saw many business people there and some conference, but it didnt seem busy overall. Keep in mind the area is being restaurated so some noise and inconvenience is possible. That could be the reason for a good price we got. :) Has a parking garage which is good, but not convenient when you have to carry your own bagage upstairs and downstairs without anyone being bothered. This is something they need to work on. They are a Hilton right?!
As said, the setting is in Buda castle, great to walk around and clear your head from a busy businesss day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelichica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions about your stay.

We sincerely apologize that we fell short on your expectations and we are very sorry that you did not receive a warm welcome upon check -in. Your review helps us make the improvements we need to meet the satisfaction of all our Guests and to provide a better check in environment in the future.

We are sorry for the minor noise level your might have encountered during your visit. The road refurbishment works in our neighbourhood will end very soon and the new look will definitely impress! We also apologize for the experience in our garage and we will use your comments to continue to evolve our Guests satisfaction moving forward. Regarding wi-fi connection, we follow the latest Brand standard providing free wifi service in all public areas of the hotel.

The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stop back again so that we can get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit to Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We chose this hotel to stay in whilst in Budapest for a week to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed.
Check in was smooth and professional with plenty of helpful information for our stay; the reception staff were aware that it was our anniversary and said that they had allocated us a room with a particularly good view. When we got to our room on the 5th floor the view was indeed spectacular overlooking the famous Fisherman's Bastion over the Danube and to Pest beyond, see photos.
The room itself was well appointed with a huge bed dressed in quality linen, ample storage space, free safe, a desk and comfortable chairs. The bathroom was clean, tidy and well lit with good quality toiletries included.
We had a fine nights sleep and went down to breakfast in the Icon restaurant room. The service was good and the food impressive.
On the evening of our anniversary a complimentary bottle of good quality fizz arrived at our room; we dined that night in the Icon and were shown to a table with a fabulous view and greeted with champagne. We both had a delightful chicken starter followed by an excellent steak. It was also my birthday and the staff did not overlook this; they brought out a birthday cake and the pianist played happy birthday followed by a request, all quite low key and not too embarrassing!
The hotels location is superb but remember the Castle District is quiet in the evenings, something we appreciated, but there are some good restaurants and an excellent little pub nearby (next to the entrance to the Labyrinth caves, which we will also review).
On a general note about Hungary, we found the exchange rates more favourable in the UK than at the exchanges on the street and that Euro's are widely accepted in many restaurants.
The only thing that marred our stay was the behaviour of some of the other guests.
Their were a number of oriental guests staying and they never ceased playing with mobile phones, tablets or cameras, it was incessant.
When they weren't taking pictures they were looking at pictures, in the lobby, in the lifts but most annoyingly, in the restaurant. The hotel should simply ban the use of such electronic devices in the restaurant.
This was an irritation but the worst behaviour was sadly from some fellow Brit's or more accurately, Scottish guests.
They were loud and vulgar and dressed for the football terraces; we saw their hung over antics at breakfast but were appalled to see a gang of them in the Icon on the night of our anniversary.
They were all sat together at tables shoved together, still dressed like friends of Rab C Nesbitt, and visibly as 'refreshed'..."How long does it tek tae cook some f*****g salmon!" was one oafs clarion call.
The staff were clearly embarrassed and the head waiter did apologise; it was of course not his fault but perhaps in future they should not allow large groups to sit in this refectory way, it is after all a 5 star restaurant not a Beer Keller.
Don't let this discourage you from staying here though as most of the guests were models of propriety.

Room Tip: High floor with a Danube view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you had an excellent stay at our hotel. We are happy that our location was convenient for exploring the city and that you received great service throughout your stay. We are excited that your 25th anniversary and your birthday turned out to be such a special memory and our team could be a small part of it!

Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was our first experience in this hotel. Hotel is modern with beautiful view, our room was very nice, clean and good equipped. All staff was very polite and helpful. Excellent services. Thank you for great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMKTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you had a nice room with a beautiful view and that our team was accommodating and helpful throughout your stay.

Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TURKU, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was my pleasure to stayed in Hilton BUD / HUN ( Hess Andras ter 1 - 3 ) again. Friendly staff ,excellent service , good quality & nice athmosphere - I can warmly recommend this hotel if you are travelling because of business or leasure .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Arto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay here at the Hilton Budapest and that our unique location, our views and services were so much to your liking.

Should you plan a next visit, please contact us at reservations.budapest@hilton.com.
Thank you very much once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

First and foremost, the view is AaaaaMAZING!!! The view was fantastic, and the location in Buda couldn't be beat. It was in the middle of the castle district. I would definitely pay a little extra to guarantee the Danube view as it is one of the best views around. The hotel staff was friendly, and never stopped assisting. The rooms themselves were very comfy and quite nice for European standards. It is right by the Fishermans Bastion (free to go past 9 PM) and offers the best view of the city at night. Busses run every 10-15 minutes (16 bus takes you right into town) and the walk wasn't all too difficult either if your young.

Room Tip: Danue view room on the fourth floor is the nicest :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesheoref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding our unique location and the stunning view of the city, We hope that we may welcome you back in the not too distant future. If you plan a return visit, please contact reservations.budapest@hilton.com, we would be happy to assist with any further enquiries.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Hilton (castle district) Budapest having booked through Jet2holidays for a three night city break for my husbands birthday.

Although the hotel is in the castle district of Buda, don't be put off by its location away from Pest. It is a lovely short walk down the hill and across the river. We walked back a number of times over the four days, however if you don't fancy the exercise, then there are taxi's and allegedly regular buses (route 16) to the top, although we never used.

Bedroom was exceptionally clean and tidy. A little noisy with passing visitors outside to St Matthias church and Fisherman's Bastion on an evening, but nothing to complain about. Totally out of the control of the hotel anyway.

The staff were extremely accommodating, polite and very customer focused. Something you would expect from this chain, but even more so than normal. Room was cleaned one morning whilst we went for breakfast, they are that efficient.

We only had breakfast at the hotel as we wanted to eat out in the local hostelries on an evening so unable to give an informed comment on food, however the breakfast were good, not too sure on the sausages though. An acquired taste as local recipe.

Major street work repairs / resurfacing on our visit dates (May 2014), although this was only during the day. Didn't spoil our visit as we were out exploring.

Nice hotel and would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a St Matthias church side room which gave us a partial view of the river and chain bridge. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Budapest and for your great review.

I am really pleased that you found our location to be convenient, the cleanliness standards high and that your breakfast experience was so positive.

Your kind comments regarding the team are much appreciated. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and I am grateful for recommending our hotel to your family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,970 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,646 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing