We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Basehor, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Second to the attentive staff and quality service was the wonderful view, a picture perfect location. The Executive Lounge is staffed with a concierge which is an added convenience. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Nice location to see the historical sights of Buda and a fairyland setting at night with a exceptional view of Parliament. Our stay was relaxing and the area was conducive for evening strolls with beautiful sights over the Danube. I am glad we chose this property over the Hilton in Pest side of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

What a review!
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with other potential visitors.
We were pleased to read that you were completely satisfied with your stay, especially with the service provided by the team and the location of our hotel.

Thank you again for your positive words and we are hoping to serve you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Petra Fabriczki
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,715
    972
    214
    51
    23
See reviews for
473
1,836
197
762
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Buda (Hess). Great hotel in a super location in the Castle district. Easy access to Pest. Great service as always and excellent value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor.com users.
I was pleased to read that you were completely satisfied with your stay, especially with the service provided by our team and the location of our hotel.

We are grateful for your review and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hilton Budapest in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Petra Fabriczki
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Budapest and we stayed at the Hilton Budapest - Castle District the entire time (6 thru 14 June 2014). We selected this hotel for two reasons (1) I always preview hotels on tripadvisor.com before I travel and I have never been surprised (2) my husband is a dialysis patient and we needed a base that we could trust. The Hilton did not disappoint.

Many of the historical sites that we were interested in were in the Castle District so this location was perfect. There are taxis and buses readily available if you need to be or want to be anywhere else in the city.

The hotel staff was marvelous! We visited the Reception and Conciege regularly to arrange taxis, outings and dinner reservations. They were always, always courteous, considerate of our limited mobility issues and helpful and efficient in making recommendations and reservations.

We enjoy relaxing in the bar after a long day and the servers were friendly and excellent at what they were doing. We even got a most excellent recommendation for a coffee shop within walking distance. I had intended to have a spa day, but ran out of time so I can not comment on those services although I can say that the staff there were most helpful.

Our room was as we expected, a generous size, clean and well appointed. Bathroom was a good size (only one sink) with plenty of counter space, big bath tub and towels were changed daily. The iron and ironing board were put to good use and easy to operate as, except for the plug, it was exactly the steam iron I have at home.

The view from the ICON restaurant in the hotel is stunning and the food is very well prepared. We can not comment on meals other than breakfast, however. We elected NOT to include the breakfast package with our room; we ordered ala carte which worked best for us. If you are a big eater, the breakfast buffet may work well for you. We did indulge in the Sunday Brunch buffet which was marvelous. We ate our usual early breakfast and then had the Brunch later as our afternoon meal!

I did make the walk down to the Mammut Shopping Mall - - down hill all the way, which means the return trip is all up hill, but doable even for a senior citizen.

The hotel provides you with a written listing of recommended restaurants. There are half a dozen Michelen-rated restaurants and little cafes within walking distance of the hotel and I have rated those that we visited separately. They were all wonderful, by the way.

Despite the fact that we were staying in an highly visited tourist district, the evenings were quiet and we did not hear outdoor noises at night. There are several areas in the Castle District including the front of the Hilton that are being repaved. Pedestrian traffic was re-routed in places, but one could easily get to where one needed to go and the construction should be finished within a month or two.

While we were there the outdoor temperature was very hot until our last day. We felt that the air conditioner in our room might be malfunctioning as the indoor temperature was tepid at best. We reported it to the front desk. Someone called about it; but, as far as I know noone actually came to check it out. Anyway, we ran into several couples who were also staying in the hotel and heard the same from them that the air conditioning in their rooms was likewise tepid. Frankly, that was the way the air conditioning was throughout the city: tepid. The only time I was cooled was when I took the tour in the caves at the Hospital in the Rock! So prepare accordingly.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 220, facing East directly into the courtyard/Fisherman's Bastillion (sp) and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PleasantRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experience in details with other potential visitors!
I was really pleased to read your kind words from the helpfulness of the staff through the dining experiences to the location of our hotel.

Your feedback is highly appreciated, it is always a pleasure to read such a positive comment!
Please rest assured that I will forward it with the Hilton Budapest team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Petra Fabriczki
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

A fantastic hotel in the Castle District with the most romantic views of the City of Pest and the Danube River. My husband and I were there for three nights and looked forward to walking the city everyday and evening. Every night at 9 p.m. you have a magical show from your room window, if you are on the Danube side. All the lights of both cities come on and it's such a beautiful sight. The Hilton is the best situated hotel - you just turn the corner from the hotel and at your feet are beautiful churches, historical sites and wonderful restaurants. Prices are good and the city is clean and charming. You couldn't be in better hands.

Room Tip: Just ask for the Danube side and you'll be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VendellaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments regarding your past stay at the Hilton Budapest!
I was pleased to read how impressed you were with the view from our hotel and our location.

Thank you again for your note and hope to welcome you back again for another romantic getaway!

Yours sincerely,

Petra Fabriczki
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel in in fantastic location in the Buda Castle area. Right behind the Fisherman's Bastion overlooking the Danube. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. We received and Executive floor room which had both a tub and shower. Drinks were included at the Executive Lounge which provided for a nice afternoon break. Breakfast buffet was typical European with eggs, meats and nice assortment of pastries. Castle district is small and a ways from the main attractions on the Pest side. However, only a 20 minute walk across the bridge or tour buses are available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time and effort to inform the Tripadvisor users about your past stay at the hilton Budapest.

I was pleased to read that you were extremely satisfied with the location of the hotel, the comfort of the rooms and the services of our Executive Lounge.

Thank you for your kind words, hope we will have the chance to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Petra Fabriczki
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Best place to stay in Budapest! Great Castle neighborhood, fantastic views of the city. Daytime watch the traffic on the river, and plot your walking tour. Nightime enjoy the city as it lights up. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm thrilled to read how much you like the location of our Hilton Budapest.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers as well, we all look forward to welcoming you back again!

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Budapest. This is by far the best-located hotel in Budapest, and probably one of the best locations I have ever stayed in. The hotel is located in the heart of the beautiful Castle District. It is walking distance from everything in Buda. The Buda side of the city is definitely the best place to stay. It quiet, quaint and has a small village feel. The restaurants in the area are also fantastic and within a minutes walk. As the castle district can get very busy during the day, it is fantastic to be able to walk out the front door of the hotel and have the whole place to yourself at night. The views are amazing at night! The hotel is located on a cobbled stone street and perfectly built into the surrounding area. It is built into the UNESCO world heritage site and next to the beautiful Matthias church and fisherman's bastion.

Location:
Couldn't possibly be better!

Check-in:
Check-in was fast and efficient with a designated HHonors desk. As a Hilton HHonors Gold Member I received an upgrade to an executive room with lounge access.

Concierge:
The concierge was fantastic, they had a great list of restaurants within walking distance.

Design:
The hotel is fantastic but definitely a little dated, but this was no surprise given the photos and reviews I saw beforehand. The lobby is old, the bar is very 70s and the bathrooms are plain. This was no surprise to me and didn't deter me as I still had a great experience and the hotels service and location and made up for this. The location could override any possible flaw.

Rooms:
The rooms are large and well equipped but the bathrooms are a letdown. The beds are very comfortable and the views are amazing. The Peter Thomas Roth amenities are also another plus.

The Executive Lounge:
The executive lounge is dated but the views are better than anywhere else in the world. This is definitely one of Hilton's best lounges. There is a great selection of local wines and unlimited free soft drinks. The daily food presentations were also very good, especially at happy hour. There is plenty of seating and it is a relaxing area in the hotel. The concierge on the executive floor are also very helpful.

Breakfast:
The hotel had a fantastic buffet breakfast in the ICON restaurant. As with the rest of the hotel the views are spectacular. The service was good and the selection was large with great coffee.

This is a fantastic hotel in Budapest and with a renovation this could easily be one of the best hotels in Central Europe!

Room Tip: Danube View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDeNicolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Customer,

thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent experience at our Hilton Budapest.

It's great to hear how much you liked our unique location, our large room and brand new comfortable bed and the selection of breakfast. I've informed the team as well to let them know that you were extramley satisfied with their hospitality.

I would like to inform you that our owner plans to start a refurbishment of the hotel soon.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing