We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay at end of Viking cruise”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Yankee in the South
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best place to stay at end of Viking cruise”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Hilton Budapest (Castle District) is the most beautiful place to stay in Budapest. Our Viking River ship docked right next to the Chain Bridge after a 2 week cruise. Since my husband and I only had our carry on roller bags, we easily walked across the bridge, took the funicular to the top of the "rock" and walked a very short 5 minute walk to the Hilton. We had a river view room on the Executive floor with access to very nice nibbles and drinks in the exec. lounge as well as breakfast there, Furnishings are a bit dated but who cares when you are in part of the old castle and right next to Fisherman's Bastion and the cathedral and many lovely shops and restaurants. Be sure to take a tour of the Hospital in the Rock - fascinating 1 hour tour relating to WWII and the cold war era with a fully stocked hospital and air raid shelter, Used an airport transfer service I found online to take us to the Budapest airport from the Hilton for about $20.00 USD. Trip took only about 40 minutes on a Friday afternoon around 4:30.

Room Tip: View of river and Parliment - wow................
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you valuable feedback. We are thrilled to receive a five star review from Guests as involved in Tripadvisor as yourself with 116 reviews spanning 46 locations!
It is wonderful to know that you have managed to exceed your expectations and you loved our historic Buda Castle location as much as we do.

I sincerely hope that you will continue to stay with us, should you future travel plans bring you back to Budapest!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,766
    981
    214
    53
    23
See reviews for
477
1,868
197
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
326 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Can't beat the location or the staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, Executive lounge is great (say hi to Tibor, he's an institution here). Rooms are well appointed, and staff are very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled you had a memorable stay with us and our staff helped to make your stay more comfortable. See you next time!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. We chose to go all out and got a river view room and it was just mesmerising to sit by the window at night and look at the Fisherman's Bastion, river, Parliament and Chain Bridge. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect and the views stunning. Breakfast was okay and had all the usual buffet offerings. Had to pay for internet for the room which is annoying these days.Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful - just let down at check out by a rude female receptionist.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a river view - it is sensational!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Customer,

thank you fro taking the time and sharing your recent experience at our Hilton Budapest!

I'm so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Beside the perfect location and unique view in Budapest you also liked the spacious room.

I would like to inform you that we offer complimentary internet in the public areas of the hotel and there is a small charge for high speed internet usage in the guest rooms according the policy of Hilton Hotels & Resorts.

It's good to hear that you found our team members very friendly and I do apologize that you had a different experience at check-out. I've asked our Front Office Manager to discuss your comments with the lady at reception to make sure that we provide a consistent and high level service to our customers.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our stay at the Hilton Budapest - Castle District was enhanced by a beautiful river view. The evening view of the Parliament Building with the lights on was magical. We were also able to schedule a tour through the hotel that provided an excellent overview of Buda and Pest by a guide that was very knowledgeable and answered many questions about the history of the city. The location was perfect for another reason as we were able to attend a concert at the Mathias Church right next to the hotel.

Overall the stay was very special and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the top floor with the river view and enjoy breakfast outside the hotel at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTravelerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your visit in Budapest.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was a memorable travel experience. It sounds like our stunning location and the beautiful view to the city were particularly to your liking.

The whole team sincerely appreciate that you shared your important feedback with other Tripadvisor users.

We look forward to the pleasure of being your host again with our best care and attention.

Kind regards from Budapest,
Jolina Levai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family loved this hotel. The location in the castle district was perfect and the views stunning. There is construction in front of the hotel but once done it will be a great area. We stayed in an upgraded room on the concierge floor. Large modern bathroom with separate shower. Very clean rooms and helpful staff. If you like firm beds than this is for you. The food and drink service on the concierge level was extensive and very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2snowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your honorific review and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to hear how impressed you were with the location in spite of the reconstruction works outside.

I am more than happy to read about your satisfaction with your executive room and with the selection of our Executive Lounge. We are always proud to read about the helpfulness of our staff, so thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the renewed castle area!

Best regards,

Agnes Poor
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, executive floor. Location is super, for us that is one of the only reasons why they have 5 stars. Executive lounge is limited in drinks en foods, only from 6 PM alcoholic drinks, this in a land with so many good wines...
Only a Gym and Sauna, no swimming pool. Breakfast is ok but had better breakfasts in other hotels in Budapest.
No vanity set in the bathroom, not a second towel service.
Friendly service, everybody speaks good english.
For us was overpriced comparing with other 5 starred hotels in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferbeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location and your feedback about our team member’s language skills is very welcome. Nevertheless, I was sorry to learn that the selection of our Executive Lounge did not meet your expectations.

Regarding your comment of the missing pool I would like to kindly inform you that our hotel has been built in the Buda Castle district around historical monuments. On the one hand it is a big advantage of the location as this is one of the very few Hilton hotels in the world that is located in a UNESCO World Heritage site but on the other hand we can not relocate these monuments and that would be the only chance to make a pool area in our hotel.

Referring to your further comments about the bathroom amenities I would like to inform you that we are providing these toiletries by Peter Thomas Root according to the latest Hilton standards and upon request we are pleased to provide some more amenities and towels for our guests. Please do not hesitate to request it from the Housekeeping upon your next visit.

Thank you very much once again for your review, and we would love to have you back with us again in the future to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Best regards,

Agnes Poor
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First the good...the location is great and absolutely beautiful (will be even more so when construction in the area is finished. Location is in the absolute center of every tourist activity in the castle district. Service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone did everything they could to make you feel like a welcome guest. If you want a view to knock your socks off, get a room with a view of the Danube and Hungary Parliament building. The not so good (in my opinion) is the hotel itself is in only average for a Hilton (feeling its age I guess). Lastly, being an American I like my room cool to cold at night. The air conditioning is not able to provide. First room we had did not have a view and even after hours of running the AC at full blast the room was uncomfortably warm. To the hotel's excellent credit, they moved us to a room on the Danube side which doesn't get the afternoon sun and it was better, but still the AC was a bit challenged. I give the staff credit for helping accommodate.

Room Tip: PAy the extra to get a room on the Danube side. View is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal-ThePlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your review about Hilton Budapest. I am pleased to read that our location was so impressive and it was particularly a pleasure to hear that you were highly satisfied with the helpfulness of our staff.
We appreciate your comments concerning the AC as it is very important and useful to us in order to make sure that the nuisance you faced was solved. Our management would like to do a deep investigation concerning the air-conditioning system, so please e-mail us your room numbers and date of stay at info.budapest@hilton.com.

I truly apologize for the inconvenience and will forward your feedback to our Operations team for further action.
I hope we may welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Agnes Poor
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,970 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,646 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing