We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day.....”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding day.....”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent only one night at the Hilton Hotel Buda, because we booked the room to dress up to our wedding. The location was very nice, the room was comfortable and the staff were friendly. Totally recommended place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Vivien,

Above all, congratulatons on your wedding and please let me wish you lots of happiness and all the best in you life!

Thank you very much for taking time to share your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.
My team and I are happy to know that liked our hotel and that you were so pleased with the
friendliness of our personnel.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to our property soon for a short breaik, a nice Sunday Brunch at ICON restaurant or on the occasion of a festive family get-together.

Please contact us, whenever we may stay at your further assistance.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,799
    985
    216
    54
    24
See reviews for
484
1,884
198
781
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The room reminded me of any ordinary moderate hotel in the States, but certainly not what I expected for Hilton. The view was the saving grace, it was magnificent from our room looking over the Danube. The breakfast was very well done. Our room was very warm and even after they try to adjust it, it was all that comfortable. The young lady who checked us out was the best staff person ever!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlackLabMom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.

While I am so glad you appreciated the magnificient view from your room, attentive front desk team member and nice breakfast, I am sorry to read that your room was not from every aspect to your liking.

I am delighted to inform you that our guest rooms will face a complete refurbishment in the forseeable future. I am convinced that they will look better than ever once we have finished!


We hope you might return to stay with us again later on.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton during a visit to Budapest for the Formula 1 Grand Prix and we had a wonderful time. The Hotel is in the castle district of the city and has a number of excellent restaurants close by and the area itself is mainly pedestrianised and has beautiful views across the River Danube.We stayed on the executive floor and the rooms were of a very good standard and the staff very helpful.
One tip I would give is to write down the address of the hotel in Hungarian before you get in a taxi as a lot of the taxi drivers do not speak English and there are 2 Hiltons in Budapest and you can easily get taken to the wrong one, we had to use google translate on my phone to show one driver.

Room Tip: Request a room looking out towards the River Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled and grateful that we were able to provide the lovely castle hill experience you describe. Sounds like your stay with us suited you perfectly, and for that we are truly glad. All of us are happy to know our location in Buda Castle District and our customer service made your visit so memorable.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The building itself is quite nice, staff were friendly and the castle district is beautiful but the location isn't really ideal. It was a real pain getting home in the evenings if you spend time by the river- it's up a big hill and the taxi's are extortionate.

The room was enormous but not well cleaned (there were fruit seeds and pills on the floor from previous guests, throughout our whole stay, plus black marks all over the walls), decor was very dated and basic but the beds were very comfortable.

We paid for our room before we arrived but the moment we checked in we were given the hard sell- did we want to upgrade our room for another €25 per night? They could see we'd already said no to breakfast, did we want to change our minds for €28 per person, per day? (€28 for breakfast, are you serious?) Then they asked if they could swipe my card to have it on file, did not mention any kind of deposit, but charged €30 which didn't get released until a week later.

These aren't big problems but they left a very bad taste in our mouth as soon as we arrived.

Roadworks were going on all around which weren't loud just annoying to try and walk through, dirty and we weren't informed about it until after we'd booked and paid.

Overall, the Hilton came across as desperate for money, the rooms were alright but nothing to write home about and the location was pretty but inconvenient. Wouldn't stay in a Hilton again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with me and with other TripAdvisor users.

I regret to hear that you left our hotel with mixed emotions.

Our hotel is located in the safe Castle District and beside taking a taxi one can easily get to the city centre by bus that has a stop in front of the hotel in 10-15 minutes.

We would like to give the opportunity to every guest to enjoy the unique view from a Danube view room and offer an upsell opportunity at check-in.

The surrounding of the hotel is getting nicer and the works by the local municipality going on between 9-17 are soon to be finished (in a week). I do apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again should your travel bring you back to Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A disappointing stay. I often stay in Hilton hotels on business, but this was a 2 holiday night stay at the end of a European river cruise. Good points: rooms are large, beds are comfortable and we had a great view of the parliament buildings, and they will lend you an umbrella if it is raining! Not so good points: bedrooms very dated, not cleaned properly (1 robe between the 2 of us and used toiletries in the bathroom), stickers stuck on the luggage that were unpeelable or left a lot of glue (concierge sent a maintenance man with a Stanley knife it cut the labels off the cases!); weak and pricey wifi, truly awful breakfast - I think the scrambled eggs have absolutely no connection to a chicken!, with poor quality food, and mediocre service. Would not chose to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr&MrsWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Mr./s. Wilko,

Thank you for taking the time to inform me and other users of your recent stay with us.

On one hand I'm pleased to read that you find your room large and comfortable and enjoyed the unique view from your window.

On the other hand I regret to see that you were not satisfied with the quality of the breakfast and the cleanliness of your room. I will discuss these points with the relevant department heads. I would like to inform you that we provide complimentary internet in the public areas based on the brand standards.

Thank you again for your contact and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again at any of our Hilton Hotels & Resorts.

Yours sincerely,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
272 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Situated in the middle of the castle district the hotel gives an excellent starting point for discovery of obvious sights. Only walking distance to several museums, restaurants and a magnificent view on Europe's best tourist city. First class breakfast. Good communications to both sides of Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Andras C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is fantastic for us to read that you have had such a good time here with us during your recent stay at Hilton Budapest and I am very happy that you have been so pleased with our excellent location and professional staff.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to having you with us again in the future.


Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It was a really lovely and enjoyful experience: the hotel was very luxurious, located inside The Buda's Castle, 10 minutes by walking to the city center and, most important thing, the staff was impeccable!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor website.
I am grateful for your comments regarding our unique location. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the view and the professionla service of our team.

Thank you so much for staying with us and I hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Budapest in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,301 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing