We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre stay for river cruise”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #15 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a great stay at the hotel with executive floor privileges. Staff in exec. Lounge were very accommodating. Needs updating with dated furnishings but very comfortable. Great resturant with a view of the Pest side of the river. Other very good resturants within walking distance of the hotel. Great views from Fishermans Bastion on back side of hotel. Good location to stay and within walking distance of incline.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Palrnesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind words! We are very happy to hear that you love our hotel and our location was an ideal stop for sightseeing before your river cruise. We are thrilled that the amazing view made from our property made your short stay so special.

Thank you again for your positive review. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,251)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 4,252 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

The views from the area near this hotel are stunning. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are very helpful. A very good base from which to visit Budapest. The palace and museums are within walking distance. Nearby there is a public bus to central Pest (check you are going in the right direction).

It is annoying nowadays to have to sign up and pay for wi-fi in your room. (You can get free wi-fi in the lobby.)

Take a taxi to the airport. The train station is by the old terminal which is used for cargo nowadays.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the Danube cost more. Is it worth it? You can see the same view better by wal...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trollersgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know you had a brillint visit to our hotel recently. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your comfortable bedroom, our nice staff and the stunning views to the city.

Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights last December - it was the best short break I've been on. Budapest as a whole is a very interesting city with plenty to do and see. The Hilton is situated up high on a hill in the castle district - & the view doesn't disappoint! The hotel itself and the magnificent church next door literally took my breath away. The hotel is an old school Hilton (which I loved) very grand & huge room's. It almost has an medieval feel to it. The food was great too.
We went in December so it was cold but the brisk walk into the main part of buda was probably 20 minutes or so, saying that your constantly staring at all beautiful buildings so don't really notice the walk. To get there you you cross the danube over chain bridge. We got a padlock engraved from buda and locked this on the bridge - like many others have done. Then you throw the key into the river. It's meant to symbolise your unbreakable love - im soppy like that!
All in all I would go back in a heartbeat. Absolutely amazing!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled to read of your kind review of your recent stay at Hilton Budapest and we are grateful for sharing your positive comments with Tripadvisor Community.

We are proud to hear that your whole journey in our property has been so enjoyable deespite to the cold wheather in December and that our fascinating neighbourhood have played such an important role in your memorable experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your precious review and we hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

There was a castle right next to the hotel and right out of our room window were view of the Danube, parliament, and castle. Stunningly beautiful. Staff very helpful, hop on and off bus on the corner 5 min away, city bus right out front, and great food and drinks in executive lounge!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlngirlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that our location was memorable for you and that you found the view from your hotel so spectacular.

Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our property.


Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hilton in the castle district was excellent. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. They put together a tour for us and some other travelers for a specific time, knowing we were there primarily for a river cruise and basically just there overnight. They got us an appropriate sized cab to go go to the docks as we were traveling with friends. Staying in a hotel where you can see ruins and battlements and medieval church's right out your window is quite an experience. You can easily walk around the immediate area and see many sites and eat in authentic small restaurants.
I would recommend this over a city hotel for your first visit to Budapest as one of the first things you would do if you were in the city, would be to want to come to the Buda side!

Room Tip: Some rooms do face the Danube and they are extra, since we were only overnight we did not care to do...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Customer,

thank you for your time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

It's so good to see that you were fully satisfied with your stay. Found the location of the hotel excellent and our team members friendly and extremely helpful.

Thank you for recommending our Hilton Budapest to other travelers and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel and had a room on the riverside. The hotel was close to attractions and the bus system was very efficient.
The breakfasts were plentiful but the food stuff that was supposed to be hot was slightly warm.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the riverside.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nannagDartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review with me and with other readers.

I' pleased to read that you realy liked the unique location of our hotel and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your note regarding the temperature of the food we have discussed it with the food & beverage team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Hilton Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My friend and I came for three nights from the 16th of july this year. The staff are very helpful especially when it came to learning their language.
The breakfasts were unbelievable!
Its about 15 mins walk into town, so wear comfortable shoes!
Met a couple of lovely german students at this hotel, just a shame we were far too merry and didnt take their numbers!
Anyhoo, overall a fab place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Helene,

thank you for your review, I'm pleased to read that you found our hotel a fab place to stay, the choice and location of breakfast unbelievable and the staff helpful.

Hope to have you back soon!

Best regards,
Zoltan
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
3,410 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £111 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing