We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Ranked #25 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accomodation”
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We spent three days in Budapest at the Andrassy Hotel and were most pleased with our accomodation. We booked a superior room with balcony, which was quite sufficient in size, very comfortable and outfitted with all the amenities one expects at a hotel of this quality. We have never encountered a more friendly or helpful hotel staff. They were always pleasant and ready to meet our every need.

The Andrassy's location at the top of Andrassy Utca, a few blocks from Heroes Square is a big plus in our opinion. It is in a posh area, very quiet and peaceful, where many of the old mansions house embassies. The entrance to the subway is at the foot of Heroes Square. Five minutes to downtown! We had no need to use taxis while touring the city. Also, the famous Gundel restaurant, just off Heroes Square, is a pleasant walk from the hotel. You owe yourself a dinner at Gundel while in Budapest. The dining room is over-the-top beautiful, the Hungarian/continental cuisine is excellent and the price is not exhorbitant, unless you opt for tasting menus and the most expensive wines on the list. On another night, try Gundel's little sister restaurant, Bagolyvar, immediately behind the main building. Good, solid Hungarian classics at half the price of Gundel.

The Andrassy is the third Small Luxury Hotels of the World accomodation we have patronized over the years (the others being the Rusty Parrott in Jackson Hole and the Pigonnet in Aix-en-Provence). All three were memorable and offered superior value for the price.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou Sernoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    408
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
136
652
69
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We spent 5 days in Andrassy as part of our honeymoon trip. The hotel is on the famous Andrassy street at waling distance from the metro station (don't miss the Millenium subwsay, it is an interesting experience).
The location is quiet and elegant, better suited for business travels. The room itself is large and pretty, with nice-big bathroom.
The staff was helpful and gave us good recommendations for the Sechenyi baths (the city guides are very confusing on the opening hours, so better check with the concierge as we almost missed it).
We ordered breakfast in bed and were very dissapointed by its quality. They forgot to bring the bread initially and when they did, it was not fresh and the fruit was not fresh either. It is definitely not worth the price.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VioletteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY,NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

I read the reviews before staying at the Andrassy Hotel and was secretly expecting to be disappointed, it got such rave reviews, but I have to say that the reviewers were right. This is really one of the most wonderful hotels in the world. The staff are, I think, the stand out here. Friendly, helpful, nothing is too much trouble. the hotel is in a good part of town, restaurants nearby, and sights as well. The hotel provides maps on arrival, as well as tokaj. This hotel deserves its reputation for luxury.

  • Liked — The luxury
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiramjack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Thanks to helpful reviews and recommendations from posters on the Budapest forum, the Andrassy was the perfect choice for me. Location excellent in such an attractive wide tree-lined boulevard with beautiful Austro-Hungarian villas and buildings (modern extension onto one of these across from the Andrassy out of keeping - Russian Embassy).

Wonderful safe driver in comfortable Mercedes waiting for me at the airport - speaking perfect English. Greeted warmly on arrival and offered a glass of Hungarian champagne, which after a cramped journey on one of the budget flights was much appreciated. Booked the Cultural Package (excellent value) which entitled me to a DeLuxe double room - these are situated on the 4th floor above the front entrance on a leafy residential side street. Balcony, table, chairs, window boxes - shame about the torrential rain for the duration of the trip! Views right across Budapest. 4th floor now completely renovated - I expected one of the rooms as shown on the website/brochures for the hotel - ie soft pastel shades highlighted with stronger colours - the new rooms are in neutral shades which probably are more to the taste of businessmen? Room comfortable, good lighting, everything I could want - only one suggestion and applicable only to ladies - no sockets near the large mirror above the 'dressing table' with stool. Further along two sockets by phone and table lamp - but no mirror. Therefore I had to plug my hair styler and straighteners in a socket by the bed and sit on the bed to see in the mirror!

As part of the package, there was a bottle of white Tokai in a wine bucket in the room, with corkscrew and two glasses, maps, booklets, Budapest card for the three days, ticket for a concert (Opera season started only end of the week), and a large hardbacked coffee table book of photographs of Budapest.

Bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in (apart from Marriotts), turned down with the obligatory chocolate, roomy soft bathrobe, towelling slippers and mat. Large TV with pay movie channels. Crisp white bedlinen - with individual duvets.

Wardrobe has safe, plenty of wooden hangers (removable thank goodness!), including those with skirt/trouser hooks. Shoe cleaning cloth, sewing kit, extra pillows, blankets.

Liked the bathroom - although might be difficult to access the shower for someone infirm - you need to climb in the bath and walk up to the taps/shower end as this is partially encased by a tiled solid screen/wall. Plenty of toiletries - in fact even when not used a fresh supply added each day - shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, bath crystals, comb, shower cap, shaving kit, tissues, cotton wool/cotton buds pack, soaps - all French toiletries. Decent sized bath towels, hand towels, face cloths, mats. Large washbasin with plenty of room on sides to put all my toiletries and cosmetics. Also glass shelving for extra storage. Hairdryer, shaving mirror, good lighting - everything a woman could want and need!

Service I found friendly and efficient without being obsequious. Before going into breakfast the first morning I asked for an iron and ironing board - they were in the room when I returned - a large stable board with metallic cover and a good steam iron. (pity the weather didn't allow me to wear the white linen!).

Have read comments as to the not good value for money breakfasts in these reviews, but breakfasts were included in my package, and so I didn't give this much thought. Also I don't eat hot cooked breakfasts, and so found the selection perfect for my tastes - cereal, two muesli mixes, prunes, apricots, bowls of fresh fruits - melon slices, pineapple slices, kiwi, grapefruit rings, orange rings, grapes - bio-yoghurts natural and fruit, platters of various hams, salami, smoked salmon, platters of cheeses, croissants, rolls, granary, seeded breads, etc. Jugs of various fruit juices, tea and coffee - for me a wonderful selection. Service excellent.

Housekeeping spotless and unobtrusive, reception/concierge efficient and nothing too much trouble. A morning City Tour booked at once and taxi to the coach outside the Inter-Continental Hotel waiting at the appointed time - all my taxis put on the bill which made it much easier. One afternoon, when standing forlornly dripping from head to toe I phoned the hotel and a car was there to rescue me within minutes. A t the hotel a glass of champagne was waiting to revive me.

There are two computers and a printer in a secluded corner off the lobby which I was able to use at any time, not having brought my laptop.

Although I had a dinner in the Baraka restaurant (heard good things from a fellow guest) included in the package I did not use it as I had dinner engagements elsewhere, but they said I could use this on another visit.

I had the same driver for the transfer back to the airport who came early so I could have some photos at Heroes Square (the sun had come out as I was leaving) - he stopped at the perfect photo place - and even took some of me! I would always ask for him by name in the future as he took such good care of me.

I loved the location, near public transport for those who needed it - I either walked (the whole length of Andrassy right to the Danube) or used hotel organised taxis - found crossings easy to use and was not mown down once by crazy drivers! Service was impeccable - friendly, welcoming and I found this a comfortable and relaxing place to stay - especially for a woman alone.

  • Liked — quiet, peaceful, good aircon, great bathroom, very comfy bed and able to open balcony for air
  • Disliked — no light/socket near mirror in room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ladyalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

This member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World does not dissapoint. It is located on a quiet ,elegant street with very easy access via metro to any area of the city. It has all the services you need to be comfortable, but above all, the staff go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. They also have an exquisite restaurant with a lovely terrace. I will definetly stay there again when in Budapest.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank LVCandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham,England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

Located in a quiet side street off the Andrassy Boulevard lies this fabulous Budapest hotel. I have never stayed in a hotel in a major European city which welcomes its guests with a glass of champagne with a genuine warmth from the staff. Nothing is too much trouble for the guys at reception and they know you by name. The rooms are tastefully decorated and they have real style. Our room had a balcony, although it was far too hot to sit out and enjoy the view of the embassy across the street with its lovely architecture. The air conditioning in the room is excellent. It was well tested during our stay when temperatures exceeded 40 degrees every day and never fell below 30 at night! The only disappointment at the Andrassy is breakfast. The 20 euro buffet was pretty average. The choice was limited and the orange juice came from a carton (never a good sign!) After a couple of days we found a cafe just around the corner (turn left at the hotel and take the second street on the left!)

The Andrassy's location is perfect for Hero's Square and the Szechenyi Baths. The metro is 3 minutes away and it is such a pleasant area to wonder around in. Go and see the memorial to the 1956 uprising and then visit the House of Terror which commemorates the oppression and terror under Nazi and subsequent Communist rule.

I loved the Andrassy. Few hotels can compare!! Stay here when you next visit Budapest.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Price great through discount site. Very nice hotel. Great Staff!!. Good location on Embassy Row. Quite residencial area behind the hotel with great little restaurants. Close to metro, easy to access the rest of Budapest. Only complaint: pillows were lumpy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lumpy pillows
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whjohn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
1,139 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#15 of 333 in Budapest
620 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Property: Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Address: Andrassy ut 111., Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city's business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighborhood, just off Budapest's Andrássy Avenue, the hotel was originally built in 1937 and reached its boasting contemporary interior design after several complete refurbishment programs. With excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality our hotel serves as a perfect Budapest city base. For concerts, performances and other programs & events in Budapest we recommend our partner GoToHungary. Mamaison Hotel Andrassy boasts 61 rooms, 7 suites (20-70sqm), 24-hour front desk, multi-lingual staff, Complimentary Wi-Fi, La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge, Gourmet breakfast, Room Service, In-Room movies, Exclusive business facilities, Large-scale meeting facilities, Parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing